Key takeaways
- Sharjah Publishing City free zone (SPC Free Zone) is a government free zone owned by the Sharjah Book Authority, set up in 2017 and described as the world’s first free zone dedicated to publishing.
- It is no longer only for publishers. SPC Free Zone licenses 2,000+ activities, from e-commerce and trading to consultancy, alongside printing and publishing.
- Legal forms: FZE (one shareholder), FZC (two or more shareholders) and branches of UAE or foreign companies. Up to 5 activities go on one licence.
- Published package prices: AED 4,999 for the E-Publishing licence, AED 5,750 for the publishing and e-commerce tier and AED 6,875 for the standard licence, before visas. SPC Free Zone’s own breakdown puts one investor visa at AED 7,415 on top in year one.
- SPC free zone visas run through ICP on a Sharjah file. SPC Free Zone advertises unlimited visas on a flexi-desk, but one of its articles ties allocation to facility size: get your quota in writing.
- Publishers need federal media permits on top of the SPC free zone licence: the National Media Authority reviews books before local printing (AED 200, 5 working days) and before circulation in the UAE.
- Not a designated zone for VAT. SPC Free Zone advertises a “dual licence” with the Sharjah mainland but publishes no rules for it.
Sharjah Publishing City free zone is a Sharjah government free zone, run as a subsidiary of the Sharjah Book Authority and established in 2017, where companies can be 100% foreign-owned and licensed for publishing, printing, media, e-commerce, trading and service activities. It sits on Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Road (E311) in Al Zahia, Sharjah, and is best known as the world’s first free zone built around the book and print industry, next to the organiser of the Sharjah International Book Fair.
This guide covers Sharjah Publishing City free zone setup from activities to renewal: legal forms, licence tiers, the media permits publishers need, documents, every published fee, visas, banking, tax and mainland access. We checked SPC Free Zone’s website, the Sharjah Book Authority and the National Media Authority on 26 September 2026. Where SPC Free Zone’s own pages contradict each other, we show both figures.
Still comparing emirates? Start with our Sharjah free zones guide and the overview of free zones in the UAE. Many founders look at SPC Free Zone while planning business setup in Dubai, because Sharjah prices are lower; the trade-off is the address, the visa file and where you may operate.
Sharjah Publishing City free zone at a glance
| Point | Sharjah Publishing City Free Zone (SPC Free Zone) |
|---|---|
| Licensing authority | Sharjah Publishing City Free Zone, a subsidiary of the Sharjah Book Authority (Government of Sharjah); acts as company registrar and supervisory authority for UBO and AML inspections |
| Legal basis | Established in 2017 by decree of the Ruler of Sharjah (SPC says “Royal Decree”); the decree number and the zone’s company regulations are not published on spcfz.ae. The Sharjah Book Authority itself was founded by Royal Decree in 2014. |
| Location | Al Zahia area, Entrance No. 2, Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Road (E311), Sharjah; SPC gives about 7 minutes to Sharjah International Airport and 15 minutes to Dubai International Airport |
| Size | 65,000 square metres (Sharjah Book Authority) |
| Best for | Publishers, printers, e-book and audiobook producers, book distributors, translators, low-cost e-commerce, consultancy and general trading on a flexi-desk |
| Legal forms | FZE (single shareholder), FZC (two or more shareholders), branch of a UAE or foreign company |
| Licence tiers | E-Publishing (AED 4,999), publishing and e-commerce (AED 5,750), standard for professional, commercial and general trading (AED 6,875) |
| Activities | 2,000+ activities; up to 5 per licence (one FAQ answer says “typically up to ten”) |
| Official setup time | Licence “instantly”, in 45 minutes or within 24 hours on eligible packages, depending on the SPC page; u.ae’s general statement for free zones is approval within 14 working days |
| Visa allocation basis | SPC advertises unlimited visas on a flexi-desk, paid per visa (AED 1,600 allocation); one SPC article says allocation depends on facility size |
| Office options | Flexi-desk or co-working lease (included), furnished and unfurnished offices, retail, shell and core, storage and warehouses |
| VAT designated zone | No: the FTA’s list under Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017, as amended, names only Hamriyah Free Zone and Sharjah Airport International Free Zone for Sharjah |
| Mainland trading | Sell to UAE clients from the zone; SPC advertises a Sharjah “dual licence” but publishes no terms; otherwise a Sharjah Economic Development Department licence or a distributor |
| Contact | spcfz.ae; 800 SPCFZ (77239) |
What Sharjah Publishing City is known for
Sharjah Publishing City opened in 2017 as a publishing project of the Sharjah Book Authority, the government body that runs the Sharjah International Book Fair, the Sharjah Children’s Reading Festival and Sharjah’s public libraries. The Sharjah Book Authority describes SPC as “first of its kind in the world” and a 65,000 square metre hub with offices, IT infrastructure and support services for the publishing industry.
Its identity now has two layers: the original printing, publishing and distribution base next to the book fair, and a low-cost, instant business licence for founders in any sector. SPC Free Zone says more than 20,000 companies are registered with it (June 2026), and most are clearly not publishers.
