Key takeaways
- Golden visa family sponsorship (UAE) covers your spouse, your children regardless of age, and your parents, each on a renewable ten-year residence. This is written in Article 3 of the Annex to Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022 and repeated in ICP’s Golden Residence guide.
- Sons over 25 and adult daughters stay on your file. The age limit of 25 that applies to other residents does not apply when you sponsor family on a Golden visa.
- Domestic workers are allowed “in accordance with” your financial solvency. No fixed number is published. MOHRE asks for a written explanation for more than five domestic workers.
- No separate minimum salary for the family is published for Golden visa holders. ICP’s general family card still prints AED 4,000, or AED 3,000 plus housing, and GDRFA expects you to support your family without government help.
- If the Golden visa holder dies, the family may stay in the UAE for the remaining validity of their own permits (Annex, Article 3; ICP).
- Golden visa holders and their family members get a 180-day grace period after cancellation or expiry, the longest tier on ICP’s card.
- Each dependant is a separate file: residence, Emirates ID, a medical test from age 18, and health insurance. Marriage and birth certificates issued abroad must be attested.
- Dubai files go to GDRFA (or DLD for property owners); the other emirates go to ICP. Dependants who want to work need a MOHRE family-sponsored work permit, not the Golden visa holder permit.
Golden visa family sponsorship is the right of a UAE Golden visa holder to obtain residence permits for their spouse, their children regardless of age and their parents, for a renewable period of ten years, and to recruit domestic workers in line with their financial means. The rule sits in Article 3 of the Annex to Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022, the Executive Regulation of Federal Decree-Law No. 29 of 2021 on the Entry and Residence of Foreigners. ICP’s Golden Residence guide repeats it, and adds that if the holder dies, the family may remain for the validity of their permits. Each family member still needs attested kinship documents, health insurance, an Emirates ID and, from 18, a medical test.
This guide replaces our earlier page, which said the family of a property Golden visa holder received only five years, that sons over 18 were “substantially relaxed” rather than allowed at any age, and that parents were not automatic. Those points were wrong or vague. Every statement below was re-checked on 23 September 2026, and the fees again on 22 October 2026, against the law, ICP, GDRFA Dubai, the Dubai Land Department, MOHRE and u.ae. Where the official sources are silent or disagree, we say so and show both.
Golden visa family sponsorship at a glance
If you read one table, read this one. It lists every relative people ask us about, whether a Golden visa holder can sponsor them, for how long, and where the rule is written.
| Relative | Can you sponsor family on a Golden visa? | Permit length | Where it is written |
|---|---|---|---|
| Golden visa spouse (wife or husband) | Yes | 10 years, renewable | Annex to Cabinet Resolution 65/2022, Art. 3(1); ICP Golden Residence guide |
| Son, any age | Yes, “regardless of age” | 10 years | Same |
| Daughter, any age | Yes | 10 years | Same |
| Married son or daughter | Not clear. The DLD channel asks for an undertaking that children over 18 are not married | Not stated | DLD Golden visa (investor) page |
| Child with special needs | Yes, at any age | 10 years | Annex Art. 3(1); Art. 54 for other residents |
| Stepchild, adopted child, child under guardianship | Not in the Golden text. Dubai uses GDRFA’s humanitarian residence service | Committee decision | GDRFA humanitarian cases card |
| Mother and father | Yes | 10 years (other residents: one year at a time) | Annex Art. 3(1); ICP guide; u.ae |
| Parents-in-law, brothers, sisters | Not listed for Golden visa holders (ICP says outstanding high-school students may sponsor parents and brothers) | Not stated | ICP FAQ |
| Domestic workers | Yes, “in accordance with his financial solvency”; over five needs a written explanation | MOHRE permit 1 or 2 years (optional for Golden visa holders) | Annex Art. 3(2); MOHRE domestic worker permit card |

Golden visa family sponsorship: how MIRDXB PRO helps
Most people who contact us already hold a Golden residence, or have just been approved, and want the family on it without a wasted trip. The questions are practical: can a 27-year-old son be added, do parents need a salary test, why DLD asks for a different document from GDRFA, what happens to the family file if the property is sold. We are a PRO and visa services firm in Al Barsha 1 and we handle family files at GDRFA in Dubai, through the Dubai Land Department channel for property owners, and through ICP for the other emirates. For the Golden residence itself, see our Golden visa service in Dubai; for a family file on a standard residence, see our family residence visa service.
What we do
- Check each relative against the published rule (Annex Article 3, the ICP guide, the GDRFA or DLD channel) and tell you in writing who can be sponsored and what each one needs.
- Choose the channel. GDRFA through Amer, the DLD route for a property Golden residence, or ICP outside Dubai. The channel decides the fee lines and the documents.
- Prepare the kinship evidence: attested marriage and birth certificates, the father’s no-objection letter when the mother sponsors, and the consulate dependency certificate for parents. Attestation runs through our marriage certificate attestation and birth certificate attestation services.
- Bring family in from abroad on an entry permit, then change status inside the UAE, so they do not have to leave and re-enter.
- Handle domestic worker permits through MOHRE and the residence afterwards, through our domestic worker visa service.
- Plan for change: a divorce, a death in the family, a Golden residence that is about to lapse, or a child who wants to work.
