Key takeaways
- Instant licence (Dubai) is a live DET product in 2026. The Department of Economy and Tourism (DET) issues it on Invest in Dubai “within five minutes” for activities that “do not require external approvals beyond” DET, and u.ae lists “instant” among Dubai’s eight licence types.
- It is a normal mainland licence issued in one sitting, not a separate class of company. The legal forms are the LLC, the single-owner LLC, the sole establishment and the civil company.
- Four things come bundled: an electronic memorandum of association (optional), a virtual business site for the first year, Dubai Chamber membership (for commercial activities), a GDRFA immigration establishment card and a MOHRE establishment card “with the option to employ three people”.
- The virtual site is for the first year only. Invest in Dubai says “a valid business location must be provided upon renewal or any amendments”. In practice that means a registered Ejari before month twelve, or before any change to the licence.
- There is no single published price. DET says fees “vary depending on the type of licence and specific activities”. The fixed DET lines every new licence meets add up to about AED 1,520 on our arithmetic; activity fees, the Chamber category and any agent line sit on top.
- If you do not secure premises in time, the licence cannot be renewed or amended. An expired licence costs AED 250 plus AED 200 a month under Executive Council Resolution No. 13 of 2011, and GDRFA and MOHRE transactions stop.
- The three-employee MOHRE card is a starting quota, not three guaranteed visas. Each hire still needs a work permit, entry permit, medical, Emirates ID and residence.
- Compare before you choose: the e-Trader and Intelaq home licences are cheaper but cannot sponsor staff, and a standard licence suits activities that need an outside approval or premises from day one.
Instant licence Dubai refers to the Department of Economy and Tourism’s Instant Licence: a Dubai mainland trade licence issued online through Invest in Dubai within about five minutes, for activities that need no approval from any authority other than DET, with an optional electronic memorandum of association, a virtual business site for the first year, and bundled Dubai Chamber membership, GDRFA establishment card and MOHRE establishment card allowing up to three employees. After the first year the company must give DET a real business location, registered on Ejari, before it can renew or amend the licence. It is available to LLCs, single-owner LLCs, sole establishments and civil companies. You will also see it written as “instant license Dubai” or called an instant trade licence; all three mean the same DET product.
This guide explains who can apply, which activities and legal forms qualify, what the bundle really contains, what the published fees are, what you must finish during the first year, what happens if you do not, and how the Instant Licence compares with a standard licence, the home-based e-Trader and Intelaq licences and the Dubai Unified Licence. It is part of our mainland series; the full company route is in our mainland company formation guide.
Instant licence Dubai at a glance
The short answers first. Every row is explained further down with its source.
| Question | Short answer | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Who issues it? | Dubai’s Department of Economy and Tourism (DET), formerly the Department of Economic Development (DED) | Invest in Dubai; Dubai Media Office |
| Is it still offered in 2026? | Yes. It appears among the licence types on Invest in Dubai and among Dubai’s eight licence types on u.ae | Invest in Dubai (read 25 Sep 2026); u.ae |
| How fast? | “Within five minutes” once the trade name and activities are settled | Invest in Dubai, Request to issue a trade licence |
| Which activities? | Only those that “do not require external approvals beyond the Department of Economy and Tourism” | Invest in Dubai, Mainland companies |
| Which legal forms? | LLC, single-owner LLC, sole establishment, civil company | Invest in Dubai; Dubai Media Office (2021, 2022) |
| What is bundled? | Optional e-MoA, virtual site for year one, Chamber membership for commercial activities, GDRFA establishment card, MOHRE establishment card with the option to employ three people | Invest in Dubai |
| Office needed? | Not in the first year; “a valid business location must be provided upon renewal or any amendments” | Invest in Dubai, Mainland companies |
| Validity | One year, like any DET licence; renewable (up to four years at a time with DET approval) | Dubai Law No. 13 of 2011, Art. 8 |
| Government fee | Varies by activity and form; fixed DET lines about AED 1,520 plus activity, Chamber and agent lines where they apply | Executive Council Resolution No. 13 of 2011; our arithmetic |
| Documents | “Unified number or ID number” of the parties | Invest in Dubai |
| Can I trade immediately? | Yes, within the licensed activities, once the licence issues | Dubai Media Office (2021) |
| Visas? | Through the bundled establishment cards; MOHRE card starts with an option for three employees | Invest in Dubai |
Instant licence Dubai: how MIRDXB PRO helps
The Instant Licence is quick to issue and easy to get wrong later. Most of the problems we see start at month eleven, when the owner discovers that renewal needs premises, or at the first amendment, when adding a partner suddenly needs an Ejari. We plan the whole first year before you click “issue”.
What we do
- Check each activity you want against DET’s activity list and the outside-approval list, so you know before you start whether the Instant route is open to you.
- Advise on the legal form (LLC, single-owner LLC, sole establishment or civil company), including whether a local service agent is needed for a professional sole establishment or civil company with foreign owners.
- Prepare the trade name, initial approval and electronic memorandum of association, and apply with you on Invest in Dubai as part of our company formation support.
- Activate the bundled GDRFA establishment card and MOHRE file, then run the first work permits and visas through our employment visa service.
- Set the premises plan for year two: a business centre desk or office, the Ejari through our Ejari registration service, and the first renewal through our trade licence renewal service.
How it works
- Message us on WhatsApp with your activities, the owners’ nationalities and residence status, and how many people you want to hire in the first year.
- We reply in writing: whether the Instant Licence fits, the legal form, the government lines you can expect on the voucher, the year-two premises cost, and our fee.
- With your UAE PASS login, we prepare and submit the application on Invest in Dubai, and you pay the voucher directly or through us at cost.
- After the licence issues, we set up the establishment cards, Chamber certificate, corporate tax registration and UBO filing, and diarise the premises and renewal deadlines.