The publishing ecosystem SPC promotes
- Sharjah International Book Fair: SPC’s parent runs it. SPC cites the 44th edition (November 2025) at 1.4 million visitors and more than 2,350 publishers and exhibitors from 118 countries; treat these as SPC’s figures.
- Print on demand: a joint venture between Lightning Source and the Sharjah Book Authority operates a Lightning Source print-on-demand facility at SPC, which SPC says supplies more than 40,000 libraries worldwide through Lightning Source’s network.
- Emirates Publishers Association: SPC notes that EPA membership normally requires an Emirati owner with at least 51% of the shares, but that “a publisher licensed with SPCFZ can register as a member, regardless of the business owner’s nationality”. That is one of the few publisher benefits you cannot get in a general free zone.
- Publisher incentive: in 2025 SPC announced incentives worth AED 3 million for publishers, including a 90% discount on licensing and establishment fees, with new entrants expected to publish at least five new titles within 12 months. SPC called it a limited-time offer; ask whether it is still open before you rely on it.
Its closest rival is Shams free zone (Sharjah Media City), which matches SPC Free Zone on price and speed but is built for media freelancers and content creators. SPC Free Zone’s edge is the book industry: the fair, print on demand, warehouses and the EPA membership route. We compare other options in “Who should look elsewhere” below.
Sharjah Publishing City free zone company setup: how MIRDXB PRO helps
SPC sells its licence directly and runs its own add-on services, so you do not need a consultant to buy a licence. Founders come to us for the parts SPC’s sales process does not cover: choosing the right zone in the first place, the media permits, attestation, family visas, tax and the full cost across three years.
What we do
- Zone and tier check: whether SPC, Shams, a Dubai zone or a mainland licence fits your activities and clients, and which SPC tier covers your activities.
- Activities and approvals: we map each activity to SPC’s list and flag which ones carry third-party approvals.
- Publishing permits: National Media Authority printing, circulation and port-entry permits for books and printed material.
- Documents and attestation: board resolutions, parent company papers, UBO declarations and the legalisation chain for foreign documents.
- Visas and family: establishment card, E-Channel, investor and employee visas, medical, Emirates ID, spouse and children.
- Tax and compliance: corporate tax registration, VAT where needed, UBO records and renewal reminders.
How it works
- Message us on WhatsApp with your activities, shareholders, visa needs and where your clients are.
- We reply in writing with the route, SPC’s published fees, the permits you need and our fee.
- You approve, and we prepare and submit with you through SPC’s portal and the federal systems.
- We finish visas and filings and keep a renewal calendar for the licence, visas and permits.
What it costs
SPC, ICP, National Media Authority and other government fees are passed on at cost, on their own receipts. Our fee is quoted in writing before we start; see our fees page.
Why founders use us
- We show you where SPC Free Zone’s pages disagree, instead of quoting the lowest headline price.
- We handle ICP visa files for Sharjah and GDRFA files for Dubai, and tell you when SPC Free Zone is the wrong choice.
- We are an independent consultancy in Al Barsha 1, Dubai (Monday to Thursday and Saturday 09:00 to 18:00, Friday 09:00 to 12:00). We are not SPC Free Zone, the Sharjah Book Authority or an official SPC partner.
See our business setup service for all emirates, and our free zone visa services.
Legal forms in SPC Free Zone
SPC groups its options two ways: by who owns the company (company structure) and by the legal type printed on the licence. Both appear on its “Business Setup in Sharjah” page.
| Legal type | Owners | Liability and identity | Typical use |
|---|---|---|---|
| FZE – LLC | One shareholder: an individual or a company | Separate legal person; shareholder’s liability limited to its shares | Solo founder, or a subsidiary wholly owned by one parent |
| FZC – LLC | Two or more shareholders: individuals, companies or both | Separate legal person; limited liability | Partners, joint ventures, family businesses |
| Branch (BR) | A UAE or foreign parent company | “No separate legal identity from the parent company”; trades under the parent’s name, so the parent is liable | Publishers and distributors opening a regional office under their existing brand |
By ownership, SPC describes an individual company (owned by one natural person), a subsidiary (owned by a local or foreign company) and a branch. A subsidiary can be an FZE or an FZC; a branch cannot have outside shareholders.
Shareholders: 7 or 100?
SPC’s pay-as-you-go page and its 2026 articles say up to 100 shareholders under one licence. Its name check page and one landing page say up to 7, and the E-Publishing package allows up to 5. The numbers probably apply to different packages, but SPC does not say so. If you have more than five shareholders, confirm the limit for your package in writing before you pay.
Capital and liability
No minimum or paid-up share capital is published on spcfz.ae; SPC Free Zone’s launch article speaks of 100% ownership “with no capital share”. The memorandum still states a capital, so pick a figure banks will find credible. The zone’s company regulations are not published.
