1. Home
  2. Knowledge Hub
  3. Corporate & Compliance
  4. UAE Government Fees by Authority: What Each One Actually Charges
Corporate & Compliance

UAE Government Fees by Authority: What Each One Actually Charges

MA
Mir Ali Founder & Licensed PRO Consultant, MIRDXB PRO
Updated 7 Sep 2026 30 min read
UAE Government Fees List 2026: What Every Authority Actually Charges — MIRDXB PRO guide

Key takeaways

  • This page is organised by the authority that collects the money, not by service — because that is the structure that explains why costs vary.
  • Government fees are published and checkable. Any quote that cannot separate them from a service fee is not a quote, it is a price.
  • Several services are free through the authority’s own channels and charged by intermediaries. MoHRE publishes work permit quota as free via its website and app.
  • Where an authority publishes no figure, none is given here. That is deliberate, and the gaps are marked.
  • The three charges that move most: your MoHRE company classification, the market fee calculated from your rent, and medical insurance.

Every provider in this market quotes a single bundled number. That number contains two very different things: money that goes to a government authority at a published rate, and money that goes to the provider. Conflating them is how the industry works, and it is why identical transactions get quoted at wildly different prices.

This page separates them, indexed by collecting authority. Each section gives the published components, notes what the authority does not publish, and links to the guide that covers that transaction in full.

How to use this page

It is a reference index, not a walkthrough. Find the authority, take the component figures, then follow the link to the guide that covers the process, conditions and timing for that specific transaction.

Use it to check a quote: the government portion should match what is below. Anything above it is service, and you are entitled to see the split.

MoHRE — labour, permits and quota

Work permit quota

ItemPublished position
Quota service via MoHRE website and appFree — government fees only
Taq’eem reportAED 406
Business centre commissionMaximum AED 72
Service completion2 working days on the service specification; MoHRE reported instant issuance from February 2026
NotePublished fees exclude tax and collection charges

MoHRE publishes four conditions: a valid trade licence, private status without restrictions, a valid Taq’eem report, and a profession compatible with the establishment’s activities. Full detail in our company visa quota guide.

The line worth knowing before you accept any quota quote

MoHRE publishes this service as free through its own website and application. The government cost is Taq’eem at AED 406, and a business centre may add commission capped at AED 72.

Those two figures let you price any quota quote you are given. A charge presented as “the quota fee” substantially above them is service, not government.

Emiratisation

ItemPublished position
Target, 50+ employees2% annual growth in skilled positions — 1% by 30 June, 1% by 31 December
Target, 20–49 employees in specified sectorsAt least one UAE national, and retain those already employed
Contribution for a missed targetAED 42,000 per Emirati not appointed, per semi-annual period — as published May 2023; escalates annually
Circumvention, first offenceAED 100,000
Circumvention, secondAED 300,000
Circumvention, third and subsequentAED 500,000
Compliant companiesEmiratisation Partners Club — up to 80% discount on MoHRE service fees

The contribution figure carries a date because it escalates. Confirm the amount for your period with MoHRE on 600590000 rather than computing it — see our Emiratisation guide.

The variable that moves most

Your MoHRE establishment classification determines your work permit fees for an identical component. A downgrade — commonly following WPS violations or unresolved complaints — raises the cost of every permit you issue for as long as it stands.

If your per-visa costs have risen and nobody can explain why, check your classification before you change provider. See our WPS guide and work permit types.

GDRFA Dubai — residency and establishment services

Immigration establishment card

ComponentIssuanceRenewal
Card feeAED 200AED 200
VAT5%5%
Knowledge DirhamAED 10AED 10
Innovation DirhamAED 10AED 10
Service feeAED 50AED 50
Urgent feeAED 100AED 100
Amer centre submission+ AED 100 (published on issuance)Not stated on the renewal card
Standard total, digitalAED 280
Expected completion48 hours

GDRFA states, in a note on both service cards, that the issuance or renewal fee is AED 100 per year. It does not state a validity period on those pages — the expiry printed on your own card governs. Full detail in our establishment card guide.

Status amendment — changing status in country

ComponentFee
Registering status amendmentAED 500
Knowledge DirhamAED 10
Innovation DirhamAED 10
Individual feeAED 15
Establishment feeAED 50
Expected completion48 hours

The individual-versus-establishment distinction is published by GDRFA and almost never reproduced: it reflects whether a person is applying for themselves or a company is applying for an employee. Two published conditions apply — a new visa must exist, and the previous residence permit must be cancelled. See visa change status fees.