What it costs
Government fees are passed on at cost, on the authority’s receipt: the DET voucher, Dubai Chambers, GDRFA, MOHRE and, in year two, the Ejari and market fee. Our own fee is quoted in writing before we start and depends on the work: a single-owner consultancy with no staff is simpler than a three-partner LLC hiring three people in its first quarter. Our published service fees are on our fees page, and every government line of a mainland set-up is in our mainland setup cost guide.
Why founders use us
- We name the official source for every rule and fee we apply, as this guide does, and show you the receipts.
- We tell you when you do not need us. A single-owner Instant Licence for a simple activity is something many people finish themselves on Invest in Dubai, and we will say so.
- We handle the files that follow the licence (GDRFA, MOHRE, Dubai Chambers, Ejari, tax), so the first-year conditions are tracked from day one.
- Our office is in Al Barsha 1, Dubai, open Monday to Thursday and Saturday 09:00 to 18:00 and Friday 09:00 to 12:00. Owners abroad can instruct us under a power of attorney for the steps that allow it.
What the Instant Licence is, and where it came from
Dubai’s economic department launched the Instant Licence in 2017. Its own press releases give the date as July 2017 (February 2020 release) and August 2017 (May 2022 release); both describe the same service. The idea was simple: let a founder obtain a mainland licence “in one step within five minutes”, start trading, and complete the rest of the set-up during the first year.
The product has been steady in its core features. Every official description since 2020 lists the same four legal forms and the same bundle: Dubai Chamber membership, a GDRFA establishment card and three MOHRE work permits (now described as a MOHRE establishment card with the option to employ three people). Since 2021 the application has run on the Invest in Dubai platform (invest.dubai.ae), which replaced the older ded.ae/instant channel.
Take-up has been substantial. The Dubai Media Office reported 4,692 Instant Licences by February 2020, 10,707 in the first ten months of 2021 alone, and 32,564 in total by May 2022. In 2022 professional activities made up 59% and commercial activities 41%, and civil companies were the most common form (36%), followed by LLCs (27%), sole establishments (23%) and one-person LLCs (14%). No later official figures were published that we could find.
Instant Licence, Basher and the Abu Dhabi instant licence are different things
Three similar names cause confusion. The Dubai Instant Licence is DET’s product on Invest in Dubai. Basher (also written Bashr) is a federal platform run by the Ministry of Economy and Tourism that promises to “start your business in the UAE within 15 minutes” by connecting federal and local services; it is a channel, not a Dubai licence type. The Abu Dhabi instant licence, which u.ae describes as a service of the Department of Economic Development Abu Dhabi, is issued under Abu Dhabi rules and has nothing to do with DET. This guide is only about the Dubai product.
What “instant” does and does not mean
“Instant” refers to the issue of the licence once everything is ready. It does not mean that the trade name, the activity choice, the partners’ identity checks, the establishment cards or the visas are instant. Invest in Dubai states the licence step takes about five minutes for an Instant or e-Trader licence and about ten minutes for a normal licence. The difference that matters is not the minutes; it is that the Instant Licence lets you skip the lease and any outside approval at the start.
Is the Instant Licence still available in 2026?
Yes. On 25 September 2026 Invest in Dubai’s “Request to issue a trade licence” service listed three types of trade licence: the normal licence, the Instant Licence and the eTrader licence. Its “Mainland companies” page listed the Instant Licence as the sixth of eight licence types, and u.ae’s mainland steps page lists “instant” among Dubai’s eight licence varieties (industrial, commercial, professional, eTrader, dual, instant, SME and Intelaq).
The description has narrowed over time. In 2020 Dubai Economy said “all business activities can benefit from the service, except public and private shareholding companies”. The current Invest in Dubai wording limits it to activities “that do not require external approvals beyond the Department of Economy and Tourism”. We treat the current wording as the rule and explain the difference in the section on conflicting sources below.
Invest in Dubai and DET pages are script-rendered and block automated access from outside the UAE. The Invest in Dubai wording quoted in this guide was read in a normal browser on 25 September 2026 for our sibling mainland guides and is quoted exactly. The Dubai Media Office releases, the Dubai Legislation Portal and u.ae were read directly for this guide.
Who can apply for an instant licence in Dubai
The Instant Licence is not limited by nationality in any official description we found. It is open to the same founders who can hold the chosen legal form on the Dubai mainland, subject to three practical conditions.
You must be able to log in and be identified
Invest in Dubai asks for the “unified number or ID number” of the parties for an Instant Licence. In practice that means each partner and the manager must already have an Emirates ID or a UAE unified number (UID), which a non-resident receives on entering the UAE. Invest in Dubai’s general guidance says a non-resident “must hold a valid tourist or visit visa before applying for a licence”. The applicant logs in with UAE PASS, which itself needs an Emirates ID or a verified identity.
The 2020 release listed “valid passport copy of all parties (partner and manager), residence visa copy and no-objection letter from the sponsor to the foreign parties”. The current service card asks only for the ID or unified number. If you are employed in the UAE, check your employment contract and any employer rules before you become a partner or manager; MOHRE and GDRFA will see both files.
Foreign ownership rules still apply
The Instant Licence does not change who may own what. Since 2021 most commercial and industrial activities in Dubai allow 100% foreign ownership, but some remain restricted, and professional sole establishments and civil companies with non-UAE owners still need a local service agent under Dubai Law No. 13 of 2011, Article 15. Nothing in DET’s description of the Instant Licence exempts it from those rules. Our guides to 100% foreign ownership in Dubai and the local service agent in Dubai explain both.
Owners who are companies
Official descriptions do not say whether a corporate shareholder (a company owning the LLC) can use the Instant route. Corporate shareholders need attested parent documents and a board resolution, which do not fit a five-minute flow. Some advisers state flatly that corporate shareholders are excluded; we found no official statement either way. If your shareholder is a company, plan on the normal licence and treat the Instant route as a possibility to confirm with DET.
Eligible activities: the “no external approval” test
This is the rule that decides most cases. Invest in Dubai says the Instant Licence “is available for all business activities that do not require external approvals beyond the Department of Economy and Tourism”. If even one activity on your licence needs approval from another authority, the whole application moves to the normal licence.
