Key takeaways
- RAKEZ company setup means registering a company, branch or freelancer permit with Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone (RAKEZ), the authority the Government of Ras Al Khaimah formed in 2017 under Law No. 2 of 2017 by bringing RAK Free Trade Zone and RAK Investment Authority together.
- Two jurisdictions in one office: RAKEZ free zone entities operate only inside the free zone; non-free zone entities also hold a RAK Department of Economic Development licence and trade on the Ras Al Khaimah mainland.
- The free zone vehicle is the FZ-LLC (1 to 50 shareholders, minimum share capital AED 10,000 in the RAKEZ FAQ, higher for industrial, aviation, real estate, insurance and media activities), plus branches of UAE and foreign companies.
- Industrial land is the speciality: plots from 2,500 square metres, warehouses from 150, labour accommodation and three industrial zones near Saqr Port and Etihad Rail.
- RAKEZ publishes package prices: an instant licence from AED 6,000, an all-inclusive package with one residence visa for AED 14,000, a designated zone package from AED 16,550 and a freelancer permit from AED 6,100 (rakez.com, checked 26 September 2026).
- A RAKEZ visa is issued through ICP, not the Dubai GDRFA, with RAKEZ as sponsor.
- Tax: the three RAKEZ industrial zones appear on the VAT designated zones list, the business zones do not, and 0% corporate tax applies only to qualifying income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person.
- Look elsewhere if you need a Dubai address for clients, a finance-regulated licence, or direct retail sales to the UAE public from a free zone entity.
RAKEZ company setup is the process of forming a free zone company, a non-free zone company or a branch with Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone, the business licensing authority of the Government of Ras Al Khaimah established under Ras Al Khaimah Law No. 2 of 2017. A RAKEZ company can be wholly foreign-owned in the free zone, leases a facility in one of RAKEZ’s business, academic or industrial zones, sponsors residence visas through RAKEZ and the ICP, and is known above all for low-cost starter licences and large-scale industrial land in the UAE’s northernmost emirate.
Most people meet Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone through a cheap starter package. The other side of the RAKEZ free zone is industrial: manufacturers leasing land in Al Ghail or Al Hamra, building a factory and housing their workforce on site. Both use the same authority and portal, but face very different decisions, and this guide separates them where it matters.
Below: legal forms and licences, free zone versus non-free zone, each RAKEZ company setup step with its official time, documents, the RAKEZ license cost as published, facilities and RAKEZ visa rules, tax, mainland trading and compliance. Still weighing free zone against mainland? Read our free zone vs mainland guide. If RAKEZ is your route, our free zone company setup support covers it from enquiry to bank account.
u.ae lists two free zone authorities in Ras Al Khaimah: Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone and Innovation City. See our Ras Al Khaimah free zones guide and the free zones in the UAE pillar guide. Every fact below comes from the official sources at the end, read on 26 September 2026; where RAKEZ’s own pages conflict, we say so.
RAKEZ company setup at a glance
| Question | Short answer | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Licensing authority | Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone Authority (RAKEZ), through its Registrar; non-free zone entities also licensed by the RAK Department of Economic Development (RAK DED) | RAKEZ Companies Regulations 2023; RAKEZ Operating Rules 2023, Rule 3; rakez.com FAQ |
| Legal basis | Ras Al Khaimah Law No. 2 of 2017; RAKEZ Companies Regulations 2023 and Operating Rules 2023 issued by the RAKEZ Board | Companies Regulations 2023, Article 2 |
| Location | Ras Al Khaimah: Al Nakheel and Al Hamra business zones, RAKEZ Academic Zone, and the Al Ghail, Al Hamra and Al Hulaila industrial zones | rakez.com zones pages |
| Established | 2017, when RAK Free Trade Zone and RAK Investment Authority were combined under one authority | Law No. 2 of 2017; RAKEZ |
| Best for | Manufacturers, industrial and logistics firms needing land or warehouses; cost-conscious start-ups, traders, consultants, e-commerce sellers and freelancers | rakez.com; our analysis |
| Legal forms | Free zone: FZ-LLC, branch of a UAE company, branch of a foreign company. Non-free zone: individual establishment, single-person LLC, LLC, branches | rakez.com FAQ and legal entities page |
| Licence types | Free zone: commercial, general trading, e-commerce, service, industrial, educational, media, individual/professional, freelancer permit. Non-free zone: commercial, industrial, professional | Operating Rules 2023, Rule 9.3; rakez.com licence types |
| Minimum capital | FZ-LLC AED 10,000 in general, with higher minimums for listed activities (AED 150,000 industrial, up to AED 1,000,000 for some); branch none | rakez.com FAQ |
| Official setup time | Instant licence “in 5 minutes” online; Biz Starter package in 24 hours; other licences “in only a matter of days” with no fixed turnaround; u.ae: free zone approval generally “within 14 working days” | rakez.com promotions and getting started; u.ae |
| Visa allocation basis | By facility: flexi desk one visa; serviced office up to two visas per desk and four in total; larger offices, warehouses and land “eligible” for visas with numbers set per application | rakez.com FAQ and facility pages |
| Visa issuer | RAKEZ as sponsor, through ICP systems (Ras Al Khaimah residence) | rakez.com FAQ and visa advisory |
| VAT designated zone | Yes for Al Hamra, Al Ghail and Al Hulaila industrial zones; not for the business zones | Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 list (secondary copy); RAKEZ designated zone flyer |
| Mainland trading route | Free zone entity: through an agent, distributor or parent only; or a non-free zone entity or branch licensed with RAK DED | Operating Rules 2023, Rules 9.2 and 13.4 |
| Website | rakez.com (call centre +971 7 204 1111) | rakez.com |
Three questions decide most RAKEZ company setup files: do you need to sell directly on the UAE mainland, do you need land or a warehouse, and how many RAKEZ visa slots do you need in year one? The answers fix the entity, the zone and the facility, which drive almost all of the cost. If you are comparing RAKEZ with Dubai options for business setup in Dubai, we set the routes side by side in writing.
Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone explained: one authority, two jurisdictions
RAKEZ describes itself as “a business licencing authority” serving “free zone and non-free zone businesses”. That short phrase is the most important fact in this guide, because most free zones issue only free zone licences. RAKEZ’s Operating Rules set out both: a free zone entity is a limited liability entity incorporated in the free zone area, while a non-free zone entity is a limited or unlimited liability entity incorporated in the non-free zone area, which “shall liaise with RAK DED” and holds a RAK DED licence alongside its RAKEZ licence (Operating Rules 2023, Rule 3).
