Key takeaways
- SRTIP free zone company setup means licensing a company in the Sharjah Research, Technology and Innovation Park (SRTI Park, branded “SPark”), a free zone established under Emiri Decree No. 38 of 2016 next to University City, Sharjah.
- It is a technology and R&D park first: its focus areas are advanced manufacturing, healthcare technology, sustainability and environmental tech, and mobility and logistics digitalisation, with labs, a prototyping centre (SoiLab), an accelerator (SAIA) and an angel network (SBAN).
- Legal forms: FZE (one shareholder), FZC (two or more), branch of a UAE company and branch of a foreign company. SRTI Park says there is no mandated paid-up capital for most licences.
- Published prices: a zero-visa package from AED 5,500, one visa AED 13,990 and two visas AED 17,795 (SRTI Park, August 2025). A 50% Innovators promotion for AI and tech start-ups ran to 30 April 2026 from AED 2,225.
- Official time frame: “as little as five working days” on the setup FAQ, “7-10 working days from application to licence” in the park’s own guide. Plan for the longer figure.
- Visas are issued through ICP, handled only by the park’s Investor Services Department. Visa allocation follows the office: up to 8 visas in an SME office, 10 or more in an Ecosystem office.
- Not a designated zone for VAT. SRTI Park advertises a “Dual Licensing Option (Freezone and Mainland)” but publishes no terms; ask for them in writing before you rely on mainland trading.
SRTIP free zone company setup is the process of registering a free zone establishment, free zone company or branch in the Sharjah Research, Technology and Innovation Park, a Government of Sharjah free zone created by Emiri Decree No. 38 of 2016 beside University City, Sharjah, to host research-led, technology and innovation businesses. SRTI Park issues commercial, service, industrial and consultancy licences with up to five activities, sponsors residence visas through ICP, and pairs the licence with R&D labs, a prototyping centre, an accelerator and an angel investor network.
This guide covers every stage: what SRTI Park is and who it suits, legal forms, licence types and activities, the step-by-step process, documents, published costs, offices and visa quotas, residency, banking, tax, mainland access and renewal. We checked the park’s website, its setup guide, checklists and visa forms on 26 September 2026 and point out where its own pages disagree.
To compare SRTIP with the other Sharjah zones, start with our Sharjah free zones guide or the national overview of free zones in the UAE. If you are weighing a Sharjah free zone against a Dubai licence for your business setup in Dubai, that comparison comes first. If SRTI Park fits, our company formation support team can run the file from name reservation to Emirates ID.
SRTIP free zone at a glance
| Point | SRTI Park (SRTIP) |
|---|---|
| Authority | Sharjah Research, Technology and Innovation Park, Government of Sharjah; board appointed by Emiri Decree No. 48 of 2023, chaired by Sheikha Bodour Al Qasimi |
| Legal basis | Emiri Decree No. 38 of 2016 (stated on the park’s official forms) |
| Location | Next to University City, Sharjah; about 4 km from Sharjah International Airport and 20 km from Dubai International Airport (SRTI Park) |
| Established | 2016 |
| Best for | Tech start-ups, AI and software, engineering and advanced manufacturing, health tech, clean tech, university spin-outs, R&D arms of larger companies |
| Legal forms | FZE, FZC, branch of a UAE company, branch of a foreign company |
| Licence types | Commercial, service, industrial and consultancy licences, plus R&D and innovation permits |
| Activities | “Over 1500+” on offer; up to 5 per licence “in one segment” (renewal form) |
| Capital | “No mandated paid-up capital for most licences” (SRTI Park FAQ) |
| Official setup time | 5 working days (setup FAQ) or 7 to 10 working days (SRTI Park guide, August 2025) |
| Visa allocation basis | By package and office: zero, one or two-visa packages; SME office up to 8 visas; Ecosystem office 10+ |
| Office options | Innovation Lounge access, Maktabi co-working, First Step Hi-Tech office, SME office, Ecosystem office, labs, land and shell-and-core units |
| VAT designated zone | No (not on the Sharjah list in Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017, as amended) |
| Mainland access | “Dual Licensing Option (Freezone and Mainland)” advertised, terms not published; otherwise a Sharjah Economic Development Department licence or a distributor |
| Website | srtip.ae |
What SRTI Park is known for
Most Sharjah free zones sell licences first and facilities second. SRTI Park reverses that. Its mission is to connect “academia, industry, and government” and help companies “develop, test, and commercialize” new technology. The practical result is a free zone where your licence comes with access to things most zones do not have.