Activities that need outside approval
Invest in Dubai’s “Additional approvals” list names the sectors that need another authority’s approval. The table summarises it. If your activity is here, the Instant route is closed.
| Sector or activity | Approving authority |
|---|---|
| Telecommunications | TDRA |
| Agriculture, veterinary, environmental consultancy | Ministry of Climate Change and Environment |
| Air cargo, travel agent with ticketing | Dubai Civil Aviation Authority |
| Auditing; branch of a foreign company or representative office | Ministry of Economy (and Tourism) |
| Construction companies, clinics, engineering firms, restaurants and food establishments | Dubai Municipality |
| Customs broking, freight forwarding, sea cargo; boats and yachts | Ports and Customs; Dubai Maritime City Authority |
| Financial consultancy, share broking, investment advisory | SCA (now the Capital Market Authority) |
| Virtual assets; fintech | VARA or DFSA |
| Banks, money exchange, insurance | Central Bank of the UAE |
| Healthcare, biotechnology, pharmaceuticals | Dubai Health Authority |
| Land transport | Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure |
| Legal practice | The Ruler’s Office (as listed) |
| Manpower supply, recruitment | MOHRE |
| Industrial production | Ministry of Industry and Advanced Technology |
| Publishing, printing, advertising, film, photography | National Media Council (name as listed) |
| Social services | Community Development Authority |
| Tourism permits | DET’s tourism side |
The same page adds that “for certain sectors including food and beverages, healthcare, aviation, education, communication, transportation and insurance, additional No-objection Certificates and documents are required”. Education and training activities also need the Knowledge and Human Development Authority, and real estate activities need the Dubai Land Department, as our Dubai mainland licence types guide explains.
Activities that usually qualify
What remains is a large group of office-based professional and trading activities. From the Dubai Media Office figures, professional licences have always been the majority of Instant Licences. Typical examples from DET’s activity list that do not appear on the outside-approval list include management consultancy, computer systems and software design, web design, marketing management, typing and photocopying services, and trading in computers, software, mobile phones and accessories, perfumes and cosmetics, and furniture. Those are examples, not a DET list: DET decides on the activity code, and the application screen tells you whether a chosen activity needs an approval.
Premises-heavy activities
Some activities need no outside approval on paper but cannot work without premises: a warehouse-based trading company, a shop, a salon or a repair workshop. The Instant Licence can still be issued, because the virtual site covers year one on paper, but you cannot lawfully open a shop or hold stock at an address that is not on the licence. Adding the address is an amendment, and any amendment triggers the location requirement. For those businesses the Instant Licence mainly saves a few weeks at the start.
General trading
General trading does not appear on the outside-approval list, but it carries DET’s AED 15,000 activity fee under Executive Council Resolution No. 13 of 2011, and Dubai Customs registration is a separate step. Whether DET offers it through the Instant route depends on the activity record at the time you apply. Our general trading licence guide covers the activity in full.
Legal forms available on the Instant Licence
Invest in Dubai lists four legal forms for the MOHRE card in the bundle, and the Dubai Media Office used the same four to describe the product in 2020, 2021 and 2022.
| Legal form | Owners | Liability | Typical Instant use | Watch for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Limited liability company (LLC) | 2 to 50 partners (Commercial Companies Law, Art. 71) | Limited to capital | Partners starting a trading or service company | Share transfers and new partners are amendments, which trigger the location rule |
| Single-owner LLC (one-person company) | One natural or legal person | Limited to capital | Solo founders who want limited liability | Corporate owner may not fit the Instant flow |
| Sole establishment | One individual | Unlimited, personal | Solo consultants and traders | Non-UAE owner of a professional sole establishment needs a local service agent |
| Civil company | Two or more professionals | Partners personally liable | Professional partnerships | Foreign partners need a local service agent |
Public and private joint stock companies were excluded in 2020 and are not listed now. Branches of foreign, UAE or free zone companies are not among the Instant forms either; branches need parent documents and, for foreign parents, registration with the Ministry of Economy and Tourism, which is an outside approval. Our types of companies in Dubai guide compares the forms in detail.
What is bundled with the Instant Licence
The bundle is the main reason founders choose this route. Each item is something a normal licence holder applies for separately after the licence issues.
1. The electronic memorandum of association
Invest in Dubai says you “can also issue a memorandum of association” electronically. For an LLC, single-owner LLC or civil company the memorandum is otherwise issued and attested by DET or, for other forms, by a notary. The Commercial Companies Law (Federal Decree-Law No. 32 of 2021, Article 14) requires the memorandum in Arabic and attested, or it is void, so the electronic version is DET’s own attested document, not an informal template. If your partners want bespoke clauses (drag-along rights, deadlock rules, share classes), the standard electronic memorandum may not carry them; our memorandum of association guide explains the choice.
2. The virtual business site for year one
Normally Dubai Law No. 13 of 2011, Article 17, requires every applicant to specify premises, and u.ae says the tenancy must be registered with Ejari. The Instant Licence “includes a virtual business site for the first year only”. That is a DET-provided registration address, not an office, a mailing service or a place you can receive customers. It ends at the first renewal or at the first amendment, whichever comes first. Our office space for trade licence guide covers what DET accepts afterwards.
3. Dubai Chamber membership
Invest in Dubai lists “Dubai Chamber membership for commercial activities”. Dubai Law No. 1 of 2022, Article 16, makes Chamber membership mandatory for DET licensees, and Dubai Chambers Board Resolution No. 4 of 2023 says a licensee becomes a member “once a commercial or professional licence is issued”. Annual fees run from AED 50 to AED 2,200 by category. Whether a professional Instant Licence holder is enrolled in the same step, or later, is not stated; the membership certificate on DC Connect tells you. Our Dubai Chamber membership guide has the categories.