Sharjah Publishing City licence tiers and activities
SPC sells licences as packages rather than by the traditional commercial, professional and industrial labels, although its activity pages use trading, service and e-commerce groupings.
| Package or tier | Published price | Activities | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| E-Publishing licence | AED 4,999 | Up to 4 from a fixed digital publishing list (launch article); up to 5 “from all categories” (2026 article) | Up to 5 shareholders; up to 6 visa quotas at extra charge (launch article) |
| Publishing / e-commerce tier | AED 5,750 | Media, publishing and e-commerce activities, up to 5 | “Applicable for selected activities only” |
| Standard licence | AED 6,875 | The widest range: professional, commercial and general trading, up to 5 | General trading licence-only price is AED 6,875; with visas “from AED 14,300” |
| Additional activity beyond the limit | AED 2,200 | Per extra activity | From SPC’s 2026 licence guide |
There is also an older naming in SPC’s December 2025 article, which calls the AED 6,875 package the “Publishing license package” and describes a separate “Standard License Package” and an “Entrepreneur package” with Starter, Premium, Premium Pro and Elite plans, without prices. The 2026 pages instead put publishing in the AED 5,750 tier. Ask SPC which tier your publishing activities fall into; the difference is AED 1,125 a year.
The E-Publishing licence covers online activities only, such as e-books, audiobooks, online content, online sound recording and online book retail. If you print, import or sell physical books, you need print, publishing or book trading activities on the licence as well.
How to search the SPC free zone activity list
SPC’s Business Activities List page lets you filter by category, group, code and “Third Party”, and shows a price column. The third-party filter is the one to use: it shows whether an activity needs approval from another authority. SPC’s landing pages say “No third-party approvals required” and “SPC Free Zone handles third party approvals for you”, which is a service promise, not an exemption. Regulated activities still need the regulator’s approval; SPC itself warns that “certain financial or healthcare-adjacent services can take longer because they need additional external approvals”.
General trading covers wholesale across many product categories; SPC Free Zone’s own description of one general trading activity excludes “retail sales to end consumers”. Regulated goods, such as prescription medicines, still need their own approvals.
Publishing and printing permits from the National Media Authority
This is the part most SPC guides leave out. An SPC licence lets a company exist and carry on its licensed activities. Printing a book in the UAE, bringing books through a UAE port and circulating them in the UAE are separate federal permissions. Since a federal decree-law announced on 18 December 2025, these sit with the National Media Authority (NMA), which replaced the UAE Media Council, the National Media Office and WAM. Some NMA service cards still refer to “the Council” or “Emirates Media Council”.
| NMA service | What it covers | Fee | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Local Publication Printing Permit | Review of material “intended to be printed within the country”; final draft, cover and imprint pages; five printed copies with the permit and ISBN afterwards | AED 200 | 5 working days |
| Permit for Circulating Publications within the Country | Content review of books, printed or electronic, including age classification, before distribution in the UAE | “Depending on the service” | 5 working days |
| Media materials entry through the country’s ports | Releasing a shipment of books or media materials from the port; free zone companies need a trade licence “compatible with the media activities” | Not stated on the card | Not stated |
Three rules publishers should know
- Only licensed book businesses can circulate books. The NMA says government entities, private entities, associations and individuals who want to distribute books “must do so through commercial companies whose media license includes the activity of importing and distributing books, selling books, or publishing”. A self-published author usually works through such a company.
- Port release is not a sales permit. The port-entry approval “is not considered as a trading approval”; you still need the circulation permit before selling.
- Deadlines cancel applications. Unpaid fees after 21 working days (5 for port entry), or amendments not made within 21 working days, cancel the application.
SPC Free Zone licenses the company; the NMA reviews content. Choose activities that match the NMA’s wording (publishing, printing, importing and distributing books, selling books). People promoting your books on social media need the NMA advertiser permit, free for three years and then AED 1,000.
Free zone media activity stays in the zone
Federal Decree-Law No. 55 of 2023 on media regulation, Article 6, says a media activity licensed in a free zone “must be practised within the specified geographical borders of the free zone”. Selling books online to UAE readers from your SPC company, with NMA permits, is how most SPC publishers operate. Opening a bookshop or running events in the mainland needs a mainland licence.
SPC free zone setup: step by step
- Choose activities and tier. Up to 5 activities; check the third-party column; confirm whether your activities fall in the AED 4,999, 5,750 or 6,875 tier.
- Choose the legal form. FZE, FZC or branch; decide shareholders and managers.
- Check and reserve the name. The SPC free zone name check is free and instant; a Name Reservation Certificate follows (AED 500 in SPC Free Zone’s 2026 guide).
- Apply online. Complete the application and upload documents on the SPC customer portal, including UBO details.
- Pay and receive the licence, Certificate of Formation, memorandum, share certificate and lease or co-working agreement.
- Media permits if you print, import or circulate books (NMA, above).
- Establishment card and E-Channel registration before any visa.
- Visas: entry permit or change of status, medical test, residence and Emirates ID biometrics.
- Bank account with or without SPC’s banking assistance.
- Tax and compliance: corporate tax registration, VAT if required, UBO records, customs code if you import or export.
How long SPC free zone setup takes
| Step | Time SPC or the authority publishes | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Licence | “Instantly”; “45 minutes”; “24 hours on eligible packages”; e-commerce “2 hours” | Various spcfz.ae pages |
| Full setup | “2 to 5 days” (licence guide); “2–5 working days” (activity pages); “two to three weeks end-to-end if you are taking a visa” (2026 article) | spcfz.ae |
| Residence visa | “5 working days”; FAQ “typically taking 5-10 working days” | spcfz.ae |
| Dependant visa | 7 to 9 working days | SPC spouse and dependants page |
| Bank account (SPC assistance) | 3 business days | SPC corporate banking page |
| NMA printing or circulation permit | 5 working days each | nma.gov.ae |
| Establishment card, E-Channel | Not published | No SPC page |
Our reading: the SPC free zone licence is quick when documents are simple and activities unregulated. For an owner who needs a residence visa, plan two to three weeks, SPC Free Zone’s own longest estimate.
