1. Home›
  2. Knowledge Hub›
  3. UAE Free Zones›
  4. Dubai Design District Company Setup 2026: d3 Licences, Freelance Permits, DET Dual Licence, Costs and Visas
UAE Free Zones

Dubai Design District Company Setup 2026: d3 Licences, Freelance Permits, DET Dual Licence, Costs and Visas

Dubai Design District company setup 2026: d3 licence fees, DDA vs DET dual licence, freelance permits, AED 100,000 capital rules and visas. Ask us for a plan.

Mir Ali
Mir Ali Founder & Licensed PRO Consultant, MIRDXB PRO
Updated 26 Sep 2026 24 min read
Dubai Design District company setup: illustrative image of the creative district by the canal

Key takeaways

  • Dubai Design District company setup (d3) is licensed by the Dubai Development Authority (DDA) in D3 segments written for fashion, luxury, interiors, design, art, beauty care, events and e-commerce.
  • d3 is the only DDA community that openly runs two licence systems: a d3 free zone licence, or a mainland licence from Dubai’s Department of Economy and Tourism (DET) for a unit in d3. Retail to walk-in customers usually points to the second.
  • Published DDA fees: AED 3,500 registration; AED 15,000 a year for most D3 segments, AED 20,000 where manufacturing is included; AED 7,500 for a freelance permit; plus AED 20 per transaction.
  • Capital: AED 10,000 for most D3 FZ-LLCs, AED 100,000 for the fashion, luxury and interior segments that include manufacturing (Decision No. 1 of 2021, Art. 15).
  • Sixteen design freelancer categories exist in d3 (Segment 25.10), from fashion designer to wedding planner, each at AED 7,500 a year.
  • The licence is linked to your d3 address. A co-working membership without a licence cannot be used as an official address, according to the d3 FAQ.
  • Official timing: DDA publishes 10 + 2 working days; the d3 free zone FAQ says 7 working days after complete documents and payment.
  • The d3 free zone is not a VAT designated zone, and local sales of goods pass through UAE customs rules.
Opening a studio, brand office, atelier or boutique in Dubai Design District? Tell us what you design or sell, and whether customers will walk in. We reply in writing with the right licence (DDA or DET), the published fees and our fee.

Plan my d3 setup

Dubai Design District company setup is the registration of a free zone company, branch or freelance permit with the Dubai Development Authority, or of a mainland licence with Dubai’s Department of Economy and Tourism, for a business based in d3, TECOM Group’s design, fashion and luxury district on Dubai Creek beside Business Bay. d3 was established in 2013 and describes itself as “the region’s hub for design, fashion, and culture”. Its free zone licences are issued under Dubai Law No. 1 of 2000 as amended, Law No. 15 of 2014 and DDA Decision No. 1 of 2021.

Most free zone guides treat a licence as a single choice. In d3 the first question is different: will you sell to the public in Dubai, or design, market and export? The answer decides whether you need the d3 free zone at all, which segment you choose, and even which authority issues your visas.

This guide covers the d3 free zone licence and the DET alternative, D3 segments and their conditions, freelancers, documents, fees, space, visas, tax, trading into Dubai, renewals and worked cases. It belongs to our guides to Dubai free zones and free zones in the UAE. For hands-on help, see our free zone company setup support.