4. The GDRFA immigration establishment card
This card opens the company’s file at the General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs in Dubai, and no entry permit or residence visa can be issued under the company without it. GDRFA’s published fee for a new card is AED 280 digital or AED 380 urgent when bought on its own. Official pages do not say whether the Instant bundle waives that fee or collects it on the voucher. Our establishment card guide explains the card and its renewals.
5. The MOHRE establishment card, with the option to employ three people
The company is registered with the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation, which Invest in Dubai describes as an establishment card “with the option to employ three people”. MOHRE’s published fee for the establishment card is AED 406 (Ta’qeem) when issued on its own. Invest in Dubai says this card is available for the LLC, single-owner LLC, sole establishment and civil company. It is the part of the bundle that most often gets overstated; the next section explains why.
The three employees: what the MOHRE card really gives you
The 2020 and 2021 releases called this “three work permits for employees”. The current wording is “the option to employ three people”. Read together, the bundle gives the company an open MOHRE file with an initial allowance to hire three people. It does not issue three visas, and it does not pay for them.
- Each hire is a separate application. The worker needs a MOHRE work permit (AED 250, AED 1,200 or AED 3,450 for two years by establishment category under Cabinet Resolution No. 21 of 2020), then a GDRFA entry permit or status change, a medical test, Emirates ID and residence. Our employment visa cost guide lists every line.
- Owners and partners are not automatically in the three. A partner’s or investor’s own residence goes through GDRFA’s partner or investor route, which has its own conditions; a Green Visa for a partner, for example, needs a share of at least AED 1 million. Whether a partner visa uses one of the three places depends on how the file is set up, and no official page says.
- More than three needs a quota request. MOHRE decides quota on the legal form, premises, projects and evidenced demand. Without an Ejari for real premises, a request beyond the starting allowance is unlikely to succeed. See our guide to company visa quota in Dubai and our quota approval service.
- The MOHRE file still needs its signatory set-up. The authorised signatory’s e-signature card and the link between the GDRFA and MOHRE files are normal follow-up steps; our MOHRE labour card guide and labour file opening service cover them.
How to apply for an instant licence in Dubai, step by step
The application runs on Invest in Dubai. The initial approval is part of the same flow: DET’s initial approval path asks you at step 5 to choose the licence type, “normal, instant, or DED trader”. Our initial approval guide covers that step.
- Check every activity. Use Invest in Dubai’s activity search to find the exact activity names and codes, and compare them with the outside-approval list. One regulated activity closes the Instant route.
- Choose the legal form and confirm whether a local service agent is needed (professional sole establishment or civil company with non-UAE owners).
- Log in to Invest in Dubai with UAE PASS and start a new licence. Enter the partners, manager and shares using their Emirates ID or unified number.
- Reserve the trade name. DET’s naming rules apply as for any licence; our trade name registration guide has them.
- Obtain the initial approval and select “instant” as the licence type.
- Issue the electronic memorandum of association if you are using it, and have the partners sign it electronically as the system requires.
- Pay the licence voucher. u.ae says the voucher must be paid within 30 days. Once paid, the licence issues within minutes.
- Download the licence, the Chamber certificate and the establishment card details. Check each record carries the same trade name, licence number and partners.
- Diarise the year. Corporate tax registration (three months), UBO data (60 days), bank account, first hires, premises (before month twelve) and renewal (the last month before expiry).
Documents
For the Instant Licence itself Invest in Dubai asks only for the unified number or ID number. Keep these ready anyway, because the steps around the licence need them: passport copies and Emirates IDs of partners and manager; UAE PASS on the applicant’s phone; a sponsor or employer NOC if a partner’s employer or visa sponsor requires one; the local service agent’s details and agreement where needed; and, if an owner is a company, the attested parent documents (which usually push you to a normal licence).
Instant licence Dubai fees: what is published
DET does not publish a single Instant Licence price. Invest in Dubai says fees “vary depending on the type of licence and specific activities” and points to its business set-up recommendation tool for an estimate. The table lists the government lines that apply to a new DET licence and where each comes from.
| Fee line | Amount | Applies to | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial approval | AED 100 (AED 120 with Knowledge and Innovation Dirhams on DET’s card) | All | Resolution 13/2011, Sched. 1; DET service card |
| Trade name | AED 200 (special names AED 1,000 or 2,000); DET’s booking card shows AED 620 | All | Resolution 13/2011, items 5 to 8; DET archived card |
| Licence issue | AED 600 | All | Resolution 13/2011, Sched. 1 |
| Commercial register | AED 200 | All | Resolution 13/2011, Sched. 1 |
| Other voucher lines (advertisement, service request, Knowledge and Innovation) | About AED 420 | All | Previously published DET voucher lines; your voucher governs |
| Activity fee | General trading AED 15,000 issue; most activities none | Some activities | Resolution 13/2011, Sched. 1 |
| Local service agent appointment | AED 700 (DET line); the agent’s own fee is private | Foreign-owned professional sole establishment or civil company | Resolution 13/2011, item 9 |
| Dubai Chamber membership | AED 50 to 2,200 a year by category | Licensees | Dubai Chambers fee schedule |
| GDRFA establishment card | AED 280 digital / AED 380 urgent if charged separately | Bundled; charging not published | GDRFA service card |
| MOHRE establishment card | AED 406 (Ta’qeem) if charged separately | Bundled; charging not published | MOHRE |
| Market fee on rent | 2.5% of registered annual rent | From the first renewal with premises | Dubai Media Office (2020) |
| Ejari | AED 177.75 online; about AED 220 at a trustee centre | From the first renewal | Dubai Land Department |
The lines every new licence meets (initial approval, trade name, licence issue, commercial register and the previously published voucher lines) add up to about AED 1,520. That is our arithmetic on the published lines, the same floor used in our cost guide, not a DET quotation. With no rent registered in year one, we would not expect a market fee on the first voucher, but DET does not say so in writing; check the voucher.