Documents for a Sharjah Publishing City company
Individual shareholders, directors and managers
- Passport copy (SPC’s name check FAQ asks for a passport valid for at least 6 months for individual owners, plus a photograph for visa processing).
- UAE visa and Emirates ID copies, only if already resident.
- Proof of address, such as a utility bill or bank statement, “if applicable”.
Corporate shareholders, subsidiaries and branches
- Certificate of formation or incorporation.
- Memorandum and articles of association.
- Certificate of incumbency “issued within the last 3 months”.
- Board resolution approving the SPC company or branch.
- Passport copies of the parent’s shareholders, managers and directors, and UBO details down to natural persons.
Attestation
SPC Free Zone’s pages do not state the attestation route. Usually, corporate documents issued abroad are notarised at home, legalised by the UAE embassy and attested by the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs, with a legal Arabic translation where required. Confirm SPC Free Zone’s requirements first; redoing an attestation abroad costs weeks. Our document attestation service handles the chain, and SPC also offers its own documentation and translation service.
UBO and KYC
SPC says UBO details “must be submitted during the company setup process”, and any person owning or controlling 25% or more, or exercising effective control, must be declared. Its compliance page lists nominee shareholders and directors, “formal or informal”, as a compliance topic. Plan your structure on the basis that real owners must be shown.
For NMA permits, keep the final manuscript, cover and imprint pages, proof of authorship where required, purchase invoices and customs declarations for imported stock. These are separate from SPC’s company file and are the documents that hold up a first print run.
SPC free zone cost: every published figure
Unlike many free zones, SPC publishes a lot of numbers. The difficulty is that different pages give different numbers for the same item. The table below lists every fee line we found, with the page it came from, checked on 26 September 2026. These are SPC’s prices to you, not a breakdown of the underlying government fees.
| Cost line | Figure | Source (spcfz.ae unless stated) |
|---|---|---|
| E-Publishing licence, 1 year | AED 4,999 | E-Publishing launch article; “Why Choose SPC Free Zone” (Sept 2026) |
| Publishing / e-commerce licence, 1 year, no visa | AED 5,750 | Pay-as-you-go page; Sharjah licence guide 2026 |
| Standard licence (professional, commercial, general trading) | AED 6,875 | General trading page; “Why Choose SPC” |
| Name reservation | AED 500 | Sharjah licence guide 2026 |
| Additional activity beyond package limit | AED 2,200 | Sharjah licence guide 2026 |
| Visa allocation, per visa | AED 1,600 (FAQ: “approximately AED 1,600”) | Licence guide; FAQs |
| Establishment card (2 years) | AED 640 | Licence guide; “Why Choose SPC” |
| E-Channel registration | AED 2,280 | Licence guide; “Why Choose SPC” |
| Investor visa including Emirates ID | AED 2,530 | Licence guide |
| Employment visa including Emirates ID | AED 3,700 | Cost calculator |
| Change of status inside the UAE | AED 700 | Licence guide; cost calculator |
| Medical test, per person | AED 365 | Licence guide |
| Health insurance | From AED 450 a month per person | “Why Choose SPC” |
| Dependant visa | AED 5,000 per dependant; deposit AED 3,025 if the sponsor is an investor | Spouse and dependants page |
| Corporate banking assistance (optional) | AED 2,000 (pay-as-you-go page shows AED 250) | Corporate banking page; FAQs; calculator |
| VIP medical, biometrics and Emirates ID assistance (optional) | AED 3,025 | VIP medical page |
| Corporate tax assistance (optional) | AED 1,200 | Corporate tax page; calculator |
SPC free zone cost in year one
SPC’s 2026 licence guide adds up one investor visa as AED 1,600 allocation + AED 640 establishment card + AED 2,280 E-Channel + AED 2,530 investor visa and Emirates ID + AED 365 medical = AED 7,415. On the AED 5,750 tier that gives AED 13,165 in year one; on the standard tier AED 14,290. Health insurance is on top, and “Why Choose SPC” suggests a solo founder with one visa “should budget roughly AED 14,000 to 15,000 in year one”.
For renewal, SPC Free Zone’s example is AED 10,245 in a year when the licence and visa both renew (licence AED 5,750, allocation AED 1,600, visa and Emirates ID AED 2,530, medical AED 365). Its own range for renewals is AED 10,000 to AED 20,000, depending on office size and scale.