Dubai Design District at a glance

ItemDubai Design District (d3)Source
Dubai Design District licence issued byDubai Development Authority (free zone); DET for mainland licences in d3 units; TECOM Group develops and leasesd3 FAQ
Legal basisDubai Law No. 1 of 2000 as amended; Law No. 15 of 2014; DDA Licensing Regulations 2003; Private Companies Regulations 2016; Decision No. 1 of 2021 (Part Ten)DDA laws and regulations
LocationOn Dubai Creek next to Business Bay, “in the shadow of” Burj Khalifa; metro, bus, taxi and RTA marine accessd3 FAQ
Established2013d3 “About us”
Best forFashion and luxury brands, interior and product design, architecture studios, art, beauty, events, creative e-commerced3 site; Decision No. 1 of 2021
Legal formsFZ-LLC; branch of a foreign or UAE company; freelance permit; mainland DET licence (dual system)d3 FAQ; DDA service cards
Minimum capitalAED 10,000; AED 100,000 for fashion, luxury and interior segments including manufacturingDecision No. 1 of 2021, Art. 15
Official setup time10 + 2 working days (DDA); 7 working days (d3 free zone FAQ)DDA service cards; d3 FAQ
Dubai Design District visa allocationNot stated in the d3 FAQ; TECOM’s other FAQs give one employee per 80 sq ftDSP and DOC FAQs
SpaceOffices from 700 sq ft, co-working and micro studios, retail units, basement storage, warehouses in Dubai Industrial Cityd3 FAQ and offerings
VAT designated zoneNoFTA designated zones list
Mainland accessFree zone licence “within the Freezone territory only”; mainland via DET licence, DET branch or permitd3 FAQ; Resolution No. 11 of 2025
Websitedubaidesigndistrict.comd3

Who licenses a d3 company: DDA, DET and TECOM

The Dubai Development Authority licenses free zone companies in d3. DDA says it was “established pursuant to the Law No. 1 of 2000 and its amendments”; Law No. 15 of 2014 renamed the zone the Dubai Creative Clusters, and Law No. 10 of 2018 renamed the authority. The d3 free zone FAQ describes DDA as “an independent government body” and says the free zone “was established in 2000 by a decree”, meaning the TECOM free zone that d3 later joined. The same DDA rulebook governs Internet City, Media City and Science Park; d3 has its own list of segments.

The Department of Economy and Tourism (DET) licenses mainland businesses. The d3 free zone FAQ is unusually explicit: “d3 offers a dual license system”, with a “Freezone license” from DDA and a “Mainland license” from DET, and a DET company leasing a d3 unit deals with DET directly and applies for visas at the immigration offices rather than through axs.

TECOM Group is the landlord and runs axs, its portal for DDA applications, renewals and visas.

What the d3 free zone is known for

d3 positions itself as the region’s design and fashion hub and backs that up with institutions on site:

  • Events: d3 has been the strategic partner of Dubai Design Week “since its inception in 2015”, hosts Sole DXB and the d3 Architecture Festival, and publishes Dubai Fashion Week announcements on its press page.
  • Education: it houses the Dubai Institute of Design and Innovation (DIDI), described by d3 as the region’s first university dedicated to design and innovation.
  • Incubation: in5 Design offers prototyping, fashion and 3D printing labs for start-ups and students.
  • Scale: d3’s “About” page claims 550+ partners and 10,000+ professionals; its design page mentions 385 companies. The figures are from different pages and dates, so treat them as indicative.

d3 does not publish a tenant list we can cite beyond its directory, so we name no anchor companies. What sets it apart from rival zones is the combination of a creative licence list, public-facing retail and gallery space, and the dual DDA/DET system.

Dubai Design District company setup licence routes: DDA free zone company or branch, DDA freelance permit, DET mainland licence for a d3 unit, and the Resolution 11 of 2025 permit, with published fees and who each suits
Four routes into d3 and the published numbers behind them. Sources: d3 FAQ, DDA service cards, Decision No. 1 of 2021, Government of Dubai Media Office (checked 26 September 2026).

d3 free zone licence or DET mainland licence in d3?

This is the decision most d3 guides skip. Both licences can sit at a d3 address; they do different jobs.

Questiond3 free zone licence (issued by DDA)DET mainland licence in a d3 unit
Where can you trade?“Within the Freezone territory only” (d3 free zone FAQ); export and B2B work from the zoneAcross Dubai under the DET activity
Walk-in retail to Dubai consumersRestricted: D3 Marketing showrooms “shall not carry out any trading activity from the Zone”; local sales subject to UAE customsThe usual route for boutiques, galleries selling to the public, cafés
Who processes visas?axs portal, residence by GDRFAMOHRE and GDRFA “at the immigration offices” (d3 free zone FAQ)
Company lawDDA Private Companies Regulations 2016Federal Commercial Companies Law and DET rules
CustomsFree zone or local customs code (d3 FAQ: local codes possible with NOC)Local customs code

The d3 FAQ still refers to a “dual license under Law 13” (Dubai Law No. 13 of 2011). Since 2025, free zone companies that want to work on the mainland also have the routes in Dubai Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025: a DET branch licence or a Free Zone Mainland Operating Permit, both with DDA’s prior approval. For a full mainland company, see our mainland company formation guide. The rest of this guide focuses on the Dubai Design District licence issued by DDA.