What the whole first year can look like
For a single-owner LLC in consultancy with no staff, the government side of year one is the DET lines, the Chamber fee for its category and whatever the bundle charges for the two establishment cards. For a three-partner trading LLC hiring three people, add three work permits and visas, and plan the premises budget for renewal. Secondary websites quote “AED 5,000 to AED 18,000” for an Instant Licence; those figures include private service fees and are not published by DET.
What year two adds
At the first renewal you pay DET’s renewal lines, the Chamber renewal, and now the premises: rent, Ejari (AED 177.75 online) and the 2.5% market fee on the registered rent. A business centre desk at AED 15,000 a year, for example, adds AED 375 of market fee and AED 177.75 of Ejari to the renewal, before the rent itself. Our guide to renewing a trade licence in Dubai shows the renewal voucher line by line.
Validity and the first-year conditions
An Instant Licence is valid for one year, like any DET licence. Dubai Law No. 13 of 2011, Article 8, allows a licence to be issued for up to four years with DET’s approval and requires renewal within the last month before expiry. The conditions attached to the Instant route all fall due within that first year.
Condition 1: a valid business location at renewal or any amendment
This is the only Instant-specific condition in DET’s current wording: “a valid business location must be provided upon renewal or any amendments”. In practice DET accepts the same premises as for a normal licence: an office, shop, warehouse or other unit, or a desk in a DET-licensed business centre, on a tenancy registered with Ejari. A mailing-address “virtual office” does not satisfy it. Because Ejari registration can take a few days and a business centre may need its own paperwork, start at month nine or ten.
The phrase “or any amendments” is easy to miss. Adding a partner, transferring shares, changing the manager, adding an activity or changing the trade name are all licence amendments, and each one ends the virtual-site period early. Our trade licence amendment guide lists the amendment types.
Condition 2: outside approvals, if any
Under the current rule, an Instant Licence carries no activity that needs an outside approval, so there is nothing to finish. The 2021 and 2022 releases said owners could “complete the remaining requirements of the licence, such as approvals from other relevant government entities” after issue. If you hold an older Instant Licence issued on that basis, check at renewal whether DET has an outstanding approval on file; your renewal will not go through until it is cleared.
The ordinary obligations that apply to every licence
- Corporate tax registration within three months of the licence (FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024); late registration costs AED 10,000 (Cabinet Decision No. 10 of 2024). See our corporate tax registration guide.
- Beneficial owner data within 60 days of licensing, and any change within 15 days (Cabinet Decision No. 109 of 2023). See our UBO register guide.
- Chamber membership kept current alongside the licence.
- Establishment cards renewed in step with the licence; GDRFA and MOHRE will not process transactions for a company whose licence has expired.
Finalising the Instant Licence: the year-two conversion
There is no separate “conversion” application. The Instant Licence becomes an ordinary licence in practice when you give DET a real location at renewal or at your first amendment. Treat it as a short project.
- Month six: decide the premises. Match the space to your activity and hiring plan. A consultancy of one or two people can usually work from a business centre desk; a trading company with stock needs a warehouse or store; a shop needs a retail unit with the right approvals.
- Month eight or nine: sign and check. Confirm the business centre holds a DET licence or that the unit is permitted for commercial use, that the landlord or operator can issue an Ejari, and that the term will cover the licence year.
- Month nine or ten: register the Ejari with the Dubai Land Department (AED 177.75 online) and keep the certificate.
- Month eleven: renew with the new location. DET’s renewal voucher now includes the 2.5% market fee on the registered rent. If you need the location on the licence earlier (for example because a bank or client wants a real address), file a location amendment.
- Afterwards: update the other files. MOHRE may inspect premises before issuing its e-signature card or approving more quota; GDRFA, Dubai Chambers, the bank and the Federal Tax Authority should show the same address.
If the business has grown beyond the four Instant forms or needs a regulated activity, the change is a normal amendment with the relevant outside approval, handled like any other licence.
What happens if you do not meet the conditions
Nothing dramatic happens on the anniversary itself. The consequences come from the licence expiring without renewal, and they are the same as for any Dubai licence.
| What happens | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Renewal and amendments are refused | DET needs a valid business location at renewal or any amendment | Invest in Dubai, Mainland companies |
| The licence expires | You may not trade from the expiry date | Dubai Law No. 13 of 2011 |
| Failure to renew | AED 250 | Resolution 13/2011, Sched. 2, item 5 |
| Delay in renewing | AED 200 a month, part of a month counted as a month | Resolution 13/2011, Sched. 2, item 6 |
| Trading without a licence | AED 5,000; repeat within a year doubled; any single fine capped at AED 100,000 | Resolution 13/2011, Sched. 2, item 1 |
| Immigration and labour files stop | GDRFA and MOHRE transactions for the company are held until the licence is valid again | Our expired trade licence guide |
| Chamber services | Membership follows the licence; services can be suspended | Dubai Law No. 1 of 2022 |
If the business is not going ahead, it is usually cheaper to cancel the licence properly than to let it lapse: cancel employees’ visas and permits, close the establishment cards, deregister for tax, and cancel the licence with DET. Our expired trade licence guide explains the fines and the recovery route, and our company liquidation and visa cancellation service handles closure.
Limits of the Instant Licence
- Activities: only those with no outside approval. Regulated sectors (health, food, education, finance, media, transport, construction, recruitment, real estate) go through the normal licence.
- Legal forms: four. No joint stock companies and no branches.
- Premises: deferred, not removed, and only for year one. You cannot receive customers, hold stock or display a sign at the virtual site.
- Amendments: the first amendment ends the virtual-site period. Plan partner changes for after the premises are in place.
- Staff: the MOHRE file starts with an allowance for three people; more needs quota, which depends on real premises.
- Banking: banks run their own due diligence. Some ask about the operating address or expected activity; a virtual site may prompt more questions. Our corporate bank account guide covers the bank’s view.
- Free zone work: the Instant Licence is a mainland licence. It does not let you operate in a free zone, and a free zone company wanting to work in Dubai uses DET’s dual licence or the Free Zone Mainland Operating Permit instead.