Where SPC Free Zone’s pages disagree
| Item | One SPC page says | Another SPC page says |
|---|---|---|
| Visa allocation | AED 1,600 (licence guide, FAQs) | AED 640 (pay-as-you-go page, where the labels appear shifted: AED 2,530 “E-Channel”, AED 365 “change of status”) |
| Change of status | AED 700 | AED 365 (pay-as-you-go page) |
| Banking assistance | AED 2,000 | AED 250 (pay-as-you-go page) |
| Publishing licence | AED 5,750 tier (2026 pages) | “Publishing license package … starting from AED 6,875” (Dec 2025 article) |
| Cheapest licence | AED 4,999 E-Publishing | “From just AED 5,750” (most landing pages) |
| Visa deposit | “No mandatory upfront deposit” (licence guide) | AED 3,025 deposit for dependants of an investor (dependants page) |
The pay-as-you-go page’s figures match the establishment card, investor visa and medical lines in the other pages, so we treat them as mislabelled rather than as lower prices. Ask for an itemised quotation that names each line.
Multi-year licences and instalments
- SPC offers 10% off for a 2-year licence, 13% for 3 years and 20% for 10 years, according to its 2026 licence guide.
- Interest-free instalments over 3, 6 or 12 months through selected banks’ credit cards.
- “Setup now, pay later” and pay-as-you-go: pay the licence first and add visas and services later “without any additional amendment fees”.
We never include our own fee in these tables; it is quoted separately in writing (see our fees page).
Office and facility options in Sharjah Publishing City
Every SPC package includes a flexi-desk or co-working lease, which SPC says is “all the office space a license needs” and is accepted by its banking partners. Larger spaces are priced per square metre:
| Facility | Published “from” rate | Suits |
|---|---|---|
| Flexi-desk / co-working | Included in the licence package | Consultants, e-commerce, e-publishers, remote founders |
| Unfurnished office | AED 750 per sqm | Publishers and agencies with staff |
| Furnished office | AED 900 per sqm | Teams wanting to move in quickly |
| Retail space | AED 480 or AED 550 per sqm (both shown) | Showrooms and customer-facing units |
| Shell and core | AED 550 per sqm | Fit-out to your own design, such as a print or design studio |
| Warehouse | AED 480 per sqm | Book stock, distribution and packing |
| Storage | Price not shown | Short or long-term stock storage |
SPC does not say whether per-square-metre rates are annual, which is the usual convention, or whether service charges apply. The Sharjah Book Authority’s SPC page also mentions “freehold property for sale and lease” and “prebuilt warehouses with various sizes”, without prices.
Does office size affect visas?
SPC Free Zone’s main pages say visas are unlimited on a flexi-desk; its May 2026 article on investor and partner visas says “Visa allocations depend on the facility’s size”. If you plan more than a few visas, get your quota confirmed in writing.
SPC free zone visa and residency
SPC is in Sharjah, so the company’s establishment card, residence visas and Emirates IDs are handled through the Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security (ICP), and residence file numbers start with 3. SPC processes the applications through its portal and on-site immigration services.
The SPC free zone visa sequence
- Visa allocation on the licence (AED 1,600 per visa, SPC’s figure).
- Establishment card (immigration card) for the company, valid 2 years per SPC.
- E-Channel registration, the immigration portal registration a company needs before applying for visas.
- Entry permit for someone abroad, or change of status for someone already in the UAE (AED 700).
- Medical fitness test (see our medical fitness test service) and health insurance.
- Residence visa and Emirates ID biometrics (see our Emirates ID service).
ICP publishes its own base fees: its establishment card service lists an application fee, an AED 2,000 electronic system subscription, an AED 1,000 subscription guarantee and the card fee; a residence permit costs AED 100 application, AED 100 per year and AED 100 smart services, with AED 500 for status change; an Emirates ID costs AED 100 per year plus AED 100 smart services. SPC’s figures are its all-in prices and it does not show how they map to these ICP lines.
SPC free zone visa types: investor, partner and employee
SPC distinguishes an investor visa for a sole or majority shareholder and a partner visa where several people own the company. Employees get employment visas (AED 3,700 with Emirates ID in SPC’s calculator). SPC says residency visas are “typically valid for two years”.
Family visas
SPC Free Zone’s dependants page asks for a salary of at least AED 4,000 with accommodation, passport copies and photos, a medical certificate for dependants 18 and over, the sponsor’s contract and salary certificate, an attested marriage certificate and a registered tenancy agreement. The SPC free zone visa service for dependants costs AED 5,000 per dependant, with an AED 3,025 deposit if the sponsor is an investor, and 7 to 9 working days. Our family visa documents checklist covers the paperwork in detail.
Golden Visa
An SPC licence does not create Golden Visa eligibility by itself. Shareholders may qualify under the investor, entrepreneur, specialised talent or skilled professional routes; see our Golden Visa eligibility guide and our Golden investor visa service.
Grace periods and overstays
After cancellation or expiry, ICP’s grace period is 30, 60, 90 or 180 days by permit type, and overstays cost AED 50 a day. To compare residence routes, read free zone vs mainland visa.
Banking for an SPC Free Zone company
SPC lists banking partnerships with Mashreq, Emirates NBD, RAKBANK, Emirates Islamic, Commercial Bank of Dubai, Commercial Bank International, Wio, Deem Finance and FAB, and sells a banking assistance service for AED 2,000 with a 3 business day timeline. It calls this “guaranteed”, but also describes the partnerships as “priority access and faster onboarding rather than automatic approval”. The bank makes the decision.