How it works
- WhatsApp us a copy of your Golden residence (or approval), the list of family members with their dates of birth and where each one is now, and the first digit of your residence file number (2 means Dubai).
- We reply with the rule that applies to each person, the documents to prepare, the government fees per person and our own fee in writing.
- You approve and send documents. We start attestation first, because it is usually the slowest step.
- We file each application at GDRFA, DLD or ICP, book medicals and biometrics, and send you each application number.
- We hand over the issued permits and Emirates IDs with a note of every expiry date to watch, including insurance.
What it costs
Government fees are passed on at cost, with the official receipts. On GDRFA’s published family lines, a dependant in Dubai costs AED 2,310 to AED 3,080 for ten years before insurance, depending on age and on whether they are already inside the UAE, plus AED 210 once to open the sponsor file; the DLD channel charges AED 5,774.50 plus AED 100 per family member. The full line-by-line build is in our Golden visa cost guide. Our own fee depends on the number of people, the channel and whether documents need attestation, and is quoted in writing before we start. Our published packages are on the fees page.
Why residents use us
- We cite the official source for every rule and fee, and we show you the government receipt.
- We work across all three channels (GDRFA, DLD and ICP), so we can tell you which one fits your file rather than the one we happen to use.
- We tell you when you do not need us. A single spouse file in Dubai can be done on the GDRFA app, and we will say so.
- We can act for family members who are abroad under a power of attorney, where the authority accepts it.
- Our office is in Al Barsha 1, open by appointment; whatsApp us any time, 24 hours; office open Monday to Friday, 9:00 to 18:00 (Dubai time).
What the law says about golden visa family sponsorship
The Golden residence is regulated in the Annex to Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022. Article 3 of that Annex, headed “Rewards of Golden Residence Permit Holders”, contains four provisions; three are about the family. The third (a six-month entry visa for Golden applicants abroad) concerns the holder. Most of what circulates online paraphrases the text loosely, so here it is.
| Annex, Article 3 | Text (official English translation) | What it means for your family |
|---|---|---|
| Clause 1 | “Residence Permits may be issued to family members of the Foreigner who has obtained Golden Residence Permit, including the spouse and children, regardless of age and parents, for a renewable period of (10) ten years.” | Spouse, children of any age and parents, each on ten years. This is the core of golden visa family sponsorship. |
| Clause 2 | “The Foreigner who holds Golden Residence Permit may recruit Domestic Service Workers in accordance with his financial solvency.” | Domestic workers, with the number tied to your means rather than a fixed cap. |
| Clause 4 | “In the event of the death of the family supporter who obtained the Golden Residence Permit, the dependent family members may remain in the State for the duration of the Residence granted to them.” | The family is not forced out when the Golden visa holder dies. |
ICP’s Golden Residence guide (updated 10 September 2026) states the same benefits in plainer words: “The ability to obtain residence permits for spouses and children, regardless of their age, as well as for parents”; “The ability to sponsor domestic workers in accordance with the applicable regulations and procedures in the UAE”; and that sponsored family members “may remain in the UAE for the duration of the validity of the residence permits granted to them” if the holder dies. The federal portal u.ae is shorter still: it lists “the ability to sponsor family members, including spouses and children” and does not mention parents or domestic workers. The law and ICP are the fuller sources, so we follow them.
Read clause 1 carefully. The family receive “Residence Permits” sponsored by the Golden visa holder. They do not each become Golden residence holders. That distinction matters later in this guide: for the work permit a dependant needs, for time spent outside the UAE, and for what happens when the Golden visa holder’s own permit ends. ICP does treat them as a group for one benefit, the 180-day grace period, which it gives to Golden visa holders “and their family members”.
Golden visa for family: who you can sponsor
This section takes each relative in turn. For each one it sets out the published rule, the documents that prove the relationship, and the points where files most often stall.
Golden visa spouse sponsorship: wife or husband
A Golden visa holder can sponsor a wife or a husband. The Annex says “spouse”, without limiting it to wives, so a woman holding a Golden residence can sponsor her husband on the same ten-year basis. The relationship is proved by a marriage certificate: if the marriage took place outside the UAE, the certificate must be attested in the country of issue, by that country’s foreign ministry and the UAE embassy there, and then by the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs. A UAE-issued marriage contract from a UAE court does not need that chain.
The golden visa spouse file is usually the simplest in the family. It slows down when names on the certificate and passports do not match exactly, or when the certificate needs legal translation. Our attestation process guide explains the order, and the apostille versus attestation guide covers documents from Apostille countries.
A spouse aged 18 or over sits the medical fitness test, as every adult resident does. A spouse who is already in the UAE on a visit visa or another residence can usually change status inside the country instead of leaving; the inside-country fee then applies (AED 500 on GDRFA and ICP cards).
Where both spouses qualify in their own right, for example as specialised professionals, each can hold a Golden residence and neither needs to sponsor the other. That can make sense when careers or assets are separate. It costs more, because two Golden residences cost more than one Golden residence plus a dependant permit. Ask us to price both before you decide.
Children, including sons over 25
For ordinary residents, Article 54 of Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022 allows sons “under 25”, unmarried daughters without an age limit, and children with special needs regardless of age. Golden visa holders are outside that limit: the Annex allows “children, regardless of age”. A son of 27 who is still living with the family can be on a Golden visa holder’s file for ten years. Our son visa age limit guide explains the rule for other residents in detail.