FormWhoLiabilityCapitalMain documents
FZ-LLC1 to 75 individual or corporate shareholders (PCR Reg. 8.1)LimitedAED 10,000, or AED 100,000 in manufacturing fashion, luxury and interior segments; fully paidPassports, incorporation resolution, AoA; corporate documents attested
Branch of a foreign or UAE companyAn existing brand or studioParent fully liable (Reg. 91.4)No minimum publishedParent documents and board resolution, notarised and attested
Freelance permit (Segment 25.10)One individual working under his or her own namePersonalNonePassport, CV and portfolio as the zone requires

An FZ-LLC needs at least one director aged 21 or over (PCR Reg. 70) and a general manager named on the licence (Reg. 74). DDA’s freelance licence lets professionals “conduct their profession by their birth name as opposed to a brand name”, so a label or studio brand needs a company. The d3 free zone FAQ adds that you “can own multiple businesses within d3”, that a d3 company can hold shares “outside TECOM Freezones”, and that an existing free zone company can move in by “continuation of trade license (Not applicable for Branch setup)”.

Dubai Design District licence segments and activities

Part Ten of Decision No. 1 of 2021 lists the D3 segments. Fees are yearly; you may add activities from the same segment up to the limit at no extra cost.

D3 segmentAnnual feeActivitiesCovers
25.1 MarketingAED 15,000TwoSales and marketing office, showrooms for a parent brand; no retail trading from the zone
25.2 Fashion (excluding / including manufacturing)AED 15,000 / 20,000FiveDesign, marketing, import and re-export, assembling, tailoring, jewellery design, textile design, fashion rental, cosmetics and fragrance design, production, wholesale
25.3 Luxury (excluding / including manufacturing)AED 15,000 / 20,000FiveDesign, marketing, import and re-export, assembling, re-processing and manufacturing of luxury goods
25.4 Interior, Furniture and ObjectsAED 15,000 / 20,000FiveDesign, marketing, import, assembling, manufacturing of interiors, furniture, lighting and objects
25.5 DesignAED 15,000ThreeDesign consultancy, concept design, interface and digital design, architectural design, industrial design
25.6 E-CommerceAED 15,000OnePortals selling goods and services online
25.7 Ancillary ServicesAED 15,000ThreeModelling agency, photography, studio space, image consultancy, visual merchandising, fashion and luxury consultancy
25.8 Beauty CareAED 15,000OneBeauty spa, beauty advisors, nutrition and fitness advisors
25.9 ArtAED 15,000OneAtelier, art gallery, art consultancy
25.10 FreelancerAED 7,500OneSixteen design professions
25.11 Marketing Services / 25.12 Event ManagementAED 15,000One / ThreeDirect marketing; performing arts, fashion fairs, fashion shows

Conditions that catch d3 founders out

  • Architecture and industrial design have limits. Architectural design firms “shall not undertake any construction documents and/or management of projects”; industrial designers are “limited to providing prototype for clients”.
  • Manufacturing needs prior approval. Adding manufacturing activities in fashion, luxury or interiors (25.2.5, 25.3.6, 25.4.5) needs DDA’s prior approval and the full fee (Art. 10.2), and the segment capital rises to AED 100,000.
  • Beauty is regulated. A beauty spa needs DHA or DHCA approval before licensing (Art. 3.4); beauty and nutrition advisors are restricted to persons approved by Dubai Municipality (Art. 3.5); ear and body piercing needs DHA approval (Art. 8.2).
  • Ticketed events must follow Dubai’s event e-licensing and e-ticketing rules (Art. 3.9).
  • Media content: e-commerce licensees dealing in media-related content may need to register with the federal media regulator (Art. 3.2).
  • Local sales of fashion, luxury and interior goods “will be subject to the UAE Customs laws and regulations”.