- Location beside University City: SRTI Park cites more than 44,000 students in the academic district, with University of Sharjah and American University of Sharjah leadership on its board.
- SoiLab (Sharjah Open Innovation Lab): the park’s prototyping centre. SRTI Park’s own articles describe the emirate’s prototyping labs as offering equipment such as 3D printers, CNC machines and electronics workstations.
- SAIA (Sharjah Advanced Industry Accelerator) and SBAN (Sharjah Business Angels Network): an accelerator and an angel investor network run from the park.
- Sheraa, the Sharjah Entrepreneurship Center, is based at the park.
- Scale: SRTI Park reported “over 6,000 companies and startups” in April 2024 and now states “10,000+” registered companies, “22+” university and corporate research partnerships and more than 200,000 visitors in 2024.
Focus areas
- Advanced manufacturing: aerospace, automotive, robotics, automation and 3D printing.
- Healthcare: medical devices, hospital automation, digital health and insurtech.
- Sustainability and environmental technology: waste, water, clean energy, precision agriculture.
- Mobility and logistics digitalisation, and AI, big data and IoT under “digitalisation”.
How SRTIP compares with other zones
- Against Shams: Shams is cheaper for pure service, media and e-commerce licences issued in 1 to 2 days. SRTI Park costs more but gives labs, investor access and university links.
- Against SAIF Zone and Hamriyah Free Zone: better for warehousing, heavy industry and customs-bonded trade (both are VAT designated zones).
- Against Dubai Silicon Oasis: the closest Dubai equivalent for tech; Dubai address and GDRFA visas, at higher cost.
SRTIP free zone company setup: how MIRDXB PRO helps
Founders ask us about SRTI Park for two reasons: they want an innovation ecosystem, or they found a low headline price. We check whether the first is real for your business and whether the second survives the visa bill.
What we do
- Choose the entity and package: FZE, FZC or branch; general or Innovators package; zero, one or two visas; the right office for your visa count.
- Map activities within the park’s list and flag regulated activities that need third-party approvals.
- Prepare the document pack: business plan or action plan, shareholder papers, notarised and legalised board resolutions and attested corporate documents.
- Run the process with the park: trade name, initial approval, action plan approval, memorandum, lease and licence.
- Complete immigration and compliance: immigration card, visas, medical, Emirates ID, corporate tax and VAT registration, beneficial owner filing and bank documents.
How it works
- Message us on WhatsApp with your activity, shareholders and visa plans.
- We reply in writing with the route, the park’s published fees and our fee.
- You approve; we prepare documents and submit with you through the park’s portal and sales team.
- We complete visas and filings and hand over every document with a renewal calendar.
What it costs
SRTI Park, ICP and other government fees are passed on at cost, on their own receipts. Our fee depends on the structure and number of visas and is quoted in writing before we start; see our fees page.
Why founders use us
- We read the park’s checklists, forms and offers, and tell you where they conflict.
- We tell you when a cheaper zone would do the same job.
- One contact covers attestation, ICP visas, Emirates ID, tax and bank documents.
- We are an independent consultancy in Al Barsha 1, Dubai (Monday to Thursday and Saturday 09:00 to 18:00, Friday 09:00 to 12:00), not SRTI Park and not one of its partners.
See our business setup service and our free zone visa services.
Legal forms in the SRTIP free zone
SRTI Park’s “Establishing Companies and Institutions” page lists four structures. All give 100% foreign ownership and none needs a local partner.
| Form | Owners | Who it suits | Liability |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free Zone Establishment (FZE) | One shareholder, individual or corporate | Solo founders, single-parent subsidiaries | Limited liability company |
| Free Zone Company (FZC) | Two or more shareholders | Co-founders, joint ventures, investor-backed start-ups | Limited liability company |
| Local branch | A UAE mainland or free zone company | UAE groups adding an R&D or tech base | Parent liable |
| Foreign branch | A foreign company | Overseas companies trading under their own name | Parent liable; “legally dependent part of the parent” |
Capital, shareholders and officers
- Capital: “there is no mandated paid-up capital for most licences (internal SRTI Park policy)”. The capital figure still appears in the memorandum, and some regulated activities may require more.