SPC Free Zone’s document list for account opening: original incorporation documents, passport and Emirates ID, 6 to 12 months of stamped bank statements, tenancy contract, a utility bill, a CV, a business plan with potential clients, and a company stamp. You must attend the signing in person. Our corporate bank account guide explains how banks assess new free zone companies.
Tax for a Sharjah Publishing City company
Corporate tax
Every SPC company must register for corporate tax with the Federal Tax Authority, within the deadlines in FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024 (late registration penalty AED 10,000). The standard rate is 0% up to AED 375,000 of taxable income and 9% above. A Qualifying Free Zone Person can pay 0% on qualifying income under Cabinet Decision No. 100 of 2023 and Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 on qualifying activities, but must meet all conditions, including adequate substance, audited financial statements and the de minimis limit on non-qualifying revenue. Small Business Relief is not available to a Qualifying Free Zone Person.
In practice, an SPC Free Zone publisher exporting books or rights abroad may have qualifying income, while e-commerce sales to UAE consumers or fees from mainland clients generally do not qualify. SPC Free Zone’s tax pages rightly say free zone companies “are not automatically exempt”. See our corporate tax registration guide.
VAT
SPC is not a designated zone for VAT. The FTA’s published list, under Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 as amended, names only Hamriyah Free Zone and Sharjah Airport International Free Zone for Sharjah; we read the FTA’s PDF because its web page could not be fetched, so check the current list. Normal VAT rules apply: mandatory registration above AED 375,000 of taxable supplies, and 5% on most goods and services, including book sales, subject to the usual export and zero-rating rules.
Importers and exporters also need a customs code, which SPC Free Zone offers as a service; books additionally go through the NMA’s port-entry approval.
Trading with the mainland from Sharjah Publishing City
- Serving UAE clients from the zone: selling online, delivering services remotely and invoicing UAE customers is how most SPC companies operate. Media activity must stay within the zone under Decree-Law No. 55 of 2023, Article 6.
- SPC’s “dual licence”: SPC says it is “authorised to issue a dual license, combining a free zone license with a Sharjah mainland license”, covering the Sharjah mainland only. It publishes no conditions, fees or legal basis, and we have not found the scheme in the Sharjah Economic Development Department’s published services. Ask SPC for the SEDD licence details in writing.
- Sharjah mainland licence: a SEDD branch or company, with SEDD’s own fees (13% of rent for non-UAE nationals, minimum AED 1,300, plus a commercial register certificate).
- Dubai: Dubai Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025 created a mainland operating permit for companies in Dubai free zones; we have not seen it extended to Sharjah zones. For Dubai clients who need a local supplier, look at a Dubai licence; see mainland company formation in Dubai.
- Distributor or agent: sell stock to a mainland-licensed distributor who handles retail.
Renewal and compliance in SPC Free Zone
- Licence renewal: yearly, through the customer portal; SPC’s renewals email is renewals@spcfz.ae. SPC warns that late renewal can lead to fines and suspension, but publishes no penalty amounts or grace period.
- Establishment card: renewed with the licence; SPC says an expired card can stop new visa requests.
- Visas: every two years, with medical test and Emirates ID; SPC notes a 30-day window to renew an expired Emirates ID before fines.
- UBO: declare anyone with 25% or more or effective control, and update changes (Cabinet Decision No. 109 of 2023: file within 60 days, changes within 15 days; penalties under Cabinet Decision No. 132 of 2023). See our UBO register guide.
- Inspections: as registrar and supervisory authority, SPC Free Zone runs UBO inspections for all companies and AML inspections for higher-risk ones. Requested documents are due within 14 days; failure can mean warnings, penalties and blocked renewals.
- AML: DNFBPs register on goAML and follow Federal Decree-Law No. 10 of 2025 and Cabinet Resolution No. 134 of 2025.
- Audited accounts: no SPC Free Zone audit rule is published; a Qualifying Free Zone Person needs audited statements for tax.
Pros and cons of Sharjah Publishing City free zone
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Among the lowest published entry prices in the UAE (AED 4,999 to AED 6,875) | SPC’s own pages contradict each other on several fees, limits and times |
| Government-owned, subsidiary of the Sharjah Book Authority | Founding decree and company regulations not published on its website |
| Real publishing ecosystem: book fair, print on demand, EPA membership route | Publishers still need separate NMA printing and circulation permits |
| Flexi-desk included; pay-as-you-go visas; offices and warehouses available | Visa quota rules unclear: “unlimited” versus “depend on the facility’s size” |
| Fully online setup and renewal; licence often same day | Not a VAT designated zone; media activity must stay within the zone |
| Up to 5 activities from different groups on one licence | Sharjah address and ICP visa file, which some Dubai clients and banks weigh differently |
Who Sharjah Publishing City free zone suits
- Publishers, translators and self-publishing imprints that want the book fair network, print on demand and EPA membership.
- E-book and audiobook producers on the E-Publishing licence.
- Book distributors and importers needing a warehouse and a licence that matches the NMA’s circulation rules.
- Cost-conscious founders in e-commerce, consultancy or general trading who are happy with a flexi-desk and a Sharjah visa.
- Remote founders who want to set up online and only travel for the medical test and biometrics.