Residence permit data amendment

ComponentFee
Urgent service feeAED 100
Innovation feeAED 10
Printing fee, via ZAJEL Courier CenterAED 100
A published gap, marked rather than filled

GDRFA lists an urgent fee, an innovation fee and a channel-specific printing fee on this service — but no standard base fee.

We are not going to supply one. What it means practically is that the total quoted at an Amer centre will not equal the sum above, because it includes the centre’s charge and any government fee not itemised on that page.

Ask for the breakdown. See our guide to transferring a UAE visa to a new passport.

GDRFA contact

Toll free 8005111, international +971 4 313 9999, amer@gdrfad.gov.ae. Digital channels run 24/7; Amer centres during normal operating hours.

ICP — federal identity and residence

ServiceFeeNote
Amendment of residency permit dataAED 150 + AED 100 = AED 250The AED 150 is published as the fee for replacing the Emirates ID card to update displayed information; AED 100 is smart services. Completion 2 days
Data UpdateAED 50Smart service fee. Covers non-essential data only — phone, email, address
Status adjustmentAED 500Published on the Issuing Residency Permit service card
Do not confuse those first two

ICP’s Data Update at AED 50 looks like the cheap option and covers only phone number, email and address. It will not update passport data.

People complete it after renewing a passport, believe they are compliant, and discover months later that the residence record still points at the old document. The service you need for a passport change is Amendment of Residency Permit Data.

ICP services require UAE Pass login. Call centre 600522222. Note the legal obligation behind these: under Federal Law No. 9 of 2006, an ID card holder must report any change in card details within one month from the date of change.

DED / DET — commercial licensing

ItemFee
Licence register feeAED 600
Trade name advertisementsAED 350
Service request formAED 50
Knowledge DirhamAED 10
Innovation DirhamAED 10
Foreign trade name feeAED 1,000 – 3,000
General trading activityAED 3,000
Investment activityAED 3,000
Construction contracting activitiesAED 3,000
Business centre activityAED 5,000
Market feeCalculated from registered rent, retrieved from RERA
Accommodation feeApplied per owners and partners on the licence
General cleaning feesCalculated at renewal
Why two identical companies pay different totals

Three of the lines above are calculated from your own circumstances rather than published as fixed amounts: the market fee from your registered rent, the accommodation fee from your registered owners and partners, and cleaning fees at renewal.

That is why nobody can quote your exact licence renewal without your licence in front of them — and why a rent increase at your last lease renewal raises your licence cost the following year.

Full process, conditions and the RERA dependency in our trade licence renewal guide.

Which authority do you actually need?

Most wasted time in this process comes from approaching the wrong body. This router covers the transactions people most often get wrong.

What you needAuthorityWhere
Work permit, quota, labour contract, EmiratisationMoHREmohre.gov.ae, app, 600590000
Residence visa, entry permit, status change — DubaiGDRFA Dubaigdrfad.gov.ae, Amer centres, 8005111
Residence visa — other emiratesICPicp.gov.ae, app, 600522222
Emirates ID — anywhere in the UAEICPAlways ICP
Establishment card — DubaiGDRFA DubaiDigital 24/7, or Amer
Trade licence, activities, trade nameDED / DETBusiness Dashboard, app, SMS 6969
Tenancy registration for the licenceRERA / DLDRequired before licence renewal
Attestation of foreign documentsMOFA plus the issuing countryLargely incurred abroad first
Degree equivalencyMoHRESeparate from attestation
Medical fitnessDHA in DubaiTiered by speed
The two that catch people most often

Emirates ID is always ICP, wherever you live and whoever issued your residence visa. Dubai residents deal with GDRFA for residency and ICP for the card, and assume one body handles both.

Attestation is mostly not a UAE process. The bulk of it happens in the country that issued the document, before MOFA ever sees it. People budget for the UAE end and are surprised by the rest — and by the timeline, which is usually the longest item in a family file.

MOFA and attestation

Attestation is the line most likely to exceed the visa it supports, and the one least controllable from inside the UAE.

StageWho chargesNote
Notarisation and home-country attestationAuthorities in the issuing countryVaries entirely by country; often the largest share
UAE embassy or consulate in that countryUAE mission abroadSet per mission
MOFA attestation in the UAEMOFAPer document
Legal translation, where requiredApproved translatorNot a government fee
Why we do not publish an all-in attestation total

Because the foreign portion is set by authorities we do not control and changes independently of anything the UAE publishes. A single “attestation costs X” figure would be accurate for one country, one document type, one month.