- Shareholders: no published maximum for general packages; the 2026 Innovators promotion was limited to five shareholders.
- Directors and manager: the registration checklist asks for passport copies and specimen signatures for each director and the manager, plus an NOC from the manager’s current UAE sponsor “if applicable”. A secretary can be appointed (amendments list “Secretary change”).
- Converting later: amendments include “Entity Type Change (e.g., from FZC to FZE)”, share transfers, capital changes and changes of manager.
SRTI Park does not publish its companies regulations as a document on the website. The FAQ answers and forms above are what it publishes; ask for the regulations if you need them for a shareholder agreement.
SRTIP licence types and business activities
SRTI Park “issues commercial, service, industrial and consultancy licenses, along with specialist R&D and innovation-focused permits”. It advertises more than 1,500 activities and “No Cross-Business Activity Fee”, meaning activities from different sectors can sit on one licence without an extra sector charge, within the five-activity limit.
| Licence | Typical activities | What to check |
|---|---|---|
| Commercial (trading) | Trading in smart machines, electronics, lab equipment, general trading | Customs code; warehousing is limited compared with SAIF or Hamriyah |
| Service | Software, AI development, IT services, digital services | Office type and visa quota |
| Consultancy | Engineering, technology, management and sustainability consulting | Professional qualifications for staff visas |
| Industrial | Light and advanced manufacturing, assembly, 3D printing | Plot or shell-and-core lease, building permits, safety certificates |
| R&D and innovation | Research, prototyping, testing, university partnerships | Lab access and any regulator approval for the product |
Five activities, one segment
SRTI Park’s renewal form asks for a “List of Activities (Maximum 5) in one Segment”. The setup FAQ adds that activities “should be compatible”. In practice, choose activities that tell one business story, for example AI development, AI training, software consultancy, smart machines trading and R&D.
Regulated activities
SRTI Park asks for “third-party approvals (if a regulated activity)”. The ones we see most at a technology park: aviation (the renewal form mentions Sharjah Civil Aviation approval for aviation activities), medical devices and health products (Ministry of Health and Prevention or the Sharjah Health Authority), telecommunications equipment (Telecommunications and Digital Government Regulatory Authority), and financial or insurance technology (Central Bank or Securities and Commodities Authority). The approval is yours to obtain; the licence does not replace it.
The Innovators package and SPARK AI Hub
SRTI Park markets a Standard Innovators Package through its “SPARK AI Hub”. In April 2026 it published eligible activities (AI development, AI training, robotics, consultancy, research and development, smart machines trading and rental) and a first-year 50% promotion for new companies that applied before 30 April 2026. The package includes Innovation Lounge access for four hours a week, and “a physical office is not required”.
SRTIP free zone company setup: step by step
SRTI Park’s FAQ gives the sequence: “Reserve a trade name → obtain initial approval → submit an action plan and constitutional documents → sign a lease → apply for and receive the licence → secure visas/Emirates IDs for staff”. Its setup guide (version 1.22) lists the same tasks.
- Enquiry and package choice. SRTI Park’s sales team proposes packages “based on; the package chosen, the number of cadres requested, and the activities needed”.
- Trade name reservation. The licensing and registration department approves the name.
- Initial approval of the application and activities.
- Action plan approval. A business plan or project summary is part of every application; for some activities it is reviewed in detail.
- Resolution, ratification and memorandum of association. Corporate shareholders submit a notarised and legalised board resolution.
- Lease approval. Innovation Lounge, co-working, office, lab or land.
- Payment and licence issue. Sales issues the invoice; after payment the registration and licensing department prints the licence and company documents.
- Immigration card and visas. The Investor Services Department applies for the immigration card, entry permits, status changes and residence visas with ICP; Emirates ID follows biometrics.
- After the licence: beneficial owner filing, corporate tax registration, bank account, VAT registration if you pass the threshold.
How long it takes
SRTI Park publishes two figures. Its setup FAQ says that with all documents in place, “most companies can secure their license, register with authorities, and move into their office or lab in as little as five working days”. Its own August 2025 guide says “7-10 working days from application to licence”. Visas come after the licence. A founder with an investor visa should plan on three to four weeks overall. Legalising corporate documents abroad often takes longer than the free zone steps.
Documents for an SRTIP company
SRTI Park’s “Checklist of Legal Documents required for Registration/Incorporation of Company” separates individual shareholders, corporate shareholders and branches.