So one portal (Portal 360) can set you up either as a RAKEZ free zone company that trades through distributors, or as a Ras Al Khaimah mainland company selling directly. Choosing wrongly is the costliest RAKEZ company setup mistake we see: switching later means a new entity, a new licence and moving every RAKEZ visa.
Where RAKEZ came from
Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone was formed in 2017 when the emirate brought RAK Free Trade Zone (RAK FTZ) and RAK Investment Authority (RAKIA) under one body; the former RAK Media Free Zone was absorbed too. The Companies Regulations and Operating Rules both cite Law No. 2 of 2017, issued by His Highness Sheikh Saud Bin Saqr Al Qasimi. That history is why older RAKEZ free zone companies still carry “FZE” or “FZC” suffixes.
RAK International Corporate Centre (RAK ICC), which RAKEZ’s own entity page mentions, is an offshore company registry, not a free zone.
RAKEZ free zone vs non-free zone entity: the differences
| Point | Free zone entity | Non-free zone entity |
|---|---|---|
| Licensed by | RAKEZ only | RAKEZ and RAK DED |
| Legal forms | FZ-LLC; branch of a UAE or foreign company | Individual establishment; single-person LLC; LLC; branch of a UAE or foreign company |
| Licence types | Nine categories including e-commerce, media, educational and freelancer | Commercial, industrial, professional only |
| Where it may operate | Only inside the RAKEZ free zone area (Rule 9.2) | Ras Al Khaimah mainland, from a RAKEZ non-free zone facility |
| Selling to UAE customers | Only through an agent, representative, distributor or parent licensed on the mainland (Rule 13.4) | Direct sales in the local market |
| Governing company law | RAKEZ Companies Regulations 2023 | Federal Decree-Law No. 32 of 2021 on Commercial Companies |
| Foreign ownership | 100% foreign ownership | RAKEZ FAQ still states a UAE partner holding at least 51% for commercial and industrial licences; federal law since 2021 allows full foreign ownership for most activities, subject to each emirate’s list. Confirm for your activity in writing |
| VAT designated zone | Only if the facility is in a designated industrial zone | Not applicable: mainland supplies |
| Qualifying Free Zone Person (0% corporate tax) | Possible if all conditions are met | No: mainland entity taxed at the standard rates |
RAKEZ’s FAQ says a non-UAE national needs a UAE sponsor holding at least 51% for a non-free zone commercial or industrial licence, and that a free zone company’s mainland branch needs 51% Emirati capital; its entity page still says “established in association with a UAE partner”. That reflects the pre-2021 law. Federal Decree-Law No. 32 of 2021, listed on RAKEZ’s own rules page, allows full foreign ownership except in activities each emirate reserves. The RAK DED website could not be reached on 26 September 2026, so get RAKEZ’s written confirmation for your activity.
What the RAKEZ free zone is known for
Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone announced 50,000 active companies from more than 100 countries on 20 August 2026. The mix matters more than the count: engineering, building materials, food and beverage, electronics, metals, apparel and light manufacturing, alongside general trading, e-commerce, media, distribution and consultancy.
Industrial land and manufacturing
This is where the RAKEZ free zone differs from most Dubai zones: land from 2,500 square metres, warehouses from 150 square metres (up to 10,000 in Al Hamra) and labour accommodation inside the industrial zones. In September 2026 ZAKH opened a solar panel factory on a 30,000 square metre plot in Al Ghail, and JK DryChem Industries a 5,000 square metre construction chemicals plant there. RAKEZ also steers manufacturers to federal programmes such as Make it in the Emirates and In-Country Value.
Low-cost starter licences
At the other end sit an instant online licence, a 24-hour Biz Starter package, e-commerce and businesswomen packages and a freelancer permit, most from around AED 6,000, on coworking desks for founders who need a licence and often one RAKEZ visa rather than space.
Education
The RAKEZ Academic Zone has its own regulatory framework, pre-built buildings for start-up universities, land for schools and student visas for higher education providers. The University of Greater Manchester opened an academic centre there in July 2026.
How RAKEZ differs from rival zones
- Against JAFZA: cheaper land and housing, near Saqr Port for bulk cargo rather than Jebel Ali’s container port.
- Against Sharjah’s SAIF Zone and Hamriyah: similar industrial space, plus a non-free zone option under the same roof.
- Against IFZA and licence-only zones: similar starter prices, but room to grow into warehouses and land without changing jurisdiction.
- Against RAK Innovation City: general and industrial rather than technology and regulated digital assets.
RAKEZ company setup: legal forms, shareholders and capital
RAKEZ’s Companies Regulations 2023 (Article 9) recognise the FZ-LLC, public and private company forms and branches, but the forms RAKEZ actually markets to new clients are shorter. The table covers both jurisdictions.
| Form | Jurisdiction | Owners | Capital | Liability |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free Zone Limited Liability Company (FZ-LLC) | Free zone | 1 to 50 shareholders, individuals or companies (Article 12(2), subject to Registrar approval) | AED 10,000 minimum (shares of AED 1,000), higher for listed activities | Limited to share capital |
| Branch of a UAE company (including other free zones) | Free zone or non-free zone | Parent company | None | Parent liable |
| Branch of a foreign company | Free zone or non-free zone | Parent company | None | Parent liable |
| Individual establishment | Non-free zone | One natural person | Not stated | Unlimited |
| Single-person LLC | Non-free zone | One natural or corporate person | Not stated | Limited |
| Limited Liability Company (LLC) | Non-free zone | 2 to 50 shareholders | Not stated | Limited |
Minimum share capital by activity
The general FZ-LLC minimum is AED 10,000, but the RAKEZ FAQ lists higher minimums for regulated or capital-heavy activities. These are the published figures:
| Activity group | Minimum share capital (AED) |
|---|---|
| General FZ-LLC | 10,000 |
| Publishing; film, TV or radio production; schools, early learning centres, higher education and other education providers | 50,000 |
| Logistics and transportation; insurance consultancy; investment consultancy | 100,000 |
| Industrial | 150,000 |
| Aviation; insurance broker; real estate consultancy, broker or agent | 500,000 |
| Insurance agent; real estate development; TV and radio broadcasting | 1,000,000 |
The Regulations require the share capital to be deposited in an account in the company’s name (Article 32(3)), and RAKEZ issues a bank letter with the licence for that purpose. Ask RAKEZ at the quotation stage whether your capital must be paid in before licensing or can follow, because the answer differs by activity.
Officers: manager, directors and secretary
- Manager: one, a UAE-resident natural person per the FAQ (Article 56 of the Regulations also allows a corporate manager).
- Directors: one or more, aged at least 21 (Article 49).