Price it as two separate budgets: the foreign stages, quoted for your specific country and document, and the UAE stage. Our attestation cost guide sets out the UAE side and the country-specific routes we handle most.

Degree equivalency is a separate transaction

Frequently confused with attestation and budgeted as though it were included. It is a distinct MoHRE application that happens after attestation, required for many regulated professions, with its own fee and its own timeline.

A candidate whose degree is attested but not equivalency-assessed is not ready for a permit in those professions. Establish early whether the role requires it, because discovering it late adds weeks to a hire.

DHA — medical fitness

Required for residence, priced by how fast you need the result.

TierNote
StandardThe default; adequate where the timeline has slack
UrgentCompresses the result
Same-day / VIPHighest tier, used against a hard deadline

The tier decision is worth making deliberately rather than defaulting to urgent. Paying for speed at the medical stage saves nothing if the file is waiting on attestation or a cancellation elsewhere — a point covered in our medical fitness test guide.

DLD and RERA — tenancy registration

Small in fee terms and disproportionately important, because it gates something much larger.

ItemNote
Tenancy registrationRegistered through the DLD/RERA channels
Why it mattersDED retrieves your rent from RERA to calculate the market fee. Without registration you cannot renew your trade licence
Common failureLease renewed, new contract issued, nobody registers it — discovered months later at licence renewal
The cheapest item on this page with the largest consequence

An unregistered tenancy does not fail loudly. It fails at the moment you try to renew your trade licence — and by then the fix depends on a landlord or agent producing documents to your deadline.

Register the tenancy in the week you sign it, not the week you need it. See our Ejari registration service.

What a real transaction assembles to

Individual fees mean little until they are combined. These are the three most common assemblies, with the government portion separated. All figures assume no outstanding fines against the file.

Assembly one: an establishment getting hiring-ready

ComponentAuthorityPublished position
Trade licence in orderDEDRegister AED 600 + activity fees + calculated lines
Tenancy registeredRERAPrerequisite for the above
Establishment card currentGDRFAAED 280 digital, 48 hours
Taq’eem report validMoHREAED 406
QuotaMoHREFree via website/app

The instructive part is how little of that is expensive. The costly failures are not the fees but the sequence — an unregistered tenancy blocking a licence, which blocks quota, which blocks every hire.

Assembly two: an employee already in the UAE

ComponentAuthorityPublished position
Work permitMoHREVaries by company classification
Status change in countryGDRFAAED 500 + 10 + 10, plus 15 or 50 by applicant type; 48 hours
Medical fitnessDHABy tier
Emirates IDICPBy validity period
Residence stampingGDRFA / ICP
Medical insuranceInsurerMandatory; age-driven

Assembly three: annual company compliance

ItemCadence
Trade licence renewalAnnual — components plus calculated lines
Establishment card renewalAED 280 digital
Tenancy registration currentOn each lease renewal
Taq’eem validityCheck quarterly
Emiratisation positionTwo deadlines: 30 June, 31 December
WPS submissionsMonthly
The pattern across all three

The government fees are modest and knowable. What costs real money is a file falling out of order — a lapsed card, a restriction, an unregistered tenancy — because each one stops transactions rather than charging for them.

Which is why the useful discipline is a monthly pass over the whole file rather than expertise in any single fee. That maintenance is most of what our Dubai PRO services actually consist of, and it is why our clients rarely meet the expensive version of this page.

A last practical note on the router above. Where a transaction touches two authorities, the order is almost always labour first and immigration second: MoHRE approves the permit, then GDRFA or ICP issues the residency that follows from it. Approaching them in the reverse order produces a refusal rather than a queue, because the second body is waiting on a document the first has not issued yet.

The 2026 incentive measures

Two packages approved in 2026 changed what some establishments pay, and the distinction between the two mechanisms matters more than the headline totals.

First packageSecond package
ValueAED 1 billionAED 1.5 billion
Approved30 March 202621 May 2026
From1 April 2026, three to six months33 initiatives over three to 12 months
MechanismLargely deferralsDeferrals and targeted exemptions

The first package deferred, for three months from 1 April 2026 and applying to both new licences and renewals: premium business names, licence amendment fees, newspaper announcement fees, local service fees, accommodation fees, waste management fees and service improvement fees.