For every application
- Application for registration and licence (SRTI Park form).
- Project summary or business plan.
- Proof of residential address in your country of residence.
- Registration and licence fees.
Individual shareholders, directors and manager
- Valid passport copy and specimen signature for each shareholder and director.
- UAE residence visa and Emirates ID copy if you live in the UAE.
- Manager: valid passport, specimen signature and an NOC from the current UAE sponsor if applicable.
- For some staff visas, attested educational certificates (see visas below).
Corporate shareholders and branches
- Original certificate of registration (a notarised copy is accepted).
- Original certificate of good standing from the registrar where the company is incorporated.
- For UAE parents: the trade licence and commercial registration.
- Original memorandum and articles of association and a list of current directors (an attested copy is accepted).
- Shareholder or board resolution, notarised and legalised, approving the branch or subsidiary and “guaranteeing full financial commitment”; a power of attorney for the manager if not in the resolution, also notarised and legalised.
Attestation and translation
SRTI Park “reserves the right to ask for the attestation from UAE Embassy, Ministry of Foreign Affairs or other embassy”. Documents must be in English or Arabic; others “must be translated and legalized in the home country”. Branches must provide an attested good standing certificate again at each renewal. Our document attestation service handles the chain.
SRTIP license cost: the published figures
SRTI Park does not publish a fee schedule. It has published package prices in its own articles, which we list with dates. Treat them as the latest official figures, not a quote.
| Item | Amount (AED) | Source and date |
|---|---|---|
| Zero visa package (up to 5 activities, registered address) | 5,500 | SRTI Park, “Go global from Sharjah’s innovation hub”, 15 Aug 2025 |
| One visa package (Emirates ID, e-channel, 5 activities) | 13,990 | Same article |
| Two visa package | 17,795 | Same article |
| Innovators package, 0 visa, first year at 50% off | 2,225 | SPARK AI Hub articles, 27 Apr 2026 (offer ended 30 Apr 2026) |
| Innovators, 1 / 2 / 4 / 6 visa tiers at 50% off | 3,000 / 4,000 / 6,250 / 7,250 | Same |
| Per visa, government and admin fees (security deposit, immigration card, e-channel) | 4,675 | Same |
| Per visa, processing costs (excluding medical insurance and status change) | 3,790 | Same |
| Innovators, two visas, first-year total | about 20,930 | Same (4,000 + 9,350 + 7,580) |
Reading the SRTIP price list
- The 2025 visa packages are described as including Emirates ID and e-channel registration; the 2026 Innovators prices exclude all visa costs. Compare totals, not headlines, and ask whether medical, insurance and deposits are inside the 2025 figures: two visas were AED 17,795 on the 2025 package and about AED 20,930 on the discounted Innovators route.
- The Innovators discount was first-year only. At renewal the full price applies. SRTI Park has not published the full Innovators price; doubling the promotion figures suggests AED 4,450 for the zero-visa tier, but that is our arithmetic, not a published number.
- Per-visa costs repeat. The immigration card and e-channel are company-level, but each visa has its own deposit and processing costs.
- Two owners can avoid the employment deposit. SRTI Park’s visa form says only two owner or manager names on the licence “can be exempted from the fees of employment guarantee deposits”, subject to signing its No Claim Declaration.
We quote our own fee separately and in writing; see our fees page.
Offices, labs and visa quotas at SRTI Park
At SRTI Park your workspace sets your visa ceiling. SRTI Park has published these options:
| Space | What it is | Visa position |
|---|---|---|
| Innovation Lounge access | 4 hours a week, included in the Innovators package | Package tiers from 0 to 6 visas |
| Maktabi co-working | Three dedicated desks, meeting room access | Not stated; ask when booking |
| First Step Hi-Tech Office | For start-ups under three years old | Not stated |
| SME Office | Furnished, 20 to 27 sq m | Up to 8 visas |
| Ecosystem Office | Furnished, 50 to 80 sq m | 10 or more visas |
| R&D labs and prototyping | Lab space and SoiLab equipment | By agreement |
| Plots and shell-and-core units | For industrial users building their own facility | By agreement; renewal needs building completion or permit, safety and utility certificates |
Office prices are not published. If you expect to hire more than two people in the first year, compare an SME office with a two-visa package before you sign; moving later is an amendment (“Office Type (Property Type) Change”).