Freelancing in Dubai Design District

Segment 25.10 is the reason many individual designers look at d3. It lists sixteen professions: apparel designer, concept designer, costume designer, fashion artist, fashion designer, fashion stylist, hair stylist, image consultant, interior designer, jewellery designer, make-up artist, object designer, personal shopper, textile designer, visual merchandiser and wedding planner. Several also apply in Dubai Media City.

The permit costs AED 7,500 a year (Art. 9.2), is for “individuals on a sole practitioner basis” (Art. 9.1), and a freelancer “is not an employee” under DDA’s employment regulations (Art. 9.3). TECOM markets the route as “GoFreelance” with “conditions apply”. Freelancers cannot trade under a brand name, and hiring staff means moving to a company. For how freelance residence works, compare our free zone vs mainland visa guide.

Dubai Design District company setup, step by step

  1. Choose DDA or DET using the table above, then the D3 segment and activities. No official time.
  2. Choose space. The d3 free zone FAQ: “the trade license is linked to the office address in d3”. Offices start from 700 sq ft; co-working and micro studios suit small teams.
  3. Submit the application through axs. The d3 free zone FAQ describes four steps for an FZ-LLC: submit the application; submit legal documents and “lease confirmation” and pay; “Sign the Articles of Association document (not applicable for branch companies)”; sign and collect.
  4. Stage 1, provisional approval: 10 working days (DDA service cards).
  5. Stage 2, registration: 2 working days, with certificate of incorporation, licence, register of directors and AoA. Fees: AED 3,500 + segment fee + AED 20.
  6. Establishment card and visas through axs, with GDRFA Dubai.
  7. Customs code if you import stock or samples; the d3 free zone FAQ says a local customs code is possible with an NOC, “subject to fulfillment of concerned licensing and customs authority requirements”.
  8. Bank, corporate tax registration within three months (FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024), VAT if applicable, and a beneficial owner register (Cabinet Decision No. 109 of 2023).

The d3 free zone FAQ gives “seven working days”, split into four for initial approval and three for the licence. DDA’s own cards say 10 + 2. We plan on the longer figure.

Documents for Dubai Design District company setup

  • DDA application form and, for an FZ-LLC, the incorporation resolution.
  • Passports of shareholders, directors and general manager, with UAE visa page if held; declaration of appointment if the manager is already a UAE resident.
  • Corporate shareholders and branches: certificate of incorporation, good standing, parent MoA and AoA, board resolution “Notarized by Notary Public & Attested by UAE Embassy”; for a UAE parent, its DET or DED licence.
  • Power of attorney for a representative, notarised and attested.
  • External approvals where required: DHA or DHCA for a beauty spa, Dubai Municipality approval for advisors.
  • Lease confirmation for the d3 unit.

Foreign documents need the legalisation chain ending with UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs attestation; our document attestation service covers the UAE end. Keep a beneficial owner register from day one; see our UBO register guide.

Dubai Design District licence cost: the published lines

d3’s FAQ says its “pricing structure is designed to be competitive and in alignment with prevailing market rates” and publishes no package. DDA’s fees are public; we checked each on 26 September 2026.

Fee lineAmountSource
Registration (FZ-LLC or branch)AED 3,500 onceDDA service cards; PCR fee table 2017
Most D3 segmentsAED 15,000 a yearDecision No. 1 of 2021, Art. 14.1
Fashion, luxury or interior segment including manufacturingAED 20,000 a yearDecision No. 1 of 2021, Art. 14.1
Freelance permitAED 7,500 a yearDecision No. 1 of 2021, Art. 9.2
Additional standard segmentAED 10,000 a yearDecision No. 1 of 2021, Art. 10.1
Knowledge Dirham + Innovation DirhamAED 10 + AED 10 per transactionDDA service cards
in5 Design start-up licence (if admitted)AED 1,000 a year for three years; visas AED 1,500Decision No. 1 of 2021, Schedule 1
GDRFA establishment card (government part)AED 280; axs charges not publishedGDRFA service card
Change of company name / share transferAED 2,000 / AED 3,000PCR fee table
Continuation of a company into the zoneAED 5,000 + activity feesPCR fee table
Late renewal penaltyAED 2,500 / 5,000 / 10,000Decision No. 1 of 2021, Schedule 4