Instant trade licence vs standard licence
An instant trade licence is a faster route to the same kind of licence. The differences are in the start-up sequence, not in what the licence permits.
| Feature | Instant Licence | Standard (normal) licence |
|---|---|---|
| Issue time once ready | About five minutes | About ten minutes |
| Activities | Only those with no outside approval | Any licensable activity, with outside approvals where needed |
| Legal forms | LLC, single-owner LLC, sole establishment, civil company | All mainland forms, including joint stock companies and branches |
| Premises at issue | Virtual business site for year one | Ejari for real premises before the licence issues |
| Memorandum | Electronic memorandum option | Memorandum “obtained electronically or manually” |
| Chamber, GDRFA, MOHRE | Bundled at issue | Applied for after issue |
| Market fee in year one | No registered rent to charge on (check your voucher) | 2.5% of registered rent |
| Visa growth | Starts at three; more after premises | Linked to premises from the start |
| Best for | Unregulated activities, fast start, small team | Regulated activities, corporate owners, shops, warehouses, larger teams |
If you already have premises, or your activity needs a regulator, the Instant route adds little. If you are testing a service business before committing to an office, it gives you a year to find the right space while trading legally.
Instant Licence vs e-Trader and Intelaq
People comparing low-cost routes usually weigh the Instant Licence against DET’s two home-based licences. They are different products for different people.
| Feature | Instant Licence | e-Trader | Intelaq |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who | Any founder able to hold the legal form | Dubai residents; activity range depends on nationality (reported) | UAE and GCC nationals living in Dubai, via Dubai SME |
| Legal form | LLC, single-owner LLC, sole establishment, civil company | Sole proprietorship only | Sole proprietorship only |
| Location | Virtual site year one, then real premises | Your home | Your home |
| Published fee | Varies; DET lines from about AED 1,520 | AED 1,070 + AED 300 Chamber | AED 1,070 a year |
| Staff and visas | GDRFA and MOHRE cards; option to employ three | No visas | Limited (Dubai SME has said up to three) |
| Limited liability | Yes, for the LLC forms | No | No |
If you will work alone from home and do not need staff or your own company visa, the e-Trader or Intelaq licence usually costs less. If you want a company that can hire, the Instant Licence is the lighter route. Our home business licence guide covers e-Trader and Intelaq in full.
Where the Dubai Unified Licence fits
The Dubai Unified Licence (DUL) is not a licence type and not an alternative to the Instant Licence. DET launched it in December 2023 as “a unique commercial identification provided to all businesses in Dubai”, covering mainland and free zone companies, with a QR code a business can display “instead of presenting the traditional trade licence certificates”.
Every Instant Licence holder receives a DUL number like any other Dubai business. Its practical value is in what connects to it. The Dubai Media Office said in November 2025 that more than 900,000 DULs had been issued and that linking banks to the DUL had cut average business bank account opening time “from 65 days to just five”, with seven banks and bodies including MOFA, DEWA, RTA and MOHRE connected. For a new Instant Licence company, the DUL is the identity that lets the bank and other bodies pull the licence data rather than ask you for copies.
What goes wrong with Instant Licences
- No premises plan. Owners assume the virtual site continues. At renewal DET asks for a location and the renewal stalls in the last week.
- An early amendment. A new partner joins in month four, the amendment needs a location, and the company has to sign a lease in a hurry.
- A regulated activity added later. Adding a food, health or education activity turns the next step into a normal amendment with an outside approval, which takes weeks.
- Hiring a fourth person. The quota request fails because there is no real office behind it.
- Treating the licence as the finish line. The tax registration deadline (three months) and UBO filing (60 days) run from the licence date and are missed.
- Wrong form for liability. A founder chooses a sole establishment for speed and later realises the liability is personal and unlimited.
- Letting it lapse instead of cancelling. Fines of AED 200 a month continue and the owner’s other files can be affected.
Instant Licence myths: what circulates online that is not true
| What circulates online | What the official sources say |
|---|---|
| “The Instant Licence means you never need an office.” | The virtual site is “for the first year only”; a valid location is required “upon renewal or any amendments” (Invest in Dubai). |
| “Any activity can be done on an Instant Licence.” | That was the 2020 wording. The current rule limits it to activities “that do not require external approvals beyond” DET. |
| “You get three visas free.” | You get a MOHRE establishment card “with the option to employ three people”. Each work permit and visa is applied for and paid separately. |
| “The Instant Licence costs AED 5,000 to 18,000.” | DET publishes no single price. These ranges include private service fees. The published DET lines start at about AED 1,520 on our arithmetic. |
| “It is a special cheaper licence with lower renewal fees.” | It is a normal DET licence. Renewal follows the ordinary schedule, plus the market fee once premises are registered. |
| “The Instant Licence is the same as Basher.” | Basher is a federal Ministry of Economy and Tourism platform. The Instant Licence is DET’s Dubai licence type on Invest in Dubai. |
| “The Dubai Unified Licence replaces the Instant Licence.” | The DUL is a unique identification number and QR code for every Dubai business, not a licence type. |
| “A virtual office address will do at renewal.” | DET needs a registered tenancy for a usable space (Ejari in Dubai), such as a desk in a DET-licensed business centre. |
Instant licence Dubai in practice: five cases
These cases are built from the situations we see most often. Names and identifying details are left out, and the figures are the published ones.
1. A marketing consultant starting alone
A resident marketing consultant wanted a company quickly to sign a client contract. Marketing management does not appear on the outside-approval list, so the Instant route was open. She chose a single-owner LLC rather than a sole establishment to limit liability, and because an LLC needs no local service agent. The licence issued the day the voucher was paid. She registered for corporate tax in month two, filed UBO data with the licence, and took a business centre desk in month ten so the Ejari was ready for renewal.
2. Three partners in an electronics trading company
Three partners planned to trade mobile phones and accessories and to hire three staff. The Instant Licence gave them the licence and both establishment cards at once, and they hired the three staff within the first quarter. In month five an investor wanted to join as a fourth partner. That share transfer was an amendment, so the virtual-site period ended; they signed a warehouse lease with an office, registered the Ejari and filed the amendment together. Doing it in that order avoided a second amendment later.