Two points are less clear than the headline:
- Married children. The Annex says “regardless of age” and says nothing about marital status. The Dubai Land Department’s Golden visa page, however, asks for “an undertaking that the daughters or sons over 18 years of age are not married”. A married son or daughter would normally be sponsored by their own spouse, or hold their own residence. If this applies to you, ask GDRFA or ICP before you file.
- Children with special needs. They are covered twice: by “regardless of age” in the Annex, and by the general rule for all residents. Bring the medical report that proves the condition, because the file will be reviewed like any other adult dependant.
Every child’s file needs an attested birth certificate naming the sponsoring parent. If the mother is the sponsor, DLD’s page and GDRFA’s family entry permit card both ask for a no-objection letter from the father, notarised. In practice, where the parents are divorced or live apart, counters may also ask for the custody order.
Stepchildren, adopted children and children under guardianship
The Golden text covers “children”, and neither ICP nor GDRFA publishes a Golden rule for stepchildren or adopted children. In Dubai, GDRFA’s “Issuance of a residence permit for humanitarian cases” is the route used for stepchildren and for children under adoption or guardianship, with a court certificate where relevant, committee review and a guarantee of AED 5,000 per request. Outside Dubai, ICP’s issuing card does not list a stepchild category. If your family includes a stepchild, plan this person separately and expect a one-year renewable permit rather than ten years, until an authority confirms otherwise.
Golden visa parents: mother and father
Parents are the relatives who gain the most. For ordinary residents, u.ae says parents’ residence “will be granted on a yearly basis regardless of the duration of the sponsor’s visa”, and in Dubai the parents route runs through the humanitarian service, with a published minimum salary of AED 10,000 and an AED 5,000 guarantee per request. For a Golden visa holder, the Annex gives parents ten years, on the same footing as a spouse or children.
The documents are heavier than for a spouse. The DLD page lists “a certified dependency certificate from the consulate”, a certified birth certificate of the sponsor (to link parent and child) and health insurance. GDRFA’s FAQ, written for ordinary residents, says parents’ sponsorship “should be for both unless there is death or divorce”. The Golden pages do not repeat that condition. We plan both parents together unless one has died or the parents are divorced, because that is how counters usually read the file.
The cost that matters is insurance. No authority publishes premiums, and for a parent over 60 the annual premium can exceed every government fee for that parent combined. Price the insurance before you apply, and keep it in force: the residence depends on it. Our parents visa sponsorship service handles both golden visa parents files and standard ones.
Parents-in-law, brothers and sisters
The Annex lists spouse, children and parents. It does not list parents-in-law, brothers or sisters. We found no published Golden rule allowing them. One narrow exception appears in ICP’s FAQ: outstanding high-school students who hold a Golden residence “may sponsor the parents and their Brothers”, while university students may sponsor “wife and kids” when they have the financial means. For any other Golden visa holder, parents-in-law and siblings need their own route, such as a visit visa, their own employment or the humanitarian service where it applies.
Domestic workers and support staff
The Annex lets a Golden visa holder recruit domestic workers “in accordance with his financial solvency”. It sets no number. The rule people quote as “unlimited domestic workers” is a loose reading of that sentence: the limit is your means, not zero. MOHRE, which issues domestic worker permits across the UAE, adds two practical points on its “Issuance of a New Work Permit – Domestic Workers” card:
- More than five workers: “Employers employing more than five domestic workers must provide a written explanation outlining the reasons for hiring an additional worker.”
- Permit length: two years for UAE citizens; “optional” one or two years for GCC citizens, diplomats and “holders of golden visa”; one year for other residents.
The same MOHRE card asks expatriate residents to show a family income of at least AED 25,000 a month, with a salary certificate, a bank statement, the marriage contract and the spouse’s residence, and a lease or title deed. The card does not say whether the AED 25,000 figure applies to Golden visa holders or whether the Annex’s “financial solvency” replaces it. ICP’s residence card also lists a guarantee of AED 5,000 a year for the recruitment of domestic workers by a foreign resident. Ask before you assume either is waived. The worker’s residence is not a ten-year permit: it follows the domestic worker rules and is renewed on their cycle.
Is there a minimum salary to sponsor family on a Golden visa?
This is the question the official sources answer least clearly, so here is what each one says.
| Source | What it says | Reading for a Golden visa holder |
|---|---|---|
| Annex to Cabinet Resolution 65/2022, Art. 3 | No income figure for the family; domestic workers “in accordance with his financial solvency” | No separate family salary test in the Golden text |
| ICP Golden Residence guide | No family income figure | Silent |
| ICP “Issuing Residency Permit” card | Foreign residents sponsoring family need AED 4,000 a month, or AED 3,000 with employer housing, and adequate housing | Written for all foreign residents; does not exempt Golden visa holders by name |
| GDRFA Golden investor card | “One of the conditions for maintaining a Golden Residence Permit is the ability to support oneself and one’s family without needing government support” | A self-support condition, not a number |
| GDRFA family entry permit card | AED 4,000, or AED 3,000 plus housing | Written for residents generally |
In practice the question rarely bites. A salaried Golden visa holder has already shown AED 30,000 a month, and a property or investment holder has already shown AED 2 million in assets. The general AED 4,000 figure is well below either. Where it matters is when income drops after the Golden residence is issued, or for categories with no income test, such as outstanding students or some nominated talents. ICP’s FAQ says university students may sponsor family “whenever they have the financial Potential”. If your income is irregular, keep six months of bank statements ready. Our family visa salary requirement guide explains how income is proved on the standard route.