So DDA’s first-year floor is AED 18,520 for a standard D3 FZ-LLC, AED 23,520 where manufacturing is included, and AED 7,500 plus AED 20 for a freelancer, before rent, visas and fit-out. None of those are published. A single “d3 package” price includes assumptions about all of them.

Space in d3 and the Dubai Design District visa quota

d3’s offerings list LEED-certified Grade-A offices with “exposed ceilings and ‘raw’ features”, co-working with “micro studios”, ground-floor retail and pop-up units, floating meeting rooms, basement storage, and warehouses of 5,000 to 11,000 sq ft in Dubai Industrial City. The FAQ adds that commercial offices start “from 700 sq. ft. and above”.

Two points to know before you choose:

  • A membership is not an address. “The membership option doesn’t allow you to use a d3 address as your official address on any collaterals” (d3 free zone FAQ). You need a licence and a qualifying lease.
  • The visa rule is not stated on the d3 FAQ. TECOM’s Dubai Science Park and Dubai Outsource City FAQs, under the same DDA rules, allow one sponsored employee per 80 sq ft leased. On that basis a 700 sq ft office would support up to eight visas. Confirm the figure for your d3 unit with axs before you sign.

The warehouses TECOM advertises from d3 are in Dubai Industrial City, a separate district; check which licence covers stock held there.

Choosing between a d3 office, a co-working studio and a retail unit? Send us your team size and whether you sell to the public. We will map the space to the right licence and visa numbers first.

Compare my d3 options

Dubai Design District company setup: how MIRDXB PRO helps

We are an independent business setup and PRO consultancy in Al Barsha 1 and an Amer and Tasheel partner. We are not DDA, DET, TECOM Group or a listed d3 partner. What we add is the first decision: DDA or DET, company or freelancer, which segment. If you are still comparing locations, begin with our overview of business setup in Dubai.

What we do for a d3 company

  • Route check: free zone, mainland or freelance, with retail, stock and customs in mind.
  • Segment and activity selection across fashion, luxury, interiors, design, art and beauty, flagging approvals.
  • Documents and attestation, the axs application, Stage 1 and Stage 2, and the establishment card.
  • Visas for founders, designers and staff, and family sponsorship.
  • After the licence: customs code, tax registration, UBO register and renewals.

How it works

  1. WhatsApp us what you design or sell, where your customers are and your team size.
  2. We reply in writing with the route, documents, published fees and our fee.
  3. You approve and we run the file, handing over every official receipt.

What it costs

DDA, DET, GDRFA and other government fees are passed on at cost. Rent is agreed with TECOM. Our fee is quoted in writing before we start; see our fees page.

Why founders use us

  • We explain the DDA and DET routes side by side instead of selling one.
  • We publish sources and flag conflicts between official pages.
  • We handle licence, visas and renewals in one place. Our Al Barsha 1 office is open Monday to Thursday and Saturday 09:00 to 18:00, Friday 09:00 to 12:00. See our business setup service.

Dubai Design District visa and residency

For a DDA-licensed d3 company, “DDA licensed companies can avail visa service from the axs portal”, while “DED companies” apply “at the immigration offices” (d3 free zone FAQ). The residence is issued by GDRFA Dubai. Each Dubai Design District visa follows the usual chain: establishment card, entry permit or status change, medical test, Emirates ID and residence.

  • Transfers: “Can I transfer visas from other Freezones? Yes, it is possible” (d3 FAQ).
  • Freelancers hold a DDA permit rather than a company; residence arrangements follow TECOM’s GoFreelance conditions, which are not published in detail.
  • Families: sponsored through axs under GDRFA’s salary and housing rules.
  • Golden Visa: company capital or a share of at least AED 2 million opens the investor route, and creative talent categories exist with a nomination; see our Golden investor visa service.