3. A founder whose activity list included a regulated activity
A founder wanted IT consultancy plus “educational training”. The training activity needed KHDA approval, which closed the Instant route for the whole licence. He had two choices: drop training and take an Instant Licence now, or apply for a normal licence with the KHDA permit. He took the Instant Licence for IT consultancy and planned to add training later as an amendment, with premises and the KHDA permit, once the first contracts were signed.
4. A professional partnership with foreign partners
Two foreign accountants wanted to offer bookkeeping services (not auditing, which needs the Ministry’s auditors register) as a civil company. The civil company is an Instant form, but as non-UAE partners they still needed a local service agent under Dubai Law No. 13 of 2011, Article 15. The agent agreement, and DET’s AED 700 appointment line, were prepared before the application. The licence then issued through the Instant route with the bundled cards.
5. An Instant Licence that nearly lapsed
An owner who had used the virtual site for a year discovered at month twelve that DET would not renew without a location. The licence expired while he looked for space. He signed with a business centre, registered the Ejari and renewed seven weeks after expiry, paying AED 250 for failure to renew and AED 400 for two months of delay under Resolution 13/2011, on top of the renewal. His GDRFA and MOHRE transactions were held in the meantime, delaying an employee’s visa renewal.
Where the official sources are silent or disagree
| Question | What the sources say | How we handle it |
|---|---|---|
| Which activities qualify? | 2020: “all business activities … except public and private shareholding companies”. 2021 and 2022: complete “approvals from other relevant government entities” after issue. Current Invest in Dubai: only activities with no outside approval. | We follow the current wording and treat the older releases as history. |
| Launch date | July 2017 (2020 release); August 2017 (2022 release) | We say 2017. |
| Are the establishment card fees included? | Not stated | We quote the stand-alone fees and tell clients to read the voucher. |
| Market fee in year one | Not stated | No registered rent means no base for the 2.5% fee; we check the voucher. |
| Chamber membership for professional activities | Invest in Dubai bundles it “for commercial activities”; Resolution 4/2023 covers commercial and professional licences | We check DC Connect after issue and enrol if needed. |
| Corporate shareholders | Not stated | We plan a normal licence and confirm with DET. |
| Whether partner visas use the three places | Not stated | We plan the partner’s residence separately and check the MOHRE and GDRFA files. |
How to verify every figure in this guide
| Figure or rule | Where to check it |
|---|---|
| Instant Licence definition, bundle, five minutes | Invest in Dubai, “Request to issue a trade licence” and “Mainland companies” |
| Activities needing outside approval | Invest in Dubai, “Additional approvals” |
| Legal forms, history and statistics | Dubai Media Office releases of 22 Feb 2020, 27 Nov 2021 and 18 May 2022 |
| Licence validity, premises rule | Dubai Law No. 13 of 2011, Arts. 8 and 17 (Dubai Legislation Portal) |
| DET fees and fines | Executive Council Resolution No. 13 of 2011, Schedules 1 and 2 |
| Chamber membership and fees | Dubai Law No. 1 of 2022, Art. 16; Dubai Chambers new membership page |
| GDRFA and MOHRE card fees | GDRFA establishment card service card; MOHRE establishment card service |
| Ejari fee | Dubai Land Department, Register / Renew Tenancy Contract |
| Tax and UBO deadlines | FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024; Cabinet Decision No. 109 of 2023 |
| Dubai Unified Licence | Dubai Media Office, 11 Dec 2023 and 12 Nov 2025 |
Checked against official sources on 25 September 2026. The Dubai Media Office releases, the Dubai Legislation Portal, u.ae and the Ministry of Economy and Tourism’s Basher page were read on that date; Invest in Dubai’s service wording was read the same day for our sibling mainland guides. DET publishes no single Instant Licence price; your voucher is final.
What we will and will not do
We will check your activities against the outside-approval list before you apply; advise on the legal form and any local service agent; prepare and file the Instant Licence with you on Invest in Dubai; activate the establishment cards and run the first visas; register the premises and Ejari before renewal; and pass on every government fee at cost with the receipt.
We will not promise that an activity qualifies before DET’s system confirms it; arrange an address with no real premises behind it for your renewal; promise visa quota, which MOHRE decides; quote an Instant Licence “package price” that hides government lines; or give legal advice on your memorandum or partner disputes, which belong with a lawyer.
Related guides
- Mainland company formation: the complete step-by-step guide
- Mainland setup cost in Dubai, line by line
- Dubai mainland licence types
- Home business licence in Dubai (e-Trader and Intelaq)
- Office space for a trade licence in Dubai
- Professional licence in Dubai
- Initial approval in Dubai
- Trade licence amendment in Dubai
- Establishment card in the UAE
- Free zone vs mainland Dubai
- UAE government fees list 2026
- Why companies need PRO services
Instant licence Dubai: frequently asked questions
What is an Instant Licence in Dubai?
It is a Dubai mainland trade licence that DET issues on Invest in Dubai within about five minutes, for activities that need no approval from any other authority. It can include an electronic memorandum of association, a virtual business site for the first year, Dubai Chamber membership and GDRFA and MOHRE establishment cards, the MOHRE card allowing three employees. A real location is needed at renewal.
Is the Instant Licence still available in 2026?
Yes. On 25 September 2026 Invest in Dubai listed the Instant Licence alongside the normal licence and the eTrader licence under “Request to issue a trade licence”, and u.ae lists “instant” among Dubai’s eight licence types. The product has run since 2017; the main change is that it is now limited to activities with no outside approval.
Who can apply for an Instant Licence?
Any founder who can hold one of the four legal forms on the Dubai mainland: LLC, single-owner LLC, sole establishment or civil company. Partners and the manager need an Emirates ID or UAE unified number, and the applicant logs in with UAE PASS. Non-residents need a visit visa first. Foreign ownership limits and the local service agent rule still apply.