Golden visa for family: how long the permits last
The Annex gives family members of a Golden visa holder residence “for a renewable period of (10) ten years”. ICP’s Golden guide describes the Golden residence itself as ten years with renewal. Two further rules shape the real dates on each family member’s permit.
- A dependant’s permit cannot outlast the sponsor’s. u.ae’s general provisions say “the expiry date of the dependent’s residence visa will not exceed that of the sponsor”, and ICP’s issuing card says family residence validity matches the sponsor’s permit. So a child added in year six of your Golden residence should expect a permit that ends with yours, not a fresh ten years. No Golden page says this in terms; it is how the general rule reads, and we confirm it on each issue.
- The ten-year vs five-year conflict. ICP’s guide, GDRFA’s cards and DLD all describe the property and investor Golden residence as ten years. The summary table on u.ae still says five years for real estate investors and for entrepreneurs. Our earlier page repeated the five-year figure for families of property holders; that was wrong on the current ICP, GDRFA and DLD pages. If your own permit shows five years, your family’s permits cannot run longer than that.
Renewal follows the Golden visa holder. When your Golden residence is renewed, the family members are renewed on their own applications, with a new medical test for adults and new Emirates IDs. Keep the family’s passports valid: GDRFA’s entry permit card asks for at least six months’ validity, and a residence cannot be placed on an expired passport. Our guide to transferring a UAE visa to a new passport covers what to do when a child’s passport is renewed mid-way through a ten-year permit.
Golden visa for family: documents checklist
The documents depend on the relative and the channel. This checklist combines ICP’s issuing card, GDRFA’s family entry permit card and the DLD Golden visa page. Anything issued outside the UAE must be attested (or apostilled where the UAE accepts it) and translated into Arabic or English if it is in another language.
| Document | Golden visa spouse | Child | Parent | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Passport, at least six months’ validity | Yes | Yes | Yes | GDRFA family entry permit card; ICP issuing card |
| Recent colour photo, white background, ICP standard | Yes | Yes | Yes | ICP; DLD |
| Sponsor’s Golden residence (or approval), Emirates ID and passport | Yes | Yes | Yes | DLD; ICP |
| Attested marriage certificate | Yes | Usually, to link both parents | No | ICP (“attested marriage contract”); DLD (“certified marriage contract”) |
| Attested birth certificate | No | Yes, naming the sponsor | The sponsor’s own, to prove the parent link | ICP; DLD |
| Father’s notarised no-objection letter (mother sponsors) | No | Yes | No | DLD; GDRFA family entry permit card |
| Undertaking that children over 18 are unmarried | No | DLD channel | No | DLD |
| Consulate dependency certificate | No | No | Yes | DLD |
| Health insurance | Yes | Yes | Yes | ICP card; DLD; u.ae |
| Medical fitness certificate | If 18 or over | If 18 or over | Yes | u.ae; GDRFA family card |
| Proof of income or employment | ICP asks for an employment certificate for family files | Same | Same | ICP issuing card |
| Tenancy (Ejari) or title deed | Not listed on the Golden pages; keep one ready | Same | Same | Standard family cards ask for adequate housing |
| Extra ID copies for some nationalities | ICP lists ID copies for Afghan, Iranian and Iraqi nationals | ICP issuing card | ||
Start with attestation. A marriage or birth certificate from abroad goes through the issuing country’s process and the UAE embassy there before the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and that can take weeks, depending on the country. You can attest documents before the Golden residence is approved, so there is no reason to wait. Our attestation cost guide lists the published fees, and our document attestation service handles the chain.
The standard family route asks for accommodation suited to the size of the family, and in Dubai that usually means an Ejari or a title deed. Neither the ICP Golden guide nor the DLD Golden page lists a tenancy for the family file. We still advise a current Ejari or title deed in the sponsor’s name, because counters can ask for it and it is quick to produce if it exists. Our guide to Ejari for a family visa explains the standard rule.
How to sponsor family on a Golden visa in Dubai
In Dubai the family file goes to GDRFA Dubai, through the GDRFA website or app, an Amer centre, or GDRFA’s customer happiness centres. Property holders who obtained their Golden residence through the Dubai Land Department can also add family there. The route to sponsor family on a Golden visa in Dubai is the same for spouse, children and parents; only the documents change.
Route 1: GDRFA through Amer or the GDRFA app
- Your Golden residence is issued first, with its Emirates ID application. Family cannot be added to an application that is still pending.
- Family outside the UAE: apply for an entry permit for residence (GDRFA “Issuing an entry visa for residence without work (Family)”). The card prints AED 200 plus VAT (AED 210) and a 48-hour service time. The permit allows entry, and then 60 days from entry to complete residence.
- Family already inside the UAE on a visit visa or another permit: apply directly with a status change. The inside-country fee is AED 500 on GDRFA’s cards.
- Medical fitness test for everyone aged 18 or over, at a DHA-approved centre.
- Health insurance for each dependant, from a DHA-compliant insurer.