Employees of a DDA company are sponsored through the free zone, not MOHRE; Federal Decree-Law No. 33 of 2021 governs the employment relationship. Our free zone visa service processes axs files.

Banking for a d3 company

Banks ask for the licence, incorporation certificate, articles, registers, lease, establishment card, passports and visas of signatories, the beneficial owner chart and the source of capital. Fashion and luxury businesses should expect questions about suppliers, stock location and customers, and about cash sales if they retail. Jewellery and watch businesses face closer anti-money-laundering checks as dealers in precious metals and stones; DDA itself publishes supplemental AML guidance for that sector. See our corporate bank account guide.

Corporate tax, VAT and customs for a d3 company

  • Corporate tax applies despite the 50-year exemption in Law No. 15 of 2014 (Art. 17). The standard rate is 0% up to AED 375,000 and 9% above; register within three months (FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024).
  • Qualifying Free Zone Person status is possible for “manufacturing of goods or materials” and “processing”, both qualifying activities in Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025. Design services to clients, and sales to individuals, are not; sales to natural persons are an excluded activity. Revenue from non-qualifying activity must stay within 5% of total revenue or AED 5 million (Cabinet Decision No. 100 of 2023).
  • VAT: d3 is not a designated zone; supplies are taxed normally. Register above AED 375,000 of taxable supplies.
  • Customs: goods made in the zone and exported outside the State are duty-free (Law No. 15 of 2014, Art. 16); local sales go through customs.

Our corporate tax registration guide covers EmaraTax. Use a registered tax agent for QFZP planning.

Dubai Design District licence renewal and compliance

  • Dubai Design District licence renewal: online on axs, “Immediate” once paid; late penalties AED 2,500 to AED 10,000 (Schedule 4).
  • Lease renewed first, because the licence is linked to the d3 address.
  • Audited accounts prepared, kept and supplied on demand (Decision No. 1 of 2021, Art. 2.8).
  • Beneficial owners: register at the office, changes within 15 days (Cabinet Decision No. 109 of 2023); AED 5,000 DDA penalty if not produced.
  • External approvals (DHA, Dubai Municipality) renewed on their own cycles; renewal of the licence needs them where required.
  • Penalties: AED 10,000 for working outside the licensed activity, for example retail from a showroom licence.

d3 free zone: pros and cons

ProsCons
Licence segments written for fashion, luxury, interiors, design and artFree zone licence does not cover walk-in retail to Dubai consumers
Sixteen design freelancer categories at AED 7,500Freelancers cannot use a brand name or hire
Dual DDA/DET system in one locationNo published rents, packages or visa rule for d3
Design Week, DIDI, in5 Design and a public-facing districtAED 100,000 capital once manufacturing is added
Central creek-side location near Business BayNot a designated zone; local sales pay customs

Who Dubai Design District suits, and who should look elsewhere

It suits fashion and luxury brands running regional design, marketing and wholesale; interior, product and architecture studios; galleries and art consultancies; beauty businesses with the right approvals; event producers in fashion and design; and individual designers who want a freelance permit with a design address.

Look elsewhere if:

  • You trade gold, diamonds or luxury watches at scale: DMCC is built for that trade.
  • You need airport-linked, designated-zone storage for luxury goods: compare DAFZA.
  • Your work is advertising, content or media rather than design: Dubai Media City has the media segments.
  • You are a freelancer outside Dubai’s rents: SHAMS in Sharjah offers media and creative permits.

Dubai Design District company setup in practice: five cases

These cases are built from the situations we see most often. Names and identifying details are left out, and the figures are the published ones.

1. A European fashion label’s regional office

The label wanted a team to manage Gulf distributors and wholesale accounts. The Fashion segment without manufacturing (AED 15,000, five activities) covered design, marketing and import and re-export. It registered as an FZ-LLC owned by the parent, with AED 10,000 capital. Retail stayed with its mainland franchise partner, because the d3 free zone licence does not cover walk-in sales.