SRTIP free zone visa and residency
SRTI Park is in Sharjah, so residence visas are issued through ICP and carry a Sharjah file number starting with 3. SRTI Park’s visa form is clear about who files: its “Investor Services Department SRTIP is the only one who is authorized to check and perform all applications related to the Immigration Departments and Foreigners Affairs for all registered companies in SRTIP”. Our ICP vs GDRFA guide explains what that changes compared with Dubai.
Rules on the park’s visa request form
- Entry permit: valid 60 days from issue; after entry you have 55 days to complete residence or cancel and leave.
- Passport validity: at least 8 months for an employment entry permit and 6 months for residence stamping, with blank pages.
- Tourist or transit visa holders must exit the country immediately after applying, unless they pay the fee to change status inside the UAE.
- Attested degrees: for professions such as engineer or accountant, the degree must be attested by the country of study’s consulate and the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs; owners and managers named on the licence are exempt.
- Presence: the applicant must be inside the UAE for new or renewed residence.
- Renewal: submit at least 20 days before expiry to avoid fines.
- Transfers: allowed in or out of the park where the sponsor is a government, semi-government or free zone entity; family visas must be cancelled before an inter-emirate transfer.
- Cancellation: dependants’ visas must be cancelled first, or a bank guarantee of AED 5,000 given (with prior approval). A sponsor can cancel without the passport if the employee has been outside the UAE more than 180 days.
Medical, Emirates ID and family
After the entry permit or change of status comes the medical fitness test (see our medical fitness test service), health insurance, residence stamping and Emirates ID biometrics; our Emirates ID service covers renewals and corrections. Family sponsorship follows ICP’s rules: a monthly income of AED 4,000, or AED 3,000 with housing, and for investors a possible guarantee of AED 3,000 per family member (maximum AED 15,000).
Golden Visa and long-term residence
SRTI Park’s partner services include “Guidance on all residency solutions, including Golden Visas”. Owning an SRTI Park company does not by itself qualify you. Innovators, researchers, scientists and investors each have their own ICP criteria; see our Golden investor visa service.
After cancellation, ICP’s grace period is 30, 60, 90 or 180 days depending on the permit type, and overstaying costs AED 50 a day. For a comparison of free zone and mainland visas, read free zone vs mainland visa.
Banking for an SRTI Park company
SRTI Park offers banking support and introductions to partner banks, and its accelerator helps with documentation. Banks look for substance: an office or lab lease, a real business plan, the source of funds and at least one UAE-resident signatory. Technology companies with investor funding should bring the term sheet or share purchase agreement and cap table. Our corporate bank account guide has the full checklist.
Tax for an SRTIP free zone company
Corporate tax
SRTI Park’s pages speak of “zero corporate and personal tax”. That is not the full picture. Every SRTI Park company must register for corporate tax (FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024; late registration penalty AED 10,000). The standard rate is 0% on the first AED 375,000 of taxable income and 9% above.
The 0% free zone rate applies only to a Qualifying Free Zone Person under Cabinet Decision No. 100 of 2023, on qualifying income, with adequate substance, audited accounts and non-qualifying revenue within the de minimis limit (the lower of AED 5 million or 5% of revenue). Qualifying activities are listed in Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025; manufacturing and processing of goods are on the list, income from transactions with other free zone persons can qualify, and most services sold to mainland customers do not. Check whether your specific R&D or technology income is listed before assuming 0%. For an R&D or manufacturing company at the park, the question deserves real modelling. Our corporate tax registration guide has the steps.
VAT and customs
SRTI Park is not a designated zone. The FTA’s published list under Cabinet Decision No. 59 of 2017 (as amended in 2018) names only Hamriyah Free Zone and Sharjah Airport International Free Zone for Sharjah. We read it from the FTA’s own PDF because its web page could not be fetched; check the current list. Ordinary 5% VAT applies, with registration once taxable supplies pass AED 375,000 a year. Goods imported for manufacturing pass UAE customs normally.
Mainland access from the SRTIP free zone
SRTI Park’s business setup page lists a “Dual Licensing Option (Freezone and Mainland)”, and its branch definitions include “a branch of an existing free zone company expanding into the mainland”. It does not publish the conditions or fees. Until you have them in writing, plan on one of these routes:
- Sell from the zone: services, software and exports can be sold to UAE and overseas clients from the park.