- Residence application with the documents above. GDRFA’s family residence card gives 48 hours; its Golden cards give five days.
- Emirates ID: the ICP application is filed with the residence; biometrics are booked for those who need them.
- Issue: the residence is electronic; the Emirates ID card is delivered.
Family members of a Golden visa holder are issued on GDRFA’s family residence lines for the holder’s term: AED 200 for the first two years plus AED 100 for each further year, so AED 1,000 for ten years. Add the entry permit (AED 210), the AED 500 inside-country fee for anyone already in the UAE, the ten-year Emirates ID (AED 1,100) and, from age 18, the medical. The sponsor file is opened once at AED 210. See our GDRFA services guide for the channels.
Route 2: the Dubai Land Department channel for property holders
DLD’s “Request for Golden Visa (Investor)” service includes family residence and parents’ residence. It prints AED 5,774.50 per family member for ten years, a one-off AED 318.75 family file opening, and a line “added for each sponsored person: AED 100”. The service time is seven to ten business days. DLD adds two conditions that do not appear on GDRFA’s pages: “The applicant must be inside the UAE”, and “only the applicant is required to attend, escorts are not allowed to apply nor to apply by a representative is permitted”. DLD is convenient if you are already there for the property residence; GDRFA through Amer usually costs less per person. The property Golden visa guide covers the property side.
How to sponsor family on a Golden visa in the other emirates
Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah use ICP. The service is ICP’s “Issuing Residency Permit”, which lists Golden visa holders and family members among its categories and gives a two-day service time.
- Apply on the UAEICP app or the ICP website, or at an approved typing centre.
- For family abroad, apply first for an entry permit; for family inside the UAE, apply with a status adjustment (AED 500 on ICP’s card).
- Upload passport, photo, attested kinship documents, the sponsor’s documents and health insurance.
- Complete the medical test for adults at the emirate’s approved provider.
- Pay the fees: AED 100 application, AED 100 per year of residence, AED 100 smart services, plus the Emirates ID.
- Complete biometrics for the Emirates ID where required.
ICP’s card also lists a “financial guarantee for the investor’s family residency” of AED 3,000 per member, up to AED 15,000. It does not say whether this applies to Golden investors or only to standard investor residences. Ask ICP on 600522222 before you file. Our ICP versus GDRFA guide explains which authority handles which residence.

Processing times across all residence services are compared in our UAE visa processing times guide.
Golden visa dependants: fees per person (summary)
Every family member is a separate residence, a separate Emirates ID and, from 18, a separate medical test. No card we read offers a family discount. The table below is a summary of the published government lines for a dependant already inside the UAE. The full build and six worked family totals are in our Golden visa cost guide.
| Dependant (inside the UAE) | Dubai, GDRFA card lines | Other emirates, ICP card lines | DLD channel |
|---|---|---|---|
| Golden visa spouse | AED 3,080 (entry permit AED 210 + family residence AED 1,000 + inside-country AED 500 + Emirates ID AED 1,100 + medical AED 270) | AED 3,100 + medical | AED 5,774.50 + AED 100 |
| Child under 18 | AED 2,810 (no medical) | AED 3,100 | AED 5,774.50 + AED 100 |
| Child 18 or over | As spouse | AED 3,100 + medical | AED 5,774.50 + AED 100 |
| Parent | As spouse | AED 3,100 + medical | AED 5,774.50 + AED 100 |
| Family file (once) | Sponsor file AED 210 (AED 200 + 5% VAT) | Not printed | AED 318.75 |
| Guarantee | Not printed for Golden family | AED 3,000 per member (max AED 15,000) for “investor’s family”; Golden applicability not stated | Not printed |
Family members still abroad do not pay the AED 500 inside-country line but do pay for the entry permit (AED 200 plus VAT, AED 210, on GDRFA’s family card), so a child from abroad comes to AED 2,310 and an adult to AED 2,580 before insurance. Health insurance, attestation and centre charges are extra. Amer and typing centres add their own service lines to the receipt.
Our earlier page claimed standard family visas cost “AED 25,000 to 45,000” more over a decade. That range had no source and we have removed it. What the cards show is simpler: on the standard route a spouse or child is renewed on the sponsor’s cycle and parents every year, each time with fees, Emirates ID and, for adults, a medical. With golden visa family sponsorship each person pays once for up to ten years. Insurance is paid every year on either route and is usually the largest cost.
Medical test, Emirates ID and health insurance for Golden visa dependants
Medical fitness test
u.ae says that family members “who have completed the age of 18 need to undergo and pass medical fitness tests”, and that “medically unfit people will not be granted a residence visa”. This applies to adult dependants of Golden visa holders exactly as to anyone else: a spouse, a son of 26 and a parent of 70 all sit the test. Children under 18 do not. In Dubai the standard Dubai Health test is AED 270 on its current price list, with faster packages at higher prices. Our medical fitness test guide explains the process and what happens if a result is positive.
Emirates ID
Every family member, including a newborn, needs an Emirates ID linked to the residence. ICP’s card charges AED 100 for each year of validity plus AED 100, so a ten-year card is AED 1,100. Children under 15 do not give fingerprints; older dependants book a biometrics appointment. The Emirates ID and visa linking guide explains how the two records connect.