2. A designer opening a boutique

A local designer wanted a shop in d3 selling to the public. After comparing routes she took a DET mainland licence for a d3 retail unit, which d3’s FAQ describes as part of its “dual license system”, and applied for visas at the immigration offices rather than through axs. A DDA freelance permit would not have allowed a brand or a shop.

3. An interior design studio that started manufacturing

A studio began in Segment 25.4 without manufacturing. When it wanted to make furniture in-house, it needed DDA’s prior approval for the manufacturing activity, the higher AED 20,000 fee and AED 100,000 paid-up capital. Manufacturing income can qualify for 0% corporate tax if all QFZP conditions are met; its design fees could not.

4. A freelance stylist

A stylist working for magazines and shoots took a Fashion Stylist permit under Segment 25.10 at AED 7,500 a year, invoicing under her own name. Two years later, with an assistant to hire, she converted to an FZ-LLC, since “a Freelancer is not an employee” and cannot sponsor staff as a company does.

5. A beauty spa concept

Founders planned a spa in d3. Beauty Spa (25.8.1) needs DHA or DHCA approval before the licence is issued (Art. 3.4), and their nutrition advisor needed Dubai Municipality approval (Art. 3.5). They secured the health approval on the fit-out drawings before signing the long lease.

Does your d3 plan look like one of these cases? Tell us which, and what is different. We will confirm the route and segment in writing.

Check my d3 case

What circulates online about d3 that is not true

ClaimWhat the official sources say
“A d3 licence lets you open a shop for Dubai customers.”The free zone licence works “within the Freezone territory only”; D3 showrooms may not trade. Retail usually uses a DET licence in a d3 unit.
“A co-working membership gives you a d3 address.”Not as an official address; the licence is linked to a d3 office address (FAQ).
“d3 companies are tax-free for 50 years.”Federal Corporate Tax applies; 0% only for qualifying income of a QFZP.
“Freelancers can trade under a brand.”DDA’s freelance licence is for work “by their birth name as opposed to a brand name”.
“Any architect can run projects from d3.”Architectural design licensees “shall not undertake any construction documents and/or management of projects”.
“d3 is a designated zone, so no VAT.”It is not on the FTA’s designated zone list.

How to verify every figure in this guide

FigureWhere to check
AED 3,500; 10 + 2 working days; AED 20 per transactionDDA service cards for FZ-LLC and branch registration
D3 segment fees, activity limits, AED 100,000 capital, freelancer categories and conditionsDDA Decision No. 1 of 2021, Arts. 3, 8, 9, 10, 14, 15 and Part Ten
Dual licence, 7 working days, 700 sq ft offices, co-working address rule, visa processingDubai Design District FAQs
Established 2013; 550+ partners; Design Week partner since 2015d3 “About us” and “Design” pages
QFZP activitiesMinistry of Finance, Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025

What we will and will not do

  • We will tell you whether DDA, DET or a freelance permit fits, even if it means a smaller job for us.
  • We will show government fees at cost and quote our fee in writing first.
  • We will not claim to be a DDA, DET or TECOM partner, or promise approval dates.
  • We will not give tax or customs rulings; we work with your tax agent and customs broker.

Dubai Design District company setup: frequently asked questions

Is d3 a free zone?

Yes. d3’s FAQ says it “is a Freezone governed by the Dubai Development Authority”, and adds that mainland (DET) licensed businesses can also operate from d3 units. A DDA licence covers activity inside the free zone; a DET licence covers the mainland.

How much is a Dubai Design District licence?

DDA charges AED 3,500 to register and AED 15,000 a year for most D3 segments, AED 20,000 where manufacturing is included, and AED 7,500 for a freelance permit, plus AED 20 per transaction. Rent, visas and fit-out are extra and not published.

What is the minimum capital for a d3 company?

AED 10,000 for most D3 FZ-LLCs and AED 100,000 for the fashion, luxury and interior segments that include manufacturing (Decision No. 1 of 2021, Art. 15). Freelancers and branches have no published minimum.