The second granted a one-time full exemption from market fees, accommodation allowance fees, general cleaning service fees and foreign trade name fees to named categories — desert safari and camping operators, marina-related businesses, aviation-related activities, drone and fireworks companies, and event management companies. Early childhood facilities registered with KHDA were exempted from licence renewal fees, fines and Dubai Municipality market fees; other KHDA-registered private institutions received deferral and instalment of renewal fees plus deferral of fines.

Deferred is not waived, and the windows were defined

A deferred fee is postponed and still owed. The first package’s announcement stated businesses would be given an update at the end of the three-month period — not that the fees would be written off.

If your payment letter was lighter during that window, hold the cash against the liability rather than treating it as a saving.

Implementation timeframes were set by each responsible government entity. Confirm the current position with the relevant authority before budgeting on any line above.

Penalties

The charges that turn a manageable situation into an expensive one, because they accrue while you decide what to do.

PenaltyAuthorityNote
Emiratisation circumventionMoHREAED 100,000 / 300,000 / 500,000 by occurrence
Emiratisation shortfallMoHREPer Emirati not appointed, per half-year; escalating
Establishment card lapseGDRFANo late fine published. The cost is the freeze on all visa transactions
Emirates ID late renewalICPSee our Emirates ID fine guide
OverstayGDRFA / ICPSee our grace period guide for which tier applies
Trade licence late renewalDEDSee DED late renewal fines
The most expensive penalty is usually not a fine

Note the establishment card row. GDRFA publishes no late renewal fine on its service specifications — and letting the card lapse is nonetheless one of the costliest failures on this page.

It stops work permits, entry permits, residence issuance and renewal, cancellations and dependant sponsorship. A single hire delayed three weeks costs multiples of the AED 280 renewal that would have prevented it.

The same logic applies across this section: the fines are visible and mostly modest. The freezes are invisible and expensive.

The costs nobody quotes you

None of these are hidden by the authorities. They are left out of quotes because they are variable, or because the party quoting your visa is not the party charging them.

CostWhy it is omitted
Medical insuranceMandatory, priced on the individual; age drives it far more than anything else. For an older parent it can exceed the visa cost
AttestationVaries by issuing country, largely incurred abroad, and frequently exceeds the visa it supports
Degree equivalencyA separate MoHRE application after attestation, for regulated professions
Urgent processingPublished where it exists — AED 100 on the establishment card, AED 100 on residence data amendment
Typing centre chargesNot government fees; vary by centre
Outstanding finesAnything against your file must clear before the transaction moves
Tax and collection chargesMoHRE states its published fees exclude these

How to read any quote you receive

AskWhat you are testing
Split the government fee from the service fee, in writingWhether you are being quoted a price or sold a bundle
What is excluded?Insurance, attestation, urgent handling and existing fines are the four most common omissions
What could change this figure?MoHRE classification for employment; registered rent for a licence; attestation status for family
What happens if it is refused?Application fees are generally not refunded
Which authority collects each line?Lets you check it against the sections above
Why we publish this at all

Publishing the government side makes our own pricing checkable, which is the point. We pass these fees through at published cost and state our charge separately, so you can see which is which.

If you would rather not assemble the comparison yourself, send us the relevant document — trade licence, passport page, labour contract or tenancy — and we will come back with the government fees at cost, our fee stated separately, and anything already outstanding against your file. That is how our PRO services in Dubai are quoted, every time.

Why identical transactions get quoted so differently

This is the question behind most visits to a page like this, and it has four concrete answers rather than one vague one about markups.

One: the government portion genuinely varies

Several lines are not fixed prices at all. Work permit fees move with your MoHRE company classification. The market fee is calculated from your registered rent. The accommodation fee reflects your registered owners and partners. Emirates ID is priced by validity period. Medical fitness is priced by tier.

Two companies quoted differently for “the same” transaction may both be quoted correctly, because the transactions are not the same.

Two: the service fee is unregulated

Nothing caps what a provider charges for its own time, and there is no reason it should. What matters is whether you can see it. A quote that separates government from service lets you judge the service fee on its merits; a bundled number does not.

Where an official cap does exist, it is published

MoHRE publishes a maximum business centre commission of AED 72 on the quota service. GDRFA publishes an AED 100 Amer surcharge on establishment card issuance.

Those are the exceptions rather than the rule, which is precisely why they are worth knowing: where an authority has capped or published an intermediary charge, you can check it exactly.

Three: the scope quoted is different

One provider quotes the transaction; another quotes the transaction plus the medical, the Emirates ID, the insurance and the typing. Both numbers are honest and they are not comparable.