Health insurance
Health insurance is a condition of each dependant’s residence on ICP’s issuing card and on the DLD page, and u.ae states that “sponsors are required to get insurance cover for their resident dependents”. No authority publishes a price. Policies run for a year, while the residence runs ten years, so the insurance has to be renewed every year without a gap. For golden visa parents over 60 the premium is often the largest single cost of the whole family file. Price it before you apply.
Newborns: adding a baby to a Golden visa holder’s file
A baby born in the UAE to a Golden visa holder is sponsored on the parent’s file like any other child, and can stay on it for life under the “regardless of age” rule. The deadline is the same as for everyone: u.ae says residents “have 120 days from the birth of their child to arrange the formal documents”, meaning the birth certificate, passport, residence and Emirates ID.
The penalty after 120 days is where sources differ. u.ae’s newborn page still says “a fee of AED100 per day would be charged for each day over the 120-day period, and the baby will not be allowed to exit the country”. ICP’s current cancellation and overstay text, and u.ae’s own overstay pages, give AED 50 a day for overstaying residents. We have not found an official page reconciling the two, so treat 120 days as a hard deadline and do not test it.
The steps are: register the birth and obtain the UAE birth certificate; apply for the baby’s passport at your embassy; then apply for residence and Emirates ID on your Golden file. ICP’s FAQ for newborns lists a colour photo and a “dully attested birth certificate”, and still prints a salary certificate line (AED 3,000 plus accommodation or AED 4,000) that was written for ordinary residents. Our newborn baby visa service handles the chain if you would rather not.
Can golden visa dependants work?
Yes, with the right permit. The dependant’s residence stays with you; what they need to work is a work permit issued to their employer.
- Mainland employer: MOHRE family-sponsored work permit. MOHRE’s “Work Permits for Dependents Sponsored by Family Members” card covers a worker who holds “a valid residence permit for his relatives”. The worker must be 18 or over and hold no other active permit. It is valid for two years, costs AED 50 for the application and AED 250 for issuance, and the employer needs no electronic quota.
- Not the Golden visa holder permit. MOHRE’s “Work Permits of Golden Visa Holders” is for the holder, who must have a valid Golden visa and no other residence. A dependant of a Golden visa holder is not a Golden visa holder, so this card does not fit.
- Free zone employer: the free zone authority issues its own employment card; the rules differ by zone.
If the dependant would rather have their own residence, they can move to an employment visa or apply for their own Golden or Green residence if they qualify. The trade-off is that the permit then depends on the employer or on their own category. Our work permit types guide explains all thirteen MOHRE permits.
Time outside the UAE for golden visa dependants
A Golden visa holder is not bound by the 180-day rule. GDRFA’s Golden cards say holders are exempt “as the residence permit is considered void only if it expires outside the country”, and ICP’s “Permit to Stay Outside the Country for More Than 6 Months” card says “Golden, Green, and Blue Residence holders, and the husband of a UAE national woman (if sponsored by her), may enter the UAE anytime as long as the residence remains valid”.
Neither text mentions the Golden visa holder’s family members. Article 59 of Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022 voids a residence after more than 180 consecutive days outside, and Article 60 lists exceptions, including students studying abroad and patients with a certified medical report. We found no official text saying that dependants of Golden visa holders share the holder’s exemption. Until an authority confirms it for your file, plan for dependants to return within 180 days, or apply for a return permit if they cannot. A child studying abroad may fall within the student exception. Our re-entry permit guide explains the GDRFA and ICP permits.
Golden visa family sponsorship when circumstances change: death, divorce, cancellation
A ten-year family file will almost certainly live through a change. These are the situations we are asked about most, with what the official sources say about each.
If the Golden visa holder dies
This is the one situation where the Golden family is clearly better protected than a standard one. Annex Article 3(4) says “the dependent family members may remain in the State for the duration of the Residence granted to them”, and ICP’s guide repeats it. The permits are not cancelled on the Golden visa holder’s death. The family can stay until the dates printed on their own permits, which on a Golden family file can be years away.
What the texts do not say is what happens when those permits expire. At that point each family member needs a new basis: a spouse’s own employment or Golden residence, an adult child’s own residence, or, for a widow, the rule that extends residence for widows and divorced women. u.ae describes that rule as a one-year extension that “starts from the date of the death of her husband or the divorce” and is “renewable for one time only”. How it combines with the Golden family’s remaining permit is not stated anywhere we found. Two more practical points: insurance must continue, which may mean a new policy if the old one was the holder’s employer’s; and if a family member needs to cancel, ICP’s card lists an “exceptional cancellation” for cases such as “the guarantor’s death” at AED 100.
Divorce
On divorce, the sponsoring spouse normally cancels the former spouse’s residence, since the relationship on which it was issued has ended. The published protections are:
- Grace period: ICP’s card gives 180 days after cancellation to Golden visa holders “and their family members”, and separately to “widows or divorced women of residents”.
- One-year extension: u.ae says divorced women and their children who were on the husband’s visa may have residence extended for a year from the date of divorce, renewable once.
- Children stay on the sponsoring parent’s file unless a court orders otherwise or the parent with custody sponsors them. Where the mother will sponsor the children herself, she needs her own residence and, per DLD and GDRFA, the father’s no-objection letter or a custody order.
Divorce touches family law as well as residence, so take legal advice on custody before cancelling anything.