Who should look elsewhere
- Content creators, influencers and media freelancers: compare Shams free zone, which is built around them.
- Large-scale importers, re-exporters and industrial printers: SAIF Zone or Hamriyah Free Zone, both VAT designated zones.
- Education technology and research-led publishing with university links: SRTI Park.
- Agencies and publishers whose clients insist on a Dubai address: Dubai Media City or a Dubai mainland licence.
- Bookshops and businesses selling mainly in person on the mainland: a mainland licence from the start.
Worked cases: Sharjah Publishing City free zone
These cases are built from the situations we see most often. Names and identifying details are left out, and the figures are the published ones.
Case 1: an Arabic children’s book publisher
A publisher based abroad wants a UAE imprint to print locally and sell at book fairs. She forms an FZE with printing and publishing activities. Before printing each title she applies for the NMA Local Publication Printing Permit (AED 200, 5 working days) with the final draft, cover and imprint pages, then deposits five printed copies with the permit and ISBN. To sell in UAE bookshops she also needs the circulation permit. Membership of the Emirates Publishers Association is open to her through SPC, even though she is not an Emirati.
Case 2: an e-book and audiobook studio
Two partners produce audiobooks for regional platforms. The E-Publishing licence at AED 4,999 covers online audiobook and e-book publishing and online sound recording. Because they are two shareholders, they check the package limit (up to 5 shareholders on the launch terms) and the visa quota (up to 6 at extra charge). They budget two investor visas at SPC’s AED 7,415 each in year one, plus health insurance.
Case 3: a foreign distributor opening a branch
A European distributor opens an SPC Free Zone branch and leases a warehouse from AED 480 per square metre. Its incorporation certificate, articles, a certificate of incumbency under 3 months old and a board resolution are legalised abroad and attested in the UAE. Each book shipment needs NMA port-entry approval, which “is not considered as a trading approval”, then a circulation permit before sale.
Case 4: a founder who paid SPC Free Zone and then changed her mind
A founder pays for the e-commerce tier, then decides she wants a Dubai address. SPC’s refund policy refunds only where issues arise “with the authorities”, not for a change of mind. The lesson: settle zone, activities and shareholders before paying, because the licence fee is not recoverable.
What circulates online about SPC Free Zone that is not true
| Claim | What the official pages say |
|---|---|
| “An SPC licence lets you print and sell any book in the UAE.” | The NMA must approve printing and circulation; only licensed book businesses may circulate books. |
| “SPC companies pay zero tax.” | All must register for corporate tax; 0% applies only to qualifying income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person. VAT applies normally. |
| “The licence is AED 5,750 all-in.” | That is the licence only; one investor visa adds AED 7,415 in year one by SPC’s own breakdown, plus insurance. |
| “Visas are unlimited, full stop.” | Unlimited on a flexi-desk per SPC’s main pages; another SPC article ties allocation to facility size; each visa is paid for. |
| “The dual licence lets you trade anywhere in the UAE.” | SPC says it covers the Sharjah mainland; terms are not published. |
How to verify every figure in this guide
| Figure or rule | Where to check |
|---|---|
| Established 2017, subsidiary of the Sharjah Book Authority | spcfz.ae About Us; sba.gov.ae Sharjah Publishing City |
| Legal forms, documents, UBO rule | spcfz.ae Business Setup in Sharjah |
| Package prices, visa add-ons, multi-year discounts | spcfz.ae Sharjah Free Zone License Guide 2026, Why Choose SPC Free Zone, pay-as-you-go page |
| Printing, circulation and port-entry permits | nma.gov.ae e-services |
| ICP establishment card, visa and Emirates ID fees | icp.gov.ae service cards |
| VAT designated zones | tax.gov.ae designated zones list |
| Qualifying activities for 0% corporate tax | mof.gov.ae, Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 |
What we will and will not do
- We will show you SPC’s published figures, including where its pages disagree, and ask SPC to confirm the ones that matter to you.
- We will pass on SPC, ICP and NMA fees at cost with their receipts, and quote our fee in writing first.
- We will tell you when Shams, a Dubai zone or a mainland licence suits your model better.
- We will not promise a licence, visa, bank account or media permit: SPC, ICP, the bank and the NMA decide.
- We will not present ourselves as SPC, the Sharjah Book Authority or their partner. We are an independent consultancy.
Related guides
- Sharjah free zones compared
- Shams free zone company setup
- SAIF Zone company setup
- Hamriyah Free Zone company setup
- SRTIP free zone company setup
- Ajman Media City free zone
- Dubai Media City company setup
- Corporate tax registration in the UAE
- Corporate bank account in the UAE
Sharjah Publishing City free zone: frequently asked questions
What is Sharjah Publishing City free zone?
A Sharjah government free zone established in 2017 and run as a subsidiary of the Sharjah Book Authority. It was set up as the world’s first free zone for publishing and printing, and now licenses more than 2,000 activities, including e-commerce, trading and consultancy, with 100% foreign ownership.
How much does an SPC free zone licence cost?
SPC publishes AED 4,999 for the E-Publishing licence, AED 5,750 for the publishing and e-commerce tier and AED 6,875 for the standard licence, each for one year without visas. With one investor visa SPC’s own totals are AED 13,165 or AED 14,290 in year one, plus health insurance.