- Secretary: optional (Article 57), and per the Regulations not also a director, although the FAQ says one person may hold every role. Ask which rule the Registrar applies.
- Registered office: required in the zone at all times (Article 22), hence the mandatory lease.
A branch has no memorandum of association of its own, must carry the parent’s name and may only carry on activities the parent already holds.
RAKEZ free zone licence types and permitted activities
The Operating Rules 2023 (Rule 9.3) list nine RAKEZ free zone licence categories and three non-free zone categories. Your licence decides your activities, your facility and often your RAKEZ visa options.
| Licence | What it covers | Free zone | Non-free zone |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial | Trading in goods and services within a group of related products | Yes | Yes |
| General trading | Trading in multiple unrelated goods | Yes | No |
| E-commerce | Selling goods and services by electronic means | Yes | No |
| Service | Services or consultancy in any industry | Yes | No |
| Industrial | Manufacturing, importing, packaging and exporting products | Yes | Yes |
| Educational | Education institutions and education consultancy | Yes | No |
| Media | Media-related business activities | Yes | No |
| Individual/professional | One owner, one activity in a specialty | Yes | No |
| Professional | Individuals providing professional services | No | Yes |
| Freelancer permit | Media and education professionals working in their own name | Yes | No |
How many activities fit on one licence
The RAKEZ FAQ sets stricter limits for standard licences than the packages suggest:
- Commercial: five activities from the same group, or two from different groups.
- Service: two activities from any group.
- Industrial: two activities from the same group.
- Commercial and service activities cannot share a licence. Adding a service activity to a commercial licence counts as a second licence with its own fee.
Packages are more generous: up to ten “mix and match” activities on the all-inclusive and Biz Starter packages, five on the businesswomen package. Keep those terms in writing, because they can change if you leave the package.
How to search the RAKEZ activity list
Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone publishes its activity list as English and Arabic PDFs on the licence types page, plus a freelancer professions list and a searchable online page. For each activity check the licence category, any required facility (some need a physical office, per the FAQ) and any outside approval.
Activities that need another authority’s approval
Some activities need a regulator’s no objection certificate before RAKEZ adds them; RAKEZ’s own example is a clinic, which needs the Ministry of Health and Prevention. Other common cases:
- Designated non-financial businesses (legal consultancy, real estate, auditors, precious metals and stones, investment consultancy, company service providers): a DNFBP form signed by all shareholders and anti-money laundering supervision under Federal Decree-Law No. 10 of 2025.
- Education: the RAKEZ Academic Zone framework, plus federal accreditation for degree programmes.
- Media: a media business brief form (RAKEZ publishes a bilingual version) and, for advertisers and content activities, the National Media Authority, which replaced the UAE Media Council in December 2025.
- Industrial: an HS&E no objection certificate, development permits for construction and, before operating, an Operation Fitness Certificate (OFC) from RAKEZ.
Regulated finance and crypto are not a RAKEZ strength; in Ras Al Khaimah that activity sits with Innovation City and the Capital Market Authority.
Licence validity and multi-year licences
Licences run for at least 12 months (Rule 9.7). Commercial, service, general trading, individual/professional and e-commerce licences can be issued or renewed for three years at a discount (FAQ); visas still follow their own two-year cycle.
RAKEZ company setup process, step by step
RAKEZ describes three steps: customise your package, submit your application, receive your licence. The full RAKEZ company setup sequence has more stages once visas, bank and tax are included. Official times are shown where published.
- Choose the jurisdiction, entity, licence and facility. Free zone or non-free zone first, then the legal form, licence category, activities and facility. RAKEZ’s business development team quotes a package. Time: your preparation.
- Pre-approval for key people. The RAKEZ FAQ says investors, partners and managers of all nationalities need pre-approval before the company is formed or a visa is issued, applied for through RAKEZ’s e-services. Time: not published.
- Application and documents. Submit the application form and documents through Portal 360 or a RAKEZ office. For regulated activities, attach the outside authority’s approval. Time: not published.
- Invoice and payment. RAKEZ emails an invoice; payment is by card online, cash, cheque or bank transfer. Time: at your pace.
- Licence, registration set and bank letter. RAKEZ issues the licence with the certificate of incorporation, memorandum and articles, share certificates and a bank letter. Time: instant licence “in 5 minutes”; Biz Starter “in 24 hours”; otherwise “in only a matter of days” per RAKEZ, and generally “within 14 working days” per u.ae.
- Immigration file and E-Channel registration. Companies with an immigration file must be registered on the federal E-Channel system through RAKEZ. Time: not published.
- Visas. Entry permit (or in-country status change), medical fitness test, Emirates ID biometrics and residence visa, all filed by RAKEZ as sponsor through ICP. Time: RAKEZ’s VIP visa package is completed “in less than four days”; standard times not published.
- Corporate bank account. The bank’s own onboarding. Time: set by the bank.
- Tax registration. Corporate tax registration with the FTA within three months of incorporation for a company formed after 1 March 2024 (FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024); VAT registration if taxable supplies exceed AED 375,000.
- Start operating within the lease deadline. Operating Rules 2023 (Rule 10.3) expect operations to start within 60 days in an office, 90 days in a warehouse and, on vacant land under a musataha (development lease), within 18 months.
Land projects add a parallel track: development permit, HS&E no objection certificate, construction and the Operation Fitness Certificate before occupation. Operating without an OFC costs AED 5,000 per day (Rule 25.5).
The instant licence route
The instant licence is fully online: a passport (plus visa or Emirates ID for residents), a Basic (AED 6,000) or Lite (AED 12,000) package, and the licence issues at the end. It is the fastest we know of, but it does not include a RAKEZ visa, a bank account or space.
RAKEZ company setup documents required
Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone keeps its checklists inside Portal 360, so these lists combine the FAQ, the Companies Regulations and registrar practice. Get the current checklist before you notarise anything.
Individual shareholders, directors and manager
- Passport copy (valid for at least six months is the safe rule) and a recent photograph.
- UAE visa and Emirates ID copies if already resident, and a no objection certificate from the current sponsor if the person will not take a RAKEZ visa and the activity requires one (for example, the freelancer permit without visa).
- Pre-approval for investor, partner and manager roles.
- For the manager, a no objection certificate from the current sponsor if the manager is employed elsewhere (RAKEZ FAQ).
Corporate shareholders and branches
- Certificate of incorporation, memorandum and articles of association of the parent.
- Board resolution approving the RAKEZ company or branch, naming the manager and the authorised signatory. RAKEZ’s FAQ says the person signing must have that power in the parent’s documents or under a power of attorney attested by the UAE embassy or consulate.