If the Golden visa holder’s residence is cancelled or not renewed
A Golden residence ends when its conditions stop being met. GDRFA’s salary-route card says the permit is cancelled if the salary falls below AED 30,000 or the contract ends; a property Golden residence rests on the property; an investment Golden residence rests on the investment. When the holder’s residence goes, the family permits have nothing to sit on. The Annex’s protection is for the holder’s death, not for cancellation.
The order is fixed. ICP’s cancellation card says family members’ permits “must be cancelled before his residence is cancelled, or placed on hold for a limited period with applicable fees”, and lists a guarantee of AED 5,000 where the sponsor cancels without cancelling the family. After cancellation, the 180-day grace period for Golden visa holders and their family gives time to move everyone to a new basis. The usual paths are:
- The holder moves to an employment visa and re-sponsors the family on the standard route, which brings back the AED 4,000 test, the son age limit of 25 and yearly permits for parents.
- The holder qualifies for a Golden residence again in another category, for example a new property.
- A spouse with their own job or Golden residence sponsors the children.
- An adult son or daughter takes their own residence. For a son over 25, this is urgent, because he cannot move onto a standard family file.
Our residence visa grace period guide and visa cancellation service cover the mechanics.
A child marries, or wants independence
A daughter who marries is normally moved to her husband’s sponsorship, and DLD’s undertaking that adult children are unmarried points the same way. A son or daughter who wants a career in the UAE may be better on their own residence, for example an employment visa or their own Golden residence as a top graduate. Staying on a parent’s file is allowed at any age for Golden visa holders, but it ties that child to the parent’s permit. See our visa change status fees guide for the cost of moving a dependant to their own sponsor.
Golden visa family sponsorship compared with the standard route and the Green residence
The table below compares golden visa family sponsorship with the standard family residence and the Green residence, on the points that most often decide the choice.
| Point | Golden visa for family | Green residence (5 years) | Standard family residence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who can be sponsored | Spouse, children regardless of age, parents | “First-degree relatives” (ICP; Art. 54(2)) | Spouse, sons under 25, unmarried daughters, children with special needs; parents via a separate route |
| Family permit length | 10 years (not beyond the holder’s) | Up to the holder’s five years | Tied to the sponsor’s permit; parents one year at a time |
| Income test for the family | No separate figure published; self-support condition | Holder’s own category test | AED 4,000, or AED 3,000 plus housing; Dubai parents AED 10,000 |
| Grace period after cancellation | 180 days (holder and family) | 180 days (holder and family) | 30 days on ICP’s card; 30 days standard in Dubai (exact period on the cancellation letter) |
| Family after sponsor’s death | May stay until their permits expire | No equivalent provision found | Widow and children: one-year extension |
| Domestic workers | By financial solvency; MOHRE permit 1 or 2 years | General resident rules | General resident rules; MOHRE permit 1 year |
| Where to read more | Golden eligibility guide | Golden vs Green guide | Family salary guide and family visa service |
For many families, the decision turns on one person: a son approaching 25, or parents who would otherwise be renewed every year. If that is you, the Golden residence may be worth more to the family than to you. The Golden visa eligibility checker is a quick first test.
What goes wrong when you sponsor family on a Golden visa
- Attestation left to last. It is the slowest step and the only one that happens abroad. Start it the day you decide to apply.
- Names that do not match. A spelling difference between the marriage certificate and a passport stops the file. Fix it at the source or get a correction before you attest.
- Using the wrong channel. A property holder who files the family through DLD pays AED 5,774.50 plus AED 100 per person; through GDRFA the card lines are lower. Neither is wrong, but choose on purpose.
- Insurance that lapses. The residence runs ten years and the policy one. A lapse can block renewals and Emirates ID updates.
- A son over 25 left on the file when the Golden residence ends. He cannot move to a standard family file. Plan his own route early.
The refusal reasons that apply to all family files are in our family visa rejection reasons guide, and Golden-specific ones in our Golden visa rejected guide.
What circulates online that is not true
| Claim | What the official sources say |
|---|---|
| “Family of a property Golden visa holder only get five years.” | The Annex gives family members ten years; ICP, GDRFA and DLD describe the property Golden residence as ten years. Only u.ae’s summary table says five. |
| “Golden visa holders can sponsor sons only up to 18 (or 25).” | Children “regardless of age” (Annex Art. 3(1); ICP guide). |
| “Parents are not automatic on a Golden visa.” | Parents are named in the Annex and the ICP guide, with ten-year permits. Documents and insurance still apply. |
| “Golden visa holders can sponsor unlimited domestic workers.” | “In accordance with his financial solvency”; MOHRE asks for a written explanation above five. |
| “Family members get their own Golden visa.” | They receive residence permits sponsored by the Golden visa holder, not Golden residences of their own. |
| “The family must leave the day the Golden visa holder dies.” | They may remain for the validity of their permits (Annex Art. 3(4); ICP). |
| “Dependants can stay abroad as long as they like.” | The exemption from the 180-day rule is stated for holders; no official text extends it to dependants. |
| “Golden family members can work on the Golden visa holder permit.” | They need MOHRE’s family-sponsored work permit; the Golden visa holder permit requires a Golden visa. |
| “No attestation is needed for Golden visa holders.” | ICP asks for an attested marriage contract and birth certificates; DLD asks for certified ones. |
Worked cases: golden visa family sponsorship in practice
These cases are built from the situations we see most often. Names and identifying details are left out, and the figures are the published ones.