How many visas can I get with an SPC licence?
SPC’s main pages advertise unlimited investor, partner and employee visas on a flexi-desk, paid per visa at AED 1,600 allocation plus the visa costs. One SPC article says allocation depends on facility size, so confirm the quota for your package in writing.
How long does SPC Free Zone company setup take?
SPC says licences are issued instantly or within 24 hours on eligible packages, residence visas take about 5 working days (5 to 10 in its FAQ), and bank accounts about 3 working days with its assistance. Allow two to three weeks for a licence plus the owner’s visa.
Do I need National Media Authority approval to publish books from SPC?
Yes, for printing and circulating books in the UAE. The NMA’s Local Publication Printing Permit costs AED 200 and takes 5 working days; its circulation permit reviews each book’s content before distribution. Imports also need the NMA’s port-entry approval.
Can I set up in SPC Free Zone without visiting the UAE?
Yes for the licence: application, approval and issuance run through SPC’s online portal. You need to be in the UAE for the medical test and Emirates ID biometrics if you take a residence visa, and for the bank signing meeting.
Can an SPC company trade on the mainland?
It can sell to UAE clients from the zone. SPC advertises a dual licence for the Sharjah mainland but publishes no terms. Otherwise use a Sharjah Economic Development Department licence or a distributor. Free zone media activity must be practised within the zone.
Is Sharjah Publishing City a designated zone for VAT?
No. The FTA’s list names only Hamriyah Free Zone and Sharjah Airport International Free Zone for Sharjah. SPC companies charge VAT like mainland companies once registered, and must register above AED 375,000 of taxable supplies.
Do SPC companies pay corporate tax?
They must register with the FTA. The 0% rate applies only to qualifying income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person under Cabinet Decision No. 100 of 2023 and Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025. Other income is taxed at 0% up to AED 375,000 and 9% above.
Can I sponsor my family on an SPC visa?
Yes. SPC lists a minimum salary of AED 4,000 with accommodation, an attested marriage certificate and a registered tenancy agreement. Its service costs AED 5,000 per dependant, with an AED 3,025 deposit if the sponsor is an investor, in 7 to 9 working days.
Is the SPC licence fee refundable?
Only in limited cases. SPC’s refund policy gives a full refund if the licence is cancelled because of issues with the authorities, but not for a change of mind. Refunds go back to the original payment method within 30 days.
Can MIRDXB PRO set up my Sharjah Publishing City company?
Yes. We check the zone and tier, prepare and attest documents, submit through SPC’s portal with you, and handle ICP visas, Emirates ID, family visas, NMA publishing permits, corporate tax and UBO records. Fees are passed on at cost; our fee is quoted in writing first.
Can you get my books through NMA printing and circulation permits?
Yes. We prepare the application with your final draft, cover, imprint pages and licence, track the 21-working-day payment and amendment deadlines, and coordinate port-entry approvals for imports. The NMA decides on every permit; we are an independent consultancy.
Visa renewals, Emirates ID, attestation and other government paperwork after setup are what our PRO services in Dubai team handles every day, for Dubai and Sharjah files.
- SPC Free Zone: About Us
- SPC Free Zone: Start Your Business (legal structures, documents, UBO)
- SPC Free Zone: Business Setup Guide
- SPC Free Zone: Pay-as-you-go and facility packages
- SPC Free Zone: Sharjah Free Zone License Guide 2026
- SPC Free Zone: Why Choose SPC Free Zone (2026)
- SPC Free Zone: New ePublishing licence
- SPC Free Zone: Publishing Hub
- SPC Free Zone: Business Activities List
- SPC Free Zone: FAQs
- SPC Free Zone: Cost calculator
- SPC Free Zone: Spouse and dependants visa processing
- SPC Free Zone: Corporate banking assistance
- SPC Free Zone: Rules, regulations and policies
- SPC Free Zone: Return and refund policy
- Sharjah Book Authority: Sharjah Publishing City
- National Media Authority: Local Publication Printing Permit
- National Media Authority: Permit for Circulating Publications
- National Media Authority: Media materials entry through ports
- UAE Legislation: Decree-law establishing the National Media Authority
- ICP: Issuing an Establishment Card
- ICP: Issuing Residency Permit
- FTA: Designated zones list (Cabinet Decision 59/2017, as amended)
- Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 on Qualifying Activities
- FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024 on registration timeframes
- u.ae: Starting a business in a free zone
26 September 2026. Figures are SPC Free Zone’s published prices, the National Media Authority’s and ICP’s service cards, and the FTA’s designated zones list. SPC’s founding decree number and company regulations are not published on its website.
Please note. This guide describes Sharjah Publishing City Free Zone as published by SPC Free Zone, the Sharjah Book Authority, the National Media Authority, ICP, the Ministry of Finance and the Federal Tax Authority, verified 26 September 2026. SPC’s pages disagree on some figures, and prices can change without notice; confirm your quotation with SPC in writing. The cases are illustrative. MIRDXB PRO is an independent consultancy, not affiliated with SPC Free Zone, the Sharjah Book Authority or any government body. This guide is general information, not legal or tax advice.