- Sharjah mainland licence: the Sharjah Economic Development Department’s licence card charges 13% of the rent value for non-UAE nationals (minimum AED 1,300), a commercial register certificate from AED 500 to AED 7,000 depending on legal form and a late renewal fine of AED 200 a month, with a one-working-day service time. The department’s service guide (checked 26 September 2026) shows no separate permit for free zone companies.
- Dubai: Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025 created a Free Zone Mainland Operating Permit for companies in Dubai free zones; we have not seen it extended to Sharjah zones.
- Distributor or agent for goods sold into the local market.
If mainland sales will dominate, compare with mainland company formation in Dubai.
Renewal and compliance for an SRTIP company
Renewal
Lease and licence are renewed together on the park’s “Application for Lease and License Renewal”. The form asks for payment proof, passport copies of all shareholders, the authorised representative’s ID, an attested good standing certificate or registration proof for branches, Sharjah Civil Aviation approval for aviation activities and, for plots or shell-and-core units, building completion or permit, safety fitness and utility connection documents. Late renewal penalties are not published on the website; ask for them in writing.
Beneficial owners, AML and economic substance
- UBO: Cabinet Decision No. 109 of 2023 requires a register of beneficial owners, shareholders and nominee directors and a UAE-resident point of contact. SRTI Park’s FAQ says new companies “must file within 15 days of incorporation”; the Cabinet Decision gives 60 days from licensing. File early and you satisfy both. Penalties sit in Cabinet Decision No. 132 of 2023. See our UBO register guide.
- AML: designated non-financial businesses must register on goAML and report under Federal Decree-Law No. 10 of 2025; the park’s compliance page links the federal rules.
- Audit: SRTI Park runs an audit company request form and works with accredited audit partners. Audited accounts are required to keep Qualifying Free Zone Person status.
- Amendments: SRTI Park lists name, entity type, shareholders, capital, directors, signatories, manager, secretary, activities, office type and address changes, each on its own application form.
Pros and cons of the SRTIP free zone
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| R&D labs, prototyping, accelerator and angel network on site | No published fee schedule; prices come from dated articles and promotions |
| Beside University City: talent, research partners, Sheraa | Two official setup times (5 vs 7 to 10 working days) |
| FZE, FZC and branch options; no mandated paid-up capital for most licences | Visas add AED 8,465 each on the Innovators route |
| Industrial, lab, office and land options in one zone | Not a VAT designated zone; limited warehousing |
| Up to 5 activities with no cross-sector fee | “Dual licensing” terms not published |
| Close to Sharjah airport and 20 km from Dubai airport | Sharjah address and ICP file; commute if your team lives in Dubai |
Who SRTI Park suits
- AI, software, robotics and IoT start-ups that want an innovation community and investor access.
- Engineering, advanced manufacturing and 3D printing companies that need labs or industrial space.
- Health tech, clean tech and agri-tech ventures working with universities.
- University spin-outs and student founders (SRTI Park lists student packages).
- Overseas tech companies opening a regional R&D branch.
Who should look elsewhere
- Media, marketing and content businesses: Shams free zone or Sharjah Publishing City.
- Clinics, labs and healthcare providers: Sharjah Healthcare City.
- Warehousing, re-export and heavy industry: SAIF Zone or Hamriyah Free Zone.
- Tech firms that need a Dubai address: Dubai Silicon Oasis.
Worked cases: SRTIP free zone company setup
These cases are built from the situations we see most often. Names and identifying details are left out, and the figures are the published ones.
Case 1: a two-founder AI start-up
Two engineers want an FZC with AI development, AI training and software consultancy, and visas for both. On the Innovators route, the park’s own worked example was about AED 20,930 for year one with two visas (package AED 4,000 at the promotion price plus AED 8,465 per visa). Because both founders are owners named on the licence, they can ask to be exempted from the employment guarantee deposit by signing the park’s No Claim Declaration. They budget the renewal at full price.
Case 2: a European engineering firm opening an R&D branch
The parent wants to test products with Sharjah universities. It opens a foreign branch: certificate of registration and good standing, memorandum and articles, and a board resolution guaranteeing “full financial commitment”, notarised and legalised, with an Arabic or English translation. It takes an SME office for up to eight visas and books lab time. Each renewal needs a fresh attested good standing certificate, so the parent’s company secretary diarises it.