- Evidence of good standing. RAKEZ accepts any of: a certificate of good standing from the bank, an online registry extract showing the web address, a notarised recent certificate of incumbency, or a notarised and legalised letter from a law firm or chartered auditing firm.
- Register of shareholders and directors, and beneficial owner information for the group.
Foreign documents generally need notarisation, legalisation (or apostille where accepted), UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs attestation and, if requested, Arabic translation; our document attestation service handles that chain.
Activity-specific and compliance documents
- Business plan: not required for every activity. When it is, RAKEZ has no set format but expects a description of activities, market, supply chain, management and staffing, and a brief financial forecast.
- DNFBP form signed by all shareholders for designated non-financial businesses.
- Outside approvals (for example Ministry of Health and Prevention for clinics).
- Beneficial owner declaration under Cabinet Decision No. 109 of 2023 and RAKEZ’s own beneficial ownership regulations.
- For the freelancer permit: passport copy, portfolio or qualification certificate, and a sponsor’s no objection certificate if you keep another visa.
RAKEZ license cost: what RAKEZ actually publishes
Unlike many zones, the RAKEZ free zone prints package prices, not an itemised fee schedule, each with “T&C apply”. The table shows every RAKEZ license cost figure we found on rakez.com on 26 September 2026.
| Package or fee | Published price | What RAKEZ says it includes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instant licence, Basic | AED 6,000 | Online licence in about five minutes; passport and, for residents, visa or Emirates ID | rakez.com instant licence page |
| Instant licence, Lite | AED 12,000 | As above, higher tier (contents not itemised on the page) | rakez.com instant licence page |
| Biz Starter package | AED 6,000 | For UAE-based founders; up to 50 shareholders, up to 10 activities, coworking membership, 24-hour setup | rakez.com Biz Starter page |
| All-inclusive business setup | AED 14,000 | Licence and one UAE residence visa, same renewal price guaranteed, 10 activities, 50 shareholders, coworking, 20% off dependant visas | rakez.com SME business setup page |
| Additional visas on the all-inclusive package | AED 4,000 each, up to 3 | Additional residence visas | rakez.com SME business setup page |
| All-inclusive upgrade | AED 2,500 | VIP visa support, banking assistance, corporate tax registration and filing and other services | rakez.com SME business setup page |
| E-commerce package | From AED 6,000 | Coworking, Amazon seller onboarding and training access | rakez.com e-commerce page |
| Businesswomen package | From AED 6,000 | Up to 5 shareholders and 5 activities, coworking | rakez.com businesswomen page |
| Designated zone package | From AED 16,550 a year | Licence in a designated zone with one UAE residence visa; “50% cashback in the second year” (limited-time offer) | rakez.com designated zone page; RAKEZ flyer |
| Freelancer permit | From AED 6,100 | Permit, business centre access, residence visa eligibility; one- and two-year packages | rakez.com freelancer permit page |
| E-Channel registration | AED 2,200 once, plus AED 5,050 refundable deposit; AED 1,200 a year to renew | Registration of the immigration file on the federal E-Channel system | rakez.com FAQ |
| Visa security deposit | AED 2,000 per non-GCC sponsored employee (RAKEZ may increase) | Refundable deposit held by RAKEZ | Operating Rules 2023, Rule 14.4 |
| Bank account opening assistance | AED 2,749 | Offered by an independent corporate service provider through RAKEZ, with a money-back promise if the account is not opened | rakez.com bank account page |
| Late licence renewal | AED 50 per day | Penalty | rakez.com FAQ |
| Late audited accounts | AED 2,500 | Fine for missing the six-month deadline | rakez.com FAQ |
What the package prices usually leave out
Ask for each of these on your quotation:
- ICP, medical, Emirates ID, health insurance and Workers Protection Insurance costs per visa (bundled for one visa only in the all-inclusive package).
- E-Channel registration, deposits and any higher share capital.
- Attestation, translation and outside approvals.
- Rent for offices, warehouses and land, payable for the full lease term upfront, plus fit-out and permits.
- Year-two renewal; only the all-inclusive package guarantees the same renewal price.
First, whether the price is per year or for a multi-year term, because RAKEZ sells three-year licences at a discount. Second, whether the visa count on the quotation matches the facility, because a flexi desk carries one visa only. If a package promises more visas than the facility supports, ask RAKEZ to confirm in writing.
Industrial and general trading licences, standard offices and land rent are quoted per project; we have not invented figures for them.
RAKEZ free zone facilities: offices, warehouses, industrial land and the RAKEZ visa each carries
Every RAKEZ company must lease a facility, and the facility sets your RAKEZ visa ceiling. RAKEZ publishes RAKEZ visa numbers only for the smallest spaces; for larger ones the company is “eligible to apply” and the number is agreed against space and business plan.
| Facility | Size and terms (RAKEZ) | Licences allowed | RAKEZ visa allocation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coworking or flexi desk (Compass Coworking Centre and business centres) | Shared workstation; used by most starter packages | Starter packages: commercial, services, media, e-commerce, education consultancy, general trading | One visa (FAQ: “flexi desks are limited to one visa only”) |
| Serviced office | Dedicated desk in an enclosed shared office, minimum 3 square metres per desk; leases of 1 to 5 years; rent for the full term paid upfront | Commercial, services, educational, e-commerce, general trading, individual/professional, media, professional | One desk up to 2 visas; two desks up to 4; maximum 4 per company |
| Standard office | Private small to medium office; one-year renewable lease; a year’s rent upfront | Commercial, services, general trading | “Eligibility to apply” (number not published) |
| Executive office | Private unfurnished office of 12 to 20 square metres | Commercial, services, general trading | Not published |
| Shell and core office | Undeveloped office of 120 to 170 square metres, fit-out with RAKEZ approval | Commercial, services, general trading | Not published |
| Warehouse | From 150 square metres (to 10,000 in Al Hamra; larger in Al Hulaila), office inside, loading area | All licence types | Not published |
| Land for development | From 2,500 square metres (zone pages say 5,000 for Al Ghail and Al Hamra); build to your design with RAKEZ approval; a year’s rent upfront or three years or more | Commercial, industrial, general trading | Visas for investors, partners, managers, staff and labourers (number not published) |
| Staff and labour accommodation | Male workforce only; labour rooms of 12 to 32 square metres for 4 or 8 people; staff studios for 2 or 3 | For industrial tenants | Housing, not a visa basis |
Two rules are easy to miss: downgrading to a flexi desk forces you to cancel every RAKEZ visa above one, and a company licensed in Dubai or another free zone cannot rent RAKEZ space without a RAKEZ licence, usually as a branch.