Can a non-resident get an Instant Licence?
Invest in Dubai asks for the unified number or ID number of the parties, and says non-residents “must hold a valid tourist or visit visa before applying for a licence”. So a non-resident usually needs to enter the UAE first to receive a unified number. Owners abroad can appoint a representative under a power of attorney for steps that allow it.
Which activities are not allowed on an Instant Licence?
Any activity that needs approval from an authority other than DET. Invest in Dubai’s list includes healthcare, food establishments, construction and engineering, education, financial services, insurance, virtual assets, telecoms, media and publishing, transport, recruitment, auditing, legal services, industrial production and tourism permits. One such activity moves the whole application to a normal licence.
Do I need an office for an Instant Licence?
Not in the first year. The licence includes a virtual business site for the first year only. Invest in Dubai says a valid business location must be provided upon renewal or any amendment. That means a registered Ejari for real premises, such as a desk in a DET-licensed business centre, an office, a shop or a warehouse.
What happens if I do not have an Ejari at renewal?
DET will not renew the licence, and it expires. From expiry you may not trade, Resolution 13/2011 adds AED 250 for failing to renew and AED 200 for each month of delay, and GDRFA and MOHRE transactions for the company are held. Register the Ejari before month twelve, or cancel the licence properly if the business is not continuing.
How much does an Instant Licence cost?
DET publishes no single price; fees vary by activity and legal form. The fixed DET lines every new licence meets add up to about AED 1,520 on our arithmetic. Activity fees (for example AED 15,000 for general trading), Dubai Chamber membership (AED 50 to 2,200) and any AED 700 local service agent line are added where they apply. Your voucher is final.
Does the Instant Licence give me three visas?
It gives the company a MOHRE establishment card “with the option to employ three people”, plus a GDRFA establishment card. Each employee still needs a work permit, entry permit or status change, medical test, Emirates ID and residence visa, each paid separately. Hiring more than three needs a quota request, which MOHRE assesses against real premises.
Can I add a partner to an Instant Licence?
Yes, but adding or removing a partner is a licence amendment, and Invest in Dubai says a valid business location must be provided upon any amendment. So you need registered premises before, or together with, the partner change. The memorandum is amended and signatures are attested as for any LLC or civil company.
What is the difference between an Instant Licence and an e-Trader licence?
The e-Trader licence is a home-based sole proprietorship for selling online from your Dubai residence, at AED 1,070 plus AED 300 Chamber, with no visas. The Instant Licence is a full mainland licence in one of four legal forms, including limited liability companies, with a virtual site for year one and establishment cards allowing three employees.
Is the Instant Licence the same as the Dubai Unified Licence?
No. The Dubai Unified Licence is a unique identification number and QR code that every Dubai business receives, mainland or free zone. It links the business to banks and government bodies and, according to the Dubai Media Office, cut average business bank account opening from 65 days to five. An Instant Licence company receives a DUL like any other.
Can MIRDXB PRO apply for my Instant Licence?
Yes. We check your activities against the outside-approval list, advise on the legal form and any agent, prepare the trade name, initial approval and electronic memorandum, and apply with you on Invest in Dubai using your UAE PASS. We then set up the establishment cards, tax and UBO filings, and plan premises and renewal. Government fees are passed on at cost.
How much does MIRDXB PRO charge for an Instant Licence?
Our fee depends on the work and is quoted in writing before we start. A single-owner consultancy with no staff is simpler than a multi-partner LLC hiring three people and planning premises. Government fees (DET, Dubai Chambers, GDRFA, MOHRE, Ejari) are passed on at cost with receipts. Our published service fees are on our fees page.
Keeping your licence, establishment cards, Chamber membership and premises in step through the first year and beyond is what our PRO services in Dubai team handles, and our corporate PRO services and establishment card renewal service cover it on a retained basis.
- Invest in Dubai: Request to issue a trade licence (normal, Instant and eTrader; read 25 September 2026)
- Invest in Dubai: Mainland companies (types of licences)
- Invest in Dubai: Additional approvals
- Dubai Media Office: Dubai Economy issues 4,692 Instant Licenses to date (22 February 2020)
- Dubai Media Office: 10,707 Instant Licences issued during the first 10 months of 2021
- Dubai Media Office: 32,564 instant licences issued by DET since August 2017 (18 May 2022)
- Dubai Media Office: DET launches the Dubai Unified Licence (11 December 2023)
- Dubai Media Office: Dubai Unified Licence cuts business bank account opening time by 90% (12 November 2025)
- u.ae: Steps to start a business on the mainland
- Dubai Law No. 13 of 2011 Regulating the Conduct of Economic Activities (Arts. 8, 15, 17)
- Executive Council Resolution No. 13 of 2011: DED fees (Schedule 1) and fines (Schedule 2)
- Dubai Law No. 1 of 2022 Establishing the Dubai Chambers (Art. 16)
- Dubai Chambers: New Membership (fees by category)
- GDRFA Dubai: Establishment card issuance
- MOHRE enquiry services (company information, establishment link status)
- Dubai Land Department: Register / Renew Tenancy Contract (Ejari)
- FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024 on the timeline for corporate tax registration
- Ministry of Finance: AED 10,000 penalty for late corporate tax registration
- Ministry of Economy and Tourism: Set up companies via Basher
- Gulf News: Dubai Economy issues 4,692 instant licenses to date (2020, secondary)
Please note. The Instant Licence rules, fees and procedures in this guide are taken from the Department of Economy and Tourism’s Invest in Dubai platform, the Dubai Media Office, the Dubai Legislation Portal, u.ae, Dubai Chambers, GDRFA, MOHRE, the Dubai Land Department, the Federal Tax Authority and the Ministry of Finance, verified 25 September 2026. Totals marked as our arithmetic are not DET quotations. The cases are built from common situations and are illustrative, not the records of named clients. This guide is general information and not legal advice; DET’s decision and your payment voucher are final.