Case 3: a solo consultant on a zero-visa licence
She lives in Sharjah on her husband’s visa and consults on sustainability for regional clients. The zero-visa package (AED 5,500 on the park’s 2025 figures) covers up to five activities and a registered address. She checks that consulting for mainland clients is income taxed at the standard rates, not qualifying income, and registers for corporate tax within the FTA deadline.
Case 4: a manufacturer leasing a plot
A company assembling electric vehicle components takes a shell-and-core unit. Its licence is industrial, and each renewal needs the building completion certificate or a valid permit, a safety fitness certificate and power and water connection from the park’s project management department. Because it sells to mainland distributors, it models whether its manufacturing income qualifies for the 0% free zone rate.
Case 5: hiring an engineer from abroad
The company applies for an employment entry permit through the park’s Investor Services Department. The engineer’s degree is attested in the country of study and by the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs first, because the profession requires it. The entry permit is valid 60 days; after arrival the engineer has 55 days to complete medical, residence and Emirates ID biometrics.
What circulates online about SRTIP that is not true
| Claim | What the official pages say |
|---|---|
| “SRTIP licences start at AED 2,225.” | That was a 50% first-year promotion for new AI and tech companies, ending 30 April 2026, and excluding visa costs. |
| “SRTIP companies pay zero corporate tax.” | They must register; 0% applies only to qualifying income of a Qualifying Free Zone Person. Other income is taxed at 9% above AED 375,000. |
| “SRTIP is only for researchers and universities.” | It licenses commercial, service, consultancy and industrial companies as well as R&D. |
| “A dual licence lets you trade anywhere on the mainland.” | SRTI Park advertises dual licensing but publishes no terms. Get them in writing. |
| “Your visa is issued by Dubai immigration.” | SRTI Park is in Sharjah: ICP issues residence visas, through the park’s Investor Services Department. |
| “Setup always takes five days.” | SRTI Park’s own guide says 7 to 10 working days to licence; visas follow. |
How to verify every figure in this guide
| Figure | Where to check |
|---|---|
| Package prices and visa costs | srtip.ae articles (15 Aug 2025; 27 Apr 2026); your SRTI Park quotation |
| Legal forms, amendments, renewal documents | srtip.ae, Rules and Regulations, Establishing Companies and Institutions |
| Registration documents and attestation | SRTIP Check List (registration) |
| Visa rules (60/55 days, deposits, cancellation) | SRTIP Visa Request form |
| Founding decree | SRTI Park forms (“Established Pursuant to Emiri Decree No (38) of 2016”) |
| Residence and family fees | icp.gov.ae service cards |
| VAT designated zones | tax.gov.ae, designated zones list |
| Qualifying activities | mof.gov.ae, Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 |
| Sharjah mainland licence fees | sedd.ae, licence issuance service card |
What we will and will not do
- We will give you the route, the park’s published figures and our fee in writing before you pay.
- We will tell you if another zone fits better, including cheaper ones.
- We will pass on SRTI Park, ICP and government fees at cost with their receipts.
- We will not promise a licence, visa, bank account or tax outcome.
- We will not present ourselves as SRTI Park or its partner. We are an independent consultancy.
Related guides
- Sharjah free zones compared
- Shams free zone company setup
- SAIF Zone company setup
- Hamriyah Free Zone company setup
- Sharjah Healthcare City free zone
- Sharjah Publishing City free zone
- Dubai Silicon Oasis company setup
- Corporate tax registration in the UAE
- UBO register in the UAE
SRTIP free zone company setup: frequently asked questions
What is the SRTIP license cost?
SRTI Park’s August 2025 guide lists a zero-visa package at AED 5,500, one visa at AED 13,990 and two visas at AED 17,795. Its 2026 Innovators promotion started at AED 2,225 for year one, with visas extra at about AED 8,465 each. There is no published fee schedule, so ask for a written quotation.
Who regulates the SRTIP free zone?
The Sharjah Research, Technology and Innovation Park, a Government of Sharjah entity established under Emiri Decree No. 38 of 2016. Its board was appointed by Emiri Decree No. 48 of 2023 and is chaired by Sheikha Bodour Al Qasimi.
What company types can I set up at the park?
A Free Zone Establishment with one shareholder, a Free Zone Company with two or more, a branch of a UAE company or a branch of a foreign company. All allow 100% foreign ownership, and SRTI Park says most licences have no mandated paid-up capital.
How long does SRTIP free zone company setup take?