The six RAKEZ zones and what each is for
| Zone | Purpose | Entity options | Designated zone (VAT) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Al Nakheel Business Zone | Business centres, flexi desks and offices for start-ups, SMEs and freelancers | Free zone | No |
| Al Hamra Business Zone | Flexi desks and offices near Al Hamra, with a media focus | Free zone | No |
| RAKEZ Academic Zone | Offices, pre-built buildings and land for education providers | Free zone | No |
| Al Hamra Industrial Zone | Light to heavy industry, warehouses, offices, land | Free zone and non-free zone | Yes |
| Al Ghail Industrial Zone | Large-scale manufacturing on land, close to Etihad Rail | Free zone and non-free zone | Yes |
| Al Hulaila Industrial Zone | Heavy industry near Saqr Port | Free zone only | Yes |
RAKEZ’s own pages are inconsistent on the count: the zones page says “six dedicated zones”, while the about page shows “5 Zones”. The six above are the ones RAKEZ lists by name. The designated zone column follows the Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 list as published in secondary copies, because the FTA page could not be read on 26 September 2026; see the tax section.
Industrial land: what a land project involves
RAKEZ land is a development project: a land lease or musataha, design, development permit, HS&E approvals for contractor and consultant, construction under RAKEZ’s construction regulations, then the Operation Fitness Certificate, with operations expected within 18 months. RAKEZ promotes 24/7 government-supplied power, gas and water in its industrial zones.
RAKEZ visa and residency: how the RAKEZ visa process works
Here the RAKEZ free zone differs most from Dubai zones. RAKEZ is the legal sponsor of every RAKEZ visa, and applications run through the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security (ICP), which issues Ras Al Khaimah residence; the file number begins with 6. Our ICP vs GDRFA guide explains why that matters.
The immigration file and E-Channel
Before any RAKEZ visa, the company needs an immigration file on the federal E-Channel system, registered by RAKEZ for AED 2,200 plus a refundable AED 5,050 deposit and renewed at AED 1,200 a year (FAQ). Credentials go to RAKEZ as sponsor, so you file through RAKEZ’s portal.
RAKEZ visa steps and times
- Entry permit (e-visa), applied for through the RAKEZ portal. If the applicant already holds a UAE residence visa, it must be cancelled before the new entry permit is issued. An unused entry permit can be extended once for 60 days if at least four days remain.
- Entry or status change inside the UAE.
- Medical fitness test for applicants aged 18 and over, at the RAKEZ Medical Fitness Centre or, on the VIP package, in Dubai.
- Emirates ID biometrics for first-time residents aged 15 and over. On the standard package this is done in Ras Al Khaimah; biometrics in Dubai (Smart Salem or Al Baraha) are only on the VIP package.
- Health insurance from an ICP-approved insurer and Workers Protection Insurance, which RAKEZ adds automatically to new and renewal visa requests.
- Residence visa and Emirates ID, with optional Emirates ID delivery in 2 to 4 working days after the residence stage.
RAKEZ publishes one time only: its VIP new visa package is completed “in less than four days”. It does not publish a standard turnaround.
Investor, partner, manager and employee visas
- A single-shareholder company gets an investor visa; with more than one shareholder, each shareholder takes a partner visa (RAKEZ FAQ).
- Shareholders are not obliged to take a RAKEZ visa and can stay on another sponsor’s visa.
- Shareholder visas are generally issued for two years with no upper age limit. Employee visas are for two years, except employees aged 59 and over, whose visas and Emirates IDs run for one year.
- A manager applying for a manager visa does not need a degree certificate; other job titles may need an attested degree.
Family, re-entry and Golden Visa
Residents sponsor spouses and children through the RAKEZ portal. After more than six months abroad, with over 30 days left on the visa, an ICP entry approval is needed before travel. Shareholders who meet the federal thresholds can also apply for the UAE Golden Visa in the investor or entrepreneur categories; RAKEZ has a Golden Visa service page, and our Golden investor visa service covers the criteria. For the medical and ID steps, see our medical fitness test and Emirates ID typing services.
Living in Dubai on a RAKEZ visa is legal, though a Ras Al Khaimah file occasionally adds a step with Dubai services.
Opening a bank account for a RAKEZ free zone company
Banks treat a RAKEZ free zone company like any other: expect to provide incorporation documents, share register, shareholder passports and CVs, six months of personal bank statements, the main signatory’s Emirates ID and visa, a company profile and the lease. A flexi-desk company with no resident signatory and no trading history is the hardest profile to bank.
RAKEZ offers bank account opening assistance for AED 2,749 through an independent service provider, with a money-back promise if the account is not opened. Our guide to the corporate bank account in the UAE explains what banks look for, and our company formation support includes preparing the bank pack.
RAKEZ free zone tax: corporate tax, VAT and customs
Corporate tax
Every RAKEZ company is within UAE corporate tax: 0% up to AED 375,000 of taxable income, 9% above. A RAKEZ free zone entity can pay 0% on qualifying income as a Qualifying Free Zone Person (Cabinet Decision No. 100 of 2023) if it:
- keeps adequate substance in the free zone;
- earns qualifying income from activities in Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 (which replaced Ministerial Decision No. 265 of 2023, effective from 1 June 2023);
- keeps non-qualifying revenue within the de minimis limit (the lower of AED 5 million or 5% of revenue);
- has audited accounts, meets transfer pricing rules and has not elected the standard rates.
A non-free zone entity is a mainland company and cannot be a Qualifying Free Zone Person. Small Business Relief is available to eligible businesses for periods ending on or before 31 December 2029, but not to Qualifying Free Zone Persons. Registration is due within three months of incorporation for new companies (FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024), and missing it carries an AED 10,000 penalty. Our corporate tax registration guide walks through the portal.
RAKEZ’s designated zone page promises “a guaranteed 0% tax rate”. Its own flyer is more careful: corporate tax applies, and 0% covers qualifying income from qualifying activities, such as distribution of goods from a designated zone or logistics, when the other conditions are met. Nothing guarantees 0% on all your income. Service income to mainland clients, for example, is usually taxed at 9% above the threshold. Get tax advice before you rely on the rate.
VAT and designated zones
VAT registration is mandatory above AED 375,000 of taxable supplies. In a designated zone, certain supplies of goods within or between designated zones can fall outside UAE VAT; services and goods sold into the mainland are taxed normally.
The Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 list, in secondary copies read on 26 September 2026, names six Ras Al Khaimah designated zones: RAK Port Free Zone, RAK Maritime City Free Zone, RAK Airport Free Zone and the free zone parts of Al Hamra, Al Ghail and Al Hulaila industrial zones. RAKEZ’s flyer says “three districts” are designated, matching the industrial zones. The FTA page could not be read automatically, so check the current FTA list before relying on it.