Before comparing two quotes, establish that they cover the same list. The four most common omissions are medical insurance, attestation, urgent handling and outstanding fines.

Four: something is already wrong with the file

A provider who has looked at your file may be pricing a restriction, an expired card or a classification issue that the other has not noticed yet. The higher quote is sometimes the accurate one.

If two quotes differ sharply, ask the higher one what they found. It is occasionally the most useful question in the whole exercise.

A checking routine you can run yourself

Everything on this page is verifiable without a provider. If you want to establish your own position before asking anyone for a price, this is the order.

StepCheckWhere
1Available work permit quota — not approved, availableMoHRE inquiry service, app, 600590000
2Establishment file status — any restrictionMoHRE
3Your establishment classificationMoHRE — it sets your permit fees
4Establishment card expiryGDRFA
5Trade licence expiry and activity listDED
6Tenancy registered and currentRERA
7Taq’eem validityMoHRE
8Any outstanding fines against the fileRelevant authority
Eight checks, all free, most of them instant

Run these before you ask anyone for a quote and two things happen. You find out whether the transaction you want is even possible right now — and you can tell immediately whether a provider has actually looked at your file or is quoting from a price list.

It is also the exact sequence we run before quoting, which is why we sometimes come back saying the thing you asked for is not the thing you need yet.

Approved is not available

Worth isolating because it causes more avoidable disappointment than any other misreading on this page.

Your approved quota is the total headcount you are permitted. Your available quota is what remains after the permits already issued. A company approved for twenty with eighteen active permits has two available, not twenty.

Check the available figure, and check it before extending an offer rather than after. It is free, it takes minutes, and it prevents the most expensive sequence in this entire guide — an accepted offer that cannot be processed.

Planning around the fees rather than reacting to them

A short calendar turns nearly everything on this page from an event into a routine.

FrequencyCheckWhy
MonthlyAvailable quota; file restrictions; WPS submittedThe three that block hiring silently
QuarterlyEstablishment classification; Taq’eem; activity list against planned rolesEach changes what you pay or what you may do
Twice a yearEmiratisation position30 June and 31 December deadlines
90 days before expiryTrade licence; establishment cardBoth block everything downstream
On every lease renewalRegister the tenancy immediatelyBlocks licence renewal otherwise
Before every offerAvailable quota for that specific professionPrevents the worst outcome
The asymmetry that makes this worth doing

Every check above is free and takes minutes. Every one of them, left unchecked, can stop a transaction at the point where stopping it is most expensive.

Trivial and constant cost against occasional and severe cost is exactly the profile of a task people skip — and exactly the profile of a task worth systematising.

If you would rather not hold that calendar yourself, it is what a retained arrangement buys: not the transactions, but the file being in a state where the transactions go through. Our guide to why companies use PRO services covers where that pays and where it does not.

What we will and will not publish here

Worth stating plainly, because it explains the shape of this page.

We will publish any fee the collecting authority publishes, with the authority named, the components itemised, and the date noted where a figure escalates over time.

We will not publish a computed current-year figure for a fee that escalates, an all-in total that bundles foreign authorities’ charges, an averaged free zone cost, or a penalty an authority does not publish. In each of those cases the honest output is a marked gap and a phone number.

That makes this page less satisfying than a list where every cell contains a number. It also makes the numbers that are here worth relying on, which is the trade we would rather make.

One more reason quotes diverge: timing

A quote prepared in March and a quote prepared in July may both be right and still differ, because the 2026 incentive packages moved several lines through deferrals and exemptions with defined windows.

If you are comparing a quote against an older one, or against a figure a colleague was given last quarter, establish when each was prepared before concluding that somebody has raised their prices. Deferred fees in particular can make an earlier quote look lighter than a later one for identical work, without anything having changed except the calendar.

Fees that are free, and fees people pay twice

Two categories worth isolating, because between them they account for a large share of avoidable spend.

Services that are free through the authority’s own channel

ServicePosition
Work permit quotaMoHRE publishes it as free via website and app — government fees only
Quota and file status checksFree through the MoHRE inquiry service, app, chatbot and 600590000
Establishment card statusCheckable through GDRFA’s channels
Licence status and expiryCheckable through DED’s channels
Proactive quotaMoHRE: awarded without an application or any documentation
The proactive quota line is worth reading twice

MoHRE states that a proactive quota is awarded without submitting an application or any documentation to the Ministry, as a subsidiary procedure attached to opening and updating the establishment file.