SRTI Park’s FAQ says as little as five working days with complete documents; its own August 2025 guide says 7 to 10 working days from application to licence. Residence visas, medical and Emirates ID take further weeks, and legalising foreign corporate documents can take longer than both.
How many activities can one SRTIP licence hold?
Up to five activities in one segment, according to the park’s renewal form, from a list of more than 1,500. SRTI Park says it charges no cross-business activity fee, but activities should be compatible with each other.
Do I need an office at the park?
Not for the Innovators package, which includes Innovation Lounge access for four hours a week. If you need more visas, an SME office (20 to 27 sq m) supports up to eight and an Ecosystem office (50 to 80 sq m) ten or more.
Who issues SRTIP visas?
ICP, because SRTI Park is in Sharjah. SRTI Park’s Investor Services Department is the only office authorised to file immigration applications for its companies. The entry permit is valid 60 days, and after entry you have 55 days to complete residence.
Is SRTIP a designated zone for VAT?
No. The FTA’s published list names Hamriyah Free Zone and Sharjah Airport International Free Zone for Sharjah. SRTI Park companies charge and pay VAT under the normal rules and register once taxable supplies pass AED 375,000 a year.
Can an SRTI Park company trade on the mainland?
SRTI Park advertises a dual licensing option for free zone and mainland but publishes no terms. Without it, sell from the zone, use a distributor, or open a Sharjah Economic Development Department licence for a branch or subsidiary.
Do SRTIP companies pay corporate tax?
They must register. A Qualifying Free Zone Person pays 0% on qualifying income, which requires substance, audited accounts and qualifying activities under Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025. Other taxable income is taxed at 0% up to AED 375,000 and 9% above.
Do I need an NOC from my employer?
SRTI Park says most foreign investors do not, but a UAE resident under an existing sponsor “may need a NOC”, and its checklist asks for the manager’s NOC from the current sponsor if applicable. Check your contract before applying.
Can MIRDXB PRO set up my SRTIP free zone company?
Yes. We choose the entity, package and office with you, prepare and legalise documents, run the SRTI Park approvals and licence, then the immigration card, visas, medical, Emirates ID, tax and beneficial owner filings. Government and SRTI Park fees are at cost; our fee is in writing first.
Can you handle visas for staff I hire from abroad?
Yes. We prepare the entry permit files for the park’s Investor Services Department, arrange degree attestation where the profession requires it, and book the medical and biometrics. We are an independent consultancy, not SRTI Park or ICP, and approvals rest with them.
Visa renewals, Emirates ID, attestation and other government paperwork after setup are what our PRO services in Dubai team handles every day, for Dubai and Sharjah files.
- SRTI Park: Freezone and Business Setup (FAQ)
- SRTI Park: About
- SRTI Park: Why SPark
- SRTI Park: Establishing Companies and Institutions
- SRTI Park: Ultimate Beneficial Owner rules
- SRTI Park: Guide to Establishing Companies and Institutions (V.1.22)
- SRTI Park: Checklist of legal documents for registration
- SRTI Park: Visa request form and requirements
- SRTI Park: Lease and licence renewal application
- SRTI Park: Go global from Sharjah’s innovation hub (packages, 15 August 2025)
- SRTI Park: SPARK AI Hub setup guide (27 April 2026)
- SRTI Park: SPARK AI Hub offer (27 April 2026)
- SRTI Park: Board meeting, Emiri Decree No. 48 of 2023 (April 2024)
- ICP: Issuing Residency Permit
- ICP: Issuing an Establishment Card
- Sharjah Economic Development Department: Licence issuance
- FTA: Designated zones list (Cabinet Decisions 59/2017 and 35/2018)
- Ministerial Decision No. 229 of 2025 on Qualifying Activities
- FTA Decision No. 3 of 2024 on registration timeframes
- u.ae: Starting a business in a free zone
26 September 2026. SRTI Park publishes prices in dated articles and promotions rather than a fee schedule; your written quotation is final.
Please note. This guide describes SRTIP free zone company setup as published by the Sharjah Research, Technology and Innovation Park, ICP, the Sharjah Economic Development Department, the Ministry of Finance and the Federal Tax Authority, verified 26 September 2026. The cases are illustrative. MIRDXB PRO is an independent consultancy, not affiliated with SRTI Park or any government body. This guide is general information, not legal or tax advice.