Customs
A free zone entity that imports or exports goods needs a customs code from the Ras Al Khaimah customs department and a customs representative card for the person who deals with customs (Operating Rules, Rule 16). Goods leaving the free zone for the UAE mainland are imported at that point and attract customs duty. RAKEZ markets its non-free zone entity as having “no customs duty on sales in local and GCC markets” for goods it makes; that treatment depends on GCC rules of origin for national products, so confirm eligibility with customs before you price.
Trading with the mainland from the RAKEZ free zone
A RAKEZ free zone licence is “valid only in the Free Zone Area” (Rule 9.2); the entity may sell outside only “through an agent, representative, distributor or its parent company” (Rule 13.4) and may not retail inside the zone. Four routes to UAE customers remain:
- Sell through a licensed mainland distributor or agent. The simplest route for goods. The distributor imports, pays duty and sells.
- Use a non-free zone entity from the start. Licensed by RAKEZ and RAK DED, it can trade directly on the Ras Al Khaimah mainland, but it gives up the free zone corporate tax regime and designated zone status.
- Add a branch. RAKEZ advertises a dual licence, which combines a free zone licence with a branch licence of the free zone company, so the same business can operate on the mainland. The FAQ’s older statement that a mainland branch needs 51% Emirati capital conflicts with current federal law; confirm the conditions for your activity.
- Take a licence in the emirate where your customers are. Dubai’s Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025, with the DET branch licence and the Free Zone Mainland Operating Permit, was written for companies in Dubai’s own free zones. A RAKEZ company that wants to work directly in Dubai should ask Dubai’s Department of Economy and Tourism which licence applies to a free zone company from another emirate.
The restriction covers services too. If your clients and team are in Dubai, a Dubai licence may fit better; see our Dubai mainland company formation guide.
RAKEZ free zone renewal and ongoing compliance
| Obligation | RAKEZ rule or deadline | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Licence renewal | Apply no later than 30 days before expiry; RAKEZ emails the renewal quotation about 60 days before | Operating Rules, Rule 9.7; FAQ |
| Late renewal | AED 50 per day; a licence unrenewed for six months can lead to strike-off | FAQ |
| Lease | Rent for the full term paid at registration or renewal; a valid lease is needed to renew | Facility pages; Rule 9.7 |
| Operation Fitness Certificate | Needed before occupying warehouses and buildings on land, and to renew; not needed for coworking or business centres | FAQ; Rule 9.7 |
| Audited financial statements | Every company, by a RAKEZ-approved auditor, within six months of the financial year end; fine AED 2,500 if late | FAQ; Companies Regulations, Article 76 |
| Accounting records | Kept for at least five years | Companies Regulations, Article 74 |
| Beneficial owner register | Kept and filed with RAKEZ; changes reported promptly | Cabinet Decision No. 109 of 2023; RAKEZ beneficial ownership regulations |
| E-Channel | Annual renewal AED 1,200 | FAQ |
| Visas | Renewed through RAKEZ before expiry; ICP overstay fines apply after the grace period | RAKEZ visa advisory; ICP |
| Corporate tax and VAT | Annual corporate tax return within nine months of year end; VAT returns as assigned | FTA |
Operating Rules penalties include AED 5,000 for an unlicensed activity, AED 5,000 per unauthorised employee and AED 7,500 for unlawful non-sponsored employment. Name changes, capital reductions, change of legal form and deregistration must be published, electronically since Implementing Regulations No. 1 of 2026. A struck-off company can seek restoration within two years. See our UBO register guide for beneficial owner rules.
RAKEZ free zone: pros and cons
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Published starter prices from about AED 6,000 and an AED 14,000 package with one visa | Flexi-desk packages carry one visa; growth means a real office or warehouse |
| Free zone and non-free zone entities under one authority | Free zone entities cannot sell directly on the mainland or retail |
| Industrial land from 2,500 square metres, warehouses from 150, on-site labour housing | Rent for the full lease term is usually payable upfront |
| Three industrial zones on the VAT designated zones list | Business zones are not designated zones |
| Instant online licence and fully digital portal | Some RAKEZ pages are out of date (tax statements, 51% rule, regulation years) |
| Near Saqr Port, RAK airport and Etihad Rail; lower living costs than Dubai | About an hour from Dubai; clients may prefer a Dubai address |
Who RAKEZ suits
- Manufacturers and industrial firms needing land, heavy power or on-site labour accommodation.
- Traders and distributors holding stock who want designated zone status in an industrial zone.
- Founders who want the lowest published price for a licence plus one visa.
- Businesses that may later need a Ras Al Khaimah mainland entity without changing authority.
- Education providers using the RAKEZ Academic Zone.
Who should look elsewhere
- Regulated finance, crypto or virtual asset businesses: look at RAK Innovation City (with the Capital Market Authority), ADGM or DIFC.
- Maritime and ship services needing a quayside base: compare RAK Maritime City free zone.
- Consultancies whose clients and team are in Dubai: compare IFZA or a Dubai mainland licence.
- Container-heavy importers wanting Jebel Ali: compare JAFZA; for Sharjah’s airport and port zones, see SAIF Zone and Hamriyah Free Zone.
RAKEZ company setup: worked cases
These cases are built from the situations we see most often. Names and identifying details are left out, and the figures are the published ones.
Case 1: a solo consultant abroad who needs one visa
A marketing consultant abroad wants a company and residence. The instant licence (AED 6,000) has no visa; the all-inclusive package (AED 14,000) includes one RAKEZ visa on a coworking desk with a fixed renewal price. The trap: selling products too is a commercial activity and, outside package terms, a second licence. We check activities against the package before payment.
Case 2: a building materials distributor holding stock
A trader imports tiles for Gulf contractors. A warehouse of about 300 square metres in Al Hamra Industrial Zone gives storage, an office, visas for a small team and designated zone status. Mainland sales go through a distributor or a mainland entity, and 0% corporate tax depends on qualifying as distribution under Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025. We map the flows before the lease is signed.
Case 3: a manufacturer choosing between free zone and non-free zone
A food processor needs a 10,000 square metre plot, a factory and housing for 60 workers, with most sales to UAE supermarkets. In Al Ghail it can choose either entity: free zone keeps a possible 0% on qualifying income but sells through distributors; non-free zone sells directly but is taxed as a mainland company, and needs written confirmation on foreign ownership. We lay both out on one page with the client’s tax adviser.