Can I get a freelance licence in Dubai Design District?

Yes, in sixteen design professions under Segment 25.10, such as fashion designer, interior designer, stylist and make-up artist, at AED 7,500 a year. You work under your own name, not a brand, and cannot sponsor staff as a company.

Can I open a retail shop with a d3 free zone licence?

Walk-in retail to Dubai customers is usually done under a DET mainland licence for a d3 unit, which d3 offers through its dual licence system. D3 free zone showrooms may display but “shall not carry out any trading activity from the Zone”.

How long does Dubai Design District company setup take?

DDA’s service cards publish 10 working days for provisional approval and 2 for registration; d3’s FAQ says seven working days after complete documents and payment. External approvals and attestation of foreign documents add time.

How many Dubai Design District visa slots will I get?

d3’s FAQ does not state a rule. TECOM’s other DDA communities allow one sponsored employee per 80 sq ft leased, which would give about eight for a 700 sq ft office. Confirm with axs before signing. Each Dubai Design District visa is processed through axs.

Do I need an office to get a d3 licence?

Yes. d3’s FAQ says “the trade license is linked to the office address in d3”, and a co-working membership without a licence cannot be used as an official address. Offices start from 700 sq ft; co-working studios are also offered.

Can I move my company from another free zone to d3?

Yes, by “continuation of trade license”, which d3 says is not available for branches, and visas can be transferred. DDA’s PCR fee for continuation into the zone is AED 5,000 plus activity fees.

Does a d3 company pay corporate tax?

It registers within three months and files. Manufacturing income can be taxed at 0% if every Qualifying Free Zone Person condition is met; design services and sales to individuals are not qualifying, so 9% applies above AED 375,000 unless within the de minimis limit.

Can d3 companies get a local customs code?

Yes, according to d3’s FAQ, if the licence includes import and export, customs rules are followed and an NOC is obtained, “subject to fulfillment of concerned licensing and customs authority requirements and approvals”.

Can MIRDXB PRO handle my Dubai Design District company setup?

Yes. We choose the route (DDA, DET or freelance), prepare documents, run the application, establishment card and visas, and set up tax and UBO filings. We are independent, not DDA, DET or TECOM. Government fees at cost; our fee in writing first.

How much does MIRDXB PRO charge for a d3 company?

It depends on the route, number of shareholders, visas and any DHA or municipality approvals. Send us the details on WhatsApp for a written quote separating government fees, paid at cost, from our own fee.

Keeping licences, establishment cards and visas current after setup is what our PRO services in Dubai team handles.

Ready to start your Dubai Design District company setup? Send us the route you are considering and your team size. We reply with steps, published fees and our fee in writing.

Start my d3 company

Last reviewed

26 September 2026. DDA service cards, Decision No. 1 of 2021, the PCR and its fee decision, and the Dubai Design District website and FAQ were read on this date.

Please note. This guide summarises rules published by the Dubai Development Authority, Dubai Design District, the Ministry of Finance, the Federal Tax Authority and the Government of Dubai, verified 26 September 2026. Rents, axs charges and DET mainland fees for d3 units are not covered in figures. MIRDXB PRO is an independent consultancy, not affiliated with the Dubai Development Authority, the Department of Economy and Tourism, TECOM Group or Dubai Design District. The cases are illustrative. This guide is general information, not legal or tax advice.

Mir Ali

Written by

Mir Ali

Mir Ali runs MIRDXB PRO, an Amer & Tasheel authorised typing centre partner in Dubai. He has personally handled 100+ visa, Emirates ID and labour files across MOHRE, GDRFA, ICP and DED, and writes these guides from the counter rather than from a marketing desk.

More about the team →

Need this handled?

Stop reading. Let us file it for you.

We prepare and submit applications directly at Amer and Tasheel on your written authorisation — with a fixed quote before we start and no hidden mark-ups on government fees.

Fees and rules quoted in this guide were correct at the date shown and change without notice — see our disclaimer. For the position on your own file, contact us. We work to published terms and handle documents under our privacy policy.