Businesses routinely start an application — and sometimes pay for one — for quota already sitting against their file.

Check what you hold before you apply for anything. It is free, it takes minutes, and it occasionally makes the whole transaction unnecessary.

Charges people pay twice

SituationWhy it happens
Using the wrong ICP service after a new passportData Update at AED 50 does not cover passport data; the correct amendment is then still owed
Urgent processing on a file blocked elsewherePaying for speed at one stage while another stage holds the file
Applying for quota that already existsThe proactive award was never checked
Re-submitting a refused application unchangedApplication fees are generally not refunded, and the failed condition still fails
Renewing against an old registered addressThe licence must be amended; the renewal cannot proceed as lodged
Paying a centre for a service open digitallyConvenience is legitimate — but it should be a choice, not a default
The common thread

Every row above is a sequencing error rather than a pricing error. Nobody was overcharged; the transaction was simply attempted in the wrong order, or before a prerequisite existed.

That is the argument for the eight free checks in the previous section. Most money wasted on government transactions is not lost to markups — it is lost to paying for something that could not have worked yet.

Budgeting: fixed, variable and conditional

A useful way to structure any estimate, because it tells you which lines you can rely on and which will move.

TypeExamplesHow to treat it
Fixed and publishedDED register fee AED 600; establishment card AED 280 digital; Taq’eem AED 406; ICP amendment AED 250; GDRFA status amendment AED 500 baseBudget exactly
Variable by your circumstancesMarket fee from rent; accommodation fee from partners; work permit by classification; Emirates ID by validityBudget from last year’s actuals, adjusted
ConditionalUrgent fees; Amer surcharge; foreign trade name fee; degree equivalencyInclude only if the condition applies to you
Outside government controlMedical insurance; foreign attestation stages; legal translationQuote separately, per case
EscalatingEmiratisation contributionConfirm the current-period figure before budgeting
Not publishedEstablishment card late fine; GDRFA residence amendment base fee; free zone schedulesCall the authority
Start from last year’s actuals, not from a price list

For anything recurring — licence renewal, establishment card, the annual compliance cycle — your own previous payment letter is a better predictor than any published range, because it was calculated against your actual establishment.

Then adjust for the two things that genuinely move: whether your rent changed, and whether your classification changed. Those two explain most year-on-year variance.

Keep the payment letters. Most companies discard them once paid, and then have no way to explain an increase twelve months later.

If a figure here does not match what you have been told

It happens, and the resolution order is worth knowing.

The authority is right. If MoHRE, GDRFA, ICP or DED tells you something different today, take their figure. Fees are revised, sometimes without wide announcement, and this page is maintained rather than live.

Check you are comparing the same thing. A great many apparent discrepancies are a government fee being compared against a bundled total, a Dubai figure against a federal one, or a standard tier against an urgent one.

Then tell us. If a published figure on this page has moved, we would rather correct it than have it quietly go stale. That is the whole basis on which a reference page like this is worth publishing at all.

Want the exact government cost for your own transaction, with our fee stated separately? Send us the relevant document — trade licence, passport page, labour contract or tenancy — and we will come back with the split and anything already outstanding against your file.

Get an itemised quote

Keep the receipts

One habit that makes every future comparison easier: keep the itemised breakdown for every government transaction you pay for, alongside the document it produced.

A year later, when a renewal comes in higher or a provider quotes a figure you want to test, your own prior breakdown is the most reliable benchmark available — better than any published range, because it was calculated against your actual establishment rather than an average one.

Individuals and companies are charged differently

A distinction the authorities publish and almost nobody reproduces, and it explains a category of quote discrepancy that otherwise looks arbitrary.

ServiceIndividualEstablishment
GDRFA status amendmentIndividual fee AED 15Establishment fee AED 50
Who appliesA person acting for themselvesA company acting for an employee

The amounts are small; the principle is not. It tells you that the authority prices by who is applying, not only by what is being done — so a quote prepared for a company file and a quote prepared for an individual are not directly comparable, even for the identical transaction.

The same logic runs through several services in different forms: an employer-sponsored file carries obligations and documents that a self-applying individual does not, which is why the document lists diverge even where the headline fee matches.

Establish which side of the line you are on first

Before comparing any quote, be clear whether the transaction is being lodged by you personally or by your employer or company. Several document requirements — establishment card for investors and partners, labour contract or Employment ID for private-sector sponsored staff, a letter for government-sector sponsored staff — follow from that single fact.

Quotes that look wildly different frequently turn out to be answering the two different versions of the same question.