Case 4: a video editor on a freelancer permit
A video editor on a spouse’s visa wants to invoice legally. The RAKEZ freelancer permit (from AED 6,100) covers listed media professions; without a RAKEZ visa, the sponsor’s no objection certificate is needed. The freelancer is personally liable and cannot open a corporate bank account, so an FZ-LLC is better if staff or a business account are planned.
Case 5: a Dubai company adding a Ras Al Khaimah warehouse
A Dubai mainland trader wants a cheaper Ras Al Khaimah warehouse. RAKEZ will not lease to a Dubai licence alone, so it registers a branch of a UAE company in the RAKEZ free zone: no share capital, the parent’s name and activities, and its own RAKEZ visa file for warehouse staff. Board resolution, parent documents and a good standing letter are the core of the file.
What circulates online about RAKEZ that is not true
| Claim | What the sources say |
|---|---|
| “RAKEZ companies pay no corporate tax.” | Wrong since June 2023. Corporate tax applies; 0% is available only on qualifying income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person. RAKEZ’s legal entities page still says “zero income and corporate taxation”, which is out of date. |
| “A RAKEZ licence lets you work anywhere in the UAE.” | A free zone licence is valid only in the RAKEZ free zone area (Operating Rules, Rule 9.2). Mainland sales go through a distributor, a branch or a non-free zone entity. |
| “RAKEZ is an offshore company.” | No. Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone is a free zone and licensing authority with physical facilities, offices and visa sponsorship. |
| “RAKEZ visas are Dubai visas.” | RAKEZ visas are Ras Al Khaimah residence visas filed through ICP, with RAKEZ as sponsor. You can live in Dubai, but the file is not a GDRFA file. |
| “The whole of RAKEZ is a designated zone.” | Only the three industrial zones appear on the designated zones list; the business zones do not. |
| “No audit is needed for small RAKEZ companies.” | RAKEZ requires audited financial statements from every company, by an approved auditor, within six months of the year end. |
| “The AED 6,000 package is the total cost.” | That price covers the licence package. Visas, insurance, deposits, attestation, outside approvals and renewal are extra unless the package says otherwise. |
How to verify every figure in this guide
| Figure or rule | Where to check it |
|---|---|
| Package prices (AED 6,000, 12,000, 14,000, 16,550, 6,100) | rakez.com offers and promotion pages; your RAKEZ quotation |
| Licence categories, validity, lease deadlines, penalties | RAKEZ Operating Rules 2023 (rules and regulations page) |
| Legal forms, shareholders, officers, audit | RAKEZ Companies Regulations 2023 |
| Minimum capital by activity, activity limits, E-Channel fees, late renewal | rakez.com FAQ |
| Visa allocation by facility | rakez.com facility pages and FAQ; your lease offer |
| Visa steps, validity, VIP time | rakez.com visa advisory; ICP service cards |
| Designated zones | Federal Tax Authority designated zones list (Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 as amended) |
| Qualifying Free Zone Person rules | Cabinet Decision No. 100 of 2023; Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 (Ministry of Finance) |
| Foreign ownership of a non-free zone entity | Federal Decree-Law No. 32 of 2021; RAK DED; written confirmation from RAKEZ |
RAKEZ company setup: how MIRDXB PRO helps
MIRDXB PRO is an independent PRO and company formation consultancy in Al Barsha 1, Dubai. We are not RAKEZ, not a RAKEZ agent or official partner, and RAKEZ does not list us. What we offer is an adviser on your side who checks the plan against RAKEZ’s rules, prepares the file and runs the government steps.
What we do
- Decide with you between a free zone and a non-free zone entity, and get RAKEZ’s written position on ownership where it matters.
- Check your activities against the RAKEZ list and licence limits, and flag outside approvals.
- Match the facility to your visa count, stock and growth plan, from flexi desk to industrial land.
- Prepare documents and run notarisation, attestation and translation for corporate shareholders.
- Follow the application, licence, E-Channel registration and ICP visas through to Emirates ID.
- Prepare the bank pack, and register the company for corporate tax and, where needed, VAT.
- Keep renewals, audits, beneficial owner filings and visa renewals on a calendar after setup.
How it works
- Message us on WhatsApp with your activity, shareholders, visa count and space needs.
- We reply in writing with the recommended RAKEZ route, the items to request on the quotation and our own fee.
- You approve, we collect documents, file with RAKEZ and update you at each step.
- After the licence, we run visas, the bank pack and tax registration, then hand over a compliance calendar.
What it costs
RAKEZ, ICP and other government fees are passed on at cost, with receipts. Our own fee depends on the entity, documents and visas, and we quote it in writing before any work starts. See our fees page for how we price.
Why founders use us
- We cite the official source for every rule we rely on, as this guide does, and we point out where RAKEZ’s own pages conflict.
- We compare RAKEZ with the other Ras Al Khaimah authorities and with Dubai and Sharjah zones, and tell you when you do not need RAKEZ.
- We handle the government side too: visas, Emirates ID, medical tests, attestation and tax registration.
- Our Al Barsha 1 office is open Monday to Thursday and Saturday 09:00 to 18:00, and Friday 09:00 to 12:00.
To start, see our business setup service or message us directly.
What we will and will not do
- We will give you the official source for any rule we rely on, and show you RAKEZ’s quotation and receipts.
- We will tell you if Innovation City, another emirate’s zone or the mainland fits your plan better.
- We will quote our fee in writing before we start.
- We will not promise approval, a bank account or a processing time that RAKEZ, ICP, a regulator or a bank controls.
- We will not present ourselves as RAKEZ or as a RAKEZ partner or agent.
- We will not give tax or legal opinions; for corporate tax structuring we work alongside your tax adviser or auditor.
Related guides
- Ras Al Khaimah free zones, the emirate overview
- RAK Maritime City free zone
- RAK Innovation City free zone
- SAIF Zone company setup
- Ajman Free Zone company setup
- IFZA company setup
- Free zones in the UAE
- Free zone vs mainland
- Establishment card explained
RAKEZ company setup: frequently asked questions
What is the difference between a RAKEZ free zone and non-free zone company?
A RAKEZ free zone entity is licensed only by RAKEZ, can be fully foreign-owned and operates only inside the free zone, selling to the UAE market through distributors. A non-free zone entity also holds a RAK Department of Economic Development licence and trades directly on the Ras Al Khaimah mainland, but is taxed as a mainland company. Confirm ownership rules in writing, because RAKEZ’s FAQ still mentions a 51% UAE partner.
What is the RAKEZ license cost for company setup?