Free zone entities and this page

A short but necessary caveat, since a large share of Dubai companies sit in a free zone.

The federal and Dubai-wide lines on this page still apply to you: Emirates ID through ICP, medical fitness through DHA, attestation through MOFA and the issuing country, degree equivalency through MoHRE, and the residence process itself through GDRFA or ICP.

What does not apply is the licensing and labour layer. Your licence fees, facility charges, visa allocation and establishment card handling are set by your zone, published by your zone, and differ between zones. None of the DED figures above describe your position.

Get that schedule from your zone in writing, and set it against the federal lines here. Our free zone vs mainland guide sets out exactly which layers differ and which are identical.

Keeping this page useful to you

A closing note on how to get value from a reference like this over time rather than once.

The figures here are components, and components are stable in a way that totals are not. A published card fee of AED 200 or a Taq’eem fee of AED 406 changes rarely; the total of your particular transaction changes constantly, because it depends on your rent, your classification, your tier choices and what is currently outstanding against your file.

So use the components to check quotes and the free checks to establish your own position, and treat any all-in figure — including one we give you — as valid for the file it was calculated against, on the day it was calculated.

The one habit worth taking from this page

Ask for the split, every time, from everyone. Government fee on one line, service fee on another, exclusions listed.

It is a reasonable request, it takes a provider two minutes, and the response tells you more about who you are dealing with than any amount of comparison shopping. Providers who work this way find it unremarkable. Providers who do not will explain why it is complicated.

A note on why the totals move so much

If you take one structural idea from this page, make it this one: the UAE publishes components, and providers quote totals. Almost every confusion about government fees lives in the gap between those two things.

A component is stable, attributable and checkable. The GDRFA establishment card fee is AED 200. Taq’eem is AED 406. The DED licence register fee is AED 600. None of those has moved in a way that would surprise anyone who checked last year.

A total is none of those things. It depends on how many components your particular transaction triggers, which calculated lines apply to your establishment, what tier you chose, which channel you lodged through, whether anything was already outstanding, and what the provider charges for assembling it. Two totals can differ by thousands while every underlying component is identical and correct.

This is why a page of components is more useful than a page of totals, even though a page of totals is what everybody wants. Totals answer one transaction on one day for one company. Components let you check any quote you are ever given, including ours.

Where each figure comes from, and where the gaps are

A reference page is only as good as its provenance, so here is the honest accounting of what is published, what is dated, and what is simply not available.

FigureStatus
MoHRE quota: free via website/app, Taq’eem AED 406, centre cap AED 72Published on the service specification
GDRFA establishment card: AED 200 + VAT + 10 + 10 + 50, 48 hoursPublished on both issuance and renewal cards
GDRFA status amendment: AED 500 + 10 + 10, individual 15 / establishment 50Published, 48-hour completion stated
ICP residency data amendment: AED 150 + AED 100Published, 2-day completion stated
ICP Data Update: AED 50Published
DED licence componentsPublished; three lines are calculated per establishment
Emiratisation contribution AED 42,000Dated — published May 2023, escalates annually
GDRFA residence data amendment base feeNot published on the service page — gap marked, not filled
Establishment card late renewal fineNot published — no penalty appears on either service card
Free zone fees of any kindNot centrally published — set by each zone
Market, accommodation and cleaning feesCalculated per establishment, not fixed
Why the gaps are left visible

It would be easy to fill every empty cell with a number found somewhere online. Most pages covering UAE fees do exactly that, which is why their figures disagree with each other and with the authorities.

A reference that marks its gaps is more useful than one that hides them, because it tells you precisely where you need to make a phone call — and it means the figures that are here can be relied on.

Where a cell says not published, the answer is a call to the authority: MoHRE 600590000, GDRFA 8005111, ICP 600522222.

Fees change, sometimes quietly

Everything on this page was verified against the publishing authority, and every figure has a shelf life. UAE government fees are revised periodically and not always with wide announcement, and several vary by activity, emirate and company classification.

Treat this page as a checking tool rather than a contract. If a figure here disagrees with what an authority tells you today, the authority is right and we would be glad to know about it.

Government fee questions

Are UAE government fees fixed?

Most are published at set rates, but several are genuinely variable: work permit fees by MoHRE company classification, the market fee as a function of your registered rent, the accommodation fee by registered owners and partners, and medical fitness by processing tier.

Ranges on this page reflect real variation rather than uncertainty, and lines that are calculated per establishment are marked as such.