RAKEZ publishes package prices: instant licence AED 6,000 (Basic) or AED 12,000 (Lite), Biz Starter AED 6,000, an all-inclusive package with one residence visa at AED 14,000, a designated zone package from AED 16,550 a year and a freelancer permit from AED 6,100. Visas, insurance, deposits, attestation, larger facilities and renewals are usually extra.
How long does RAKEZ company setup take?
RAKEZ says its instant licence issues online in about five minutes and its Biz Starter package in 24 hours. For other licences it says “only a matter of days” without a fixed time; u.ae says free zone approvals generally take up to 14 working days. Pre-approvals, attested documents, outside approvals, visas and the bank usually take longer than the licence.
RAKEZ visa allocation: how many visas can a company get?
It depends on the facility. A flexi desk carries one visa. A serviced office carries up to two per desk and four in total. For larger offices, warehouses and land, RAKEZ says the company is eligible for visas and agrees the number against space and business plan. The all-inclusive package allows up to three extra visas at AED 4,000 each.
Who issues a RAKEZ visa, GDRFA or ICP?
A RAKEZ visa is a Ras Al Khaimah residence visa processed on the federal ICP system, with RAKEZ as sponsor filing through its portal after the company is registered on E-Channel. You can live in Dubai on it, but it is not a Dubai GDRFA file, and the residence file number starts with 6.
What is the minimum share capital for a RAKEZ FZ-LLC?
The RAKEZ FAQ gives AED 10,000, in shares of AED 1,000, as the general minimum. Some activities need more, for example AED 150,000 for industrial, AED 500,000 for aviation and real estate brokerage, and AED 1,000,000 for real estate development and broadcasting. A branch needs no share capital.
Can a RAKEZ free zone company sell in Dubai or elsewhere in the UAE?
Not directly. The Operating Rules say a free zone licence is valid only in the free zone area and that sales outside go through an agent, distributor, representative or the parent company. To sell directly, use a RAKEZ non-free zone entity for Ras Al Khaimah, a branch, or a licence in the emirate where your customers are.
Is the RAKEZ free zone a designated zone for VAT?
Partly. The Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 list, as reproduced in secondary copies, includes the free zone parts of Al Hamra, Al Ghail and Al Hulaila industrial zones, and RAKEZ says three of its districts are designated. The business zones used by coworking and starter packages are not on the list. Check the current FTA list.
Do RAKEZ free zone companies pay corporate tax?
Yes. A Qualifying Free Zone Person pays 0% on qualifying income and 9% on other taxable income above AED 375,000, and needs substance, audited accounts and to stay within the de minimis limit. A non-free zone entity is taxed as a mainland company. RAKEZ pages promising “zero” or “guaranteed 0%” tax are marketing, not the law.
Can I lease industrial land in RAKEZ?
Yes. Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone leases land from 2,500 square metres for industrial, logistics and service projects. You build to your design with RAKEZ approval, need development permits and HS&E clearance, and must obtain an Operation Fitness Certificate before occupying the building, with operations expected within 18 months.
What is the RAKEZ freelancer permit?
A permit for listed media and education professionals, from AED 6,100, to work as a sole practitioner in your own name with business centre access and residence visa eligibility. If you keep another sponsor’s visa you need their no objection certificate. Freelancers are personally liable and cannot open a corporate bank account.
Does a RAKEZ company need audited accounts?
Yes. Every company must file audited financial statements by a RAKEZ-approved auditor within six months of its January to December financial year end, or pay an AED 2,500 fine. The first financial year can run from 6 to 18 months, and audited accounts are not needed at licence renewal.
Can MIRDXB PRO handle my RAKEZ company setup from Dubai?
Yes. We are an independent consultancy in Al Barsha 1, Dubai, not a RAKEZ agent. We choose the entity and facility with you, prepare and attest documents, file with RAKEZ, run the ICP visa steps, prepare the bank pack and register for tax. RAKEZ and government fees are passed on at cost, and our fee is quoted in writing first.
How much does MIRDXB PRO charge for RAKEZ company setup?
Our fee depends on the entity, document attestation, the number of visas and whether you need a warehouse or land, so we do not publish one price. Send us your plan and we reply with the RAKEZ items you will pay and our own fee, in writing, before any work starts.
Keeping your RAKEZ licence, lease, audit, visas and beneficial owner filings renewed on time is what our PRO services in Dubai team handles, including for companies licensed in Ras Al Khaimah. For visa-only work on free zone companies, see our free zone visa service.
- RAKEZ Companies Regulations 2023 (Articles 2, 9, 12, 22, 32, 49, 56, 57, 74, 76, 80)
- RAKEZ Operating Rules 2023 (Rules 3, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16, 25)
- RAKEZ: Rules and regulations (regulations, UBO, violations, HS&E, Implementing Regulations No. 1 of 2026)
- RAKEZ: FAQs (entities, capital, activities, visas, E-Channel, audit, renewals)
- RAKEZ: Business types and legal entities
- RAKEZ: Licence types and activity list downloads
- RAKEZ: Getting started (setup steps)
- RAKEZ: Zones and facilities pages
- RAKEZ: Offers (instant licence, all-inclusive, Biz Starter, designated zone, e-commerce, businesswomen)
- RAKEZ: Freelancer permit
- RAKEZ: Designated zone flyer (August 2024)
- RAKEZ: Visa advisory and FAQs
- RAKEZ news: 50,000 companies, 20 August 2026
- RAKEZ news: ZAKH facility in Al Ghail, 14 September 2026
- u.ae: Starting a business in a free zone
- ICP: Frequently asked questions
- Ministry of Finance: Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 on qualifying and excluded activities
- UAE Legislation: Cabinet Decision No. 100 of 2023 on Qualifying Free Zone Persons
- Federal Tax Authority: Designated zones (Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 as amended)
Also relied on, as established across our business setup series: Federal Decree-Law No. 32 of 2021 on Commercial Companies; FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024; Cabinet Decision No. 109 of 2023; Federal Decree-Law No. 10 of 2025. Secondary source, labelled in the text: a published copy of the Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 designated zones list (bcl.ae, read 26 September 2026), used because the FTA page could not be read automatically.
This guide was last reviewed on 26 September 2026 against the sources above. RAKEZ changes its packages and offers often; your RAKEZ quotation and portal are final.
Please note. The rules, prices and allocations in this guide come from the RAKEZ Companies Regulations and Operating Rules 2023, rakez.com, u.ae, ICP, the Ministry of Finance and the Federal Tax Authority, verified 26 September 2026. MIRDXB PRO is an independent consultancy and is not affiliated with, or an official partner or agent of, Ras Al Khaimah Economic Zone. The cases are built from common situations and are illustrative. This guide is general information and not legal or tax advice.