Why do two providers quote such different prices for the same transaction?

Because the government portion is fixed and the service fee is not. Ask both to separate the two and the difference becomes visible immediately.

A refusal to itemise usually means the margin is the larger part of the number.

Which services are free through the authority?

MoHRE publishes work permit quota as free through its website and application, with only government fees applying — Taq’eem at AED 406 — and business centre commission capped at AED 72.

Digital channels at GDRFA and ICP are open 24/7, so several transactions can be lodged directly without a centre’s charge.

What does it cost to update my residence record after a new passport?

Through ICP: AED 150 for replacing the Emirates ID card to update displayed information, plus AED 100 smart services — AED 250, with a published completion of 2 days.

Through GDRFA Dubai the service page lists an urgent fee of AED 100, an innovation fee of AED 10 and a AED 100 printing fee via ZAJEL, but no standard base fee.

How much is an establishment card in Dubai?

AED 200 plus 5% VAT, plus AED 10 Knowledge Dirham, AED 10 Innovation Dirham and a AED 50 service fee — AED 280 lodged digitally, with a published completion of 48 hours.

The urgent fee adds AED 100, and GDRFA publishes an additional AED 100 on the issuance service where the application is submitted through an Amer centre.

What is the market fee?

A charge calculated from the rent on your registered premises, which DED retrieves from RERA using your contract number. It is why mainland licence renewal totals vary so widely between otherwise identical companies, and why a rent increase raises your licence cost the following year.

Which fees are most often left out of quotes?

Medical insurance, document attestation, MoHRE degree equivalency, urgent processing charges, typing centre charges, and any fines already recorded against your file.

MoHRE also states that its published fees exclude tax and collection charges.

Do government fees change often?

They are revised periodically, sometimes without wide announcement, and 2026 saw two Dubai incentive packages altering several lines through deferrals and targeted exemptions with defined windows.

Confirm before budgeting from any published figure, including this page.

Are application fees refunded if I am refused?

Generally no. That is the practical argument for having eligibility assessed before submitting rather than after — particularly where a refusal is also recorded.

Why does this page not list free zone fees?

Because there is no central publication of them. Each free zone sets and publishes its own licence, facility and visa costs, and they differ substantially.

A single averaged “free zone cost” describes no actual zone. Get the schedule from the specific zone in writing — see our free zone vs mainland comparison.

Individual fees mean little until they are assembled into a real transaction. For what a complete file costs, line by line with the order of payment, see our PRO services cost reference and our employment visa cost breakdown. You can also estimate common cases with the visa cost estimator.

Official sources

  • Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation — Work Permit Quotas For Establishments; Emiratisation Targets; news releases of 4 May 2023 and 7 May 2026. mohre.gov.ae
  • General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs – Dubai — Issuance and Renewal of Establishment Card; Status Amendment; Amendment of all types of residence permit data; Contact Information. gdrfad.gov.ae
  • Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security — Amendment of Residency Permit Data; Data Update; ID Card Holder’s Duties under Federal Law No. 9 of 2006. icp.gov.ae
  • Dubai Economy / Department of Economy and Tourism — trade licence fee components and the market fee calculated from RERA-registered rent
  • Government of Dubai Media Office, 30 March and 2 April 2026; Government of Dubai, 21 May 2026 — the AED 1 billion and AED 1.5 billion economic incentive packages
  • The Official Platform of the UAE Government, u.ae

Figures are reproduced as published by the collecting authority, with the publication date stated where a figure escalates. Gaps are marked rather than filled.

Please note. General information, not legal or financial advice. UAE government fees are revised periodically, sometimes with little notice, and several vary by activity, emirate, legal form and company classification. Free zone costs are set by each zone individually and are not covered here. Confirm the current position for your specific transaction with the collecting authority before committing funds.

MA

Written by

Mir Ali

Mir Ali runs MIRDXB PRO, an Amer & Tasheel authorised typing centre partner in Dubai. He has personally processed more than 5,000 visa, Emirates ID and labour files across MOHRE, GDRFA, ICP and DED, and writes these guides from the counter rather than from a marketing desk.

More about the team →

Need this handled?

Stop reading. Let us file it for you.

We prepare and submit applications directly at Amer and Tasheel on your written authorisation — with a fixed quote before we start and no hidden mark-ups on government fees.

Fees and rules quoted in this guide were correct at the date shown and change without notice — see our disclaimer. For the position on your own file, contact us. We work to published terms and handle documents under our privacy policy.