Case 1: a Golden visa holder on the salary route adding a wife and a son of 26
Situation. A Dubai-based engineer received a Golden residence on the salary route. His wife was on his old employment-linked family visa; his son, 26, had left the family file at 25 and was on a visit visa.
What applied. Annex Article 3(1): children regardless of age. The son could return to his father’s file for up to ten years. Both were inside the UAE, so each paid the inside-country line. Both are adults, so both sat the medical test.
Outcome. The old family permit was cancelled and re-issued on the Golden file, and the son’s status was changed from visit to residence. On GDRFA’s family lines each cost AED 3,080 plus insurance (entry permit 210, residence 1,000, inside-country fee 500, Emirates ID 1,100, medical 270). The son then took a job, and his employer applied for MOHRE’s family-sponsored work permit (AED 50 plus AED 250), not an employment visa.
Case 2: a property Golden visa holder bringing both parents from abroad
Situation. A Dubai property owner with a Golden residence wanted his parents, both in their late sixties, to live with him.
What applied. Parents are named in the Annex and get ten years, against one year at a time for other residents. DLD asks for a consulate dependency certificate, the sponsor’s certified birth certificate and health insurance.
Outcome. The parents entered on GDRFA family entry permits and changed status within 60 days. Filing through GDRFA rather than DLD saved roughly AED 3,300 per parent on published lines (AED 5,874.50 on DLD against AED 2,580 on GDRFA’s family lines). The largest cost was insurance, which we asked him to price with three insurers before filing.
Case 3: a widow whose husband was the Golden visa holder
Situation. A Golden visa holder died four years into his residence. His wife and two children held ten-year family permits.
What applied. Annex Article 3(4) and ICP’s guide: the family may remain for the validity of their permits. Nothing had to be cancelled. The husband’s employer health cover ended, so a new family policy was needed.
Outcome. The family stayed on their existing permits. We set out the choices before the permits expire: the widow’s own employment, her own Golden residence if she qualifies, or the one-year widow extension, and the children’s route with her.
Case 4: a Golden visa holder whose salary fell below AED 30,000
Situation. A salaried Golden visa holder in Dubai changed jobs at a lower salary. GDRFA’s card says the permit is cancelled if the salary falls below AED 30,000.
What applied. Family first, then the Golden visa holder (ICP; AED 5,000 guarantee otherwise). ICP’s 180-day grace period for Golden visa holders and their families gave time.
Outcome. The new employer issued an employment visa. His wife and daughter moved to a standard family file at the higher salary. His son, 25, could not, and moved to a university-sponsored student residence. The lesson: when a Golden residence depends on a salary, plan the older children’s route before a job change, not after.
How to verify every figure in this guide
| Point | Where to check it |
|---|---|
| Spouse, children regardless of age, parents, ten years; domestic workers by solvency; family may stay after death | Annex to Cabinet Resolution 65/2022, Art. 3; ICP Golden Residence guide (updated 10 September 2026) |
| Five vs ten years | u.ae Golden visa page (table) against the ICP guide, GDRFA Golden cards and DLD |
| Dependant’s expiry not beyond the sponsor’s | u.ae general provisions for the residence visa; ICP issuing card |
| AED 4,000 or AED 3,000 plus housing; AED 3,000 investor-family guarantee; AED 5,000 domestic worker guarantee; two days | ICP “Issuing Residency Permit” card |
| Self-support condition | GDRFA Golden residence (investors) card |
| Entry permit AED 200 plus VAT (AED 210), 48 hours, 60 days from entry; father’s NOC | GDRFA “Issuing an entry visa for residence without work (Family)” |
| DLD AED 5,774.50 per member plus AED 100 per sponsored person, AED 318.75 family file, applicant inside UAE, 7 to 10 business days, dependency certificate, unmarried undertaking | DLD “Request for Golden Visa (Investor)” |
| 180-day grace for Golden visa holders and family; family cancelled first; AED 5,000 guarantee; exceptional cancellation on death | ICP “Cancellation of residency permits” |
| Golden visa holders exempt from the 180-day rule; family not mentioned | ICP “Permit to Stay Outside the Country for More Than 6 Months”; GDRFA Golden cards |
| Domestic workers: more than five, permit length, AED 25,000 income line | MOHRE “Issuance of a New Work Permit – Domestic Workers” |
| Family-sponsored work permit AED 50 + 250, two years, no quota | MOHRE “Work Permits for Dependents Sponsored by Family Members” |
| Newborn 120 days; AED 100 a day on u.ae | u.ae “Birth certificate and residence visa for newborn expatriates” |
| Parents yearly for other residents; medical from 18 | u.ae “Sponsorship requirements” |
This guide replaces our August 2026 version. We corrected: the claim that family of a property Golden visa holder receive five years (the Annex gives family ten years, and ICP, GDRFA and DLD describe the property Golden residence as ten years; only u.ae’s summary table says five); “substantially relaxed” treatment of sons over 18 (the rule is children regardless of age); parents “not automatic” (parents are named in the Annex); a “more generous domestic worker allowance” (the rule is financial solvency, with MOHRE’s over-five explanation); the statement that every dependant’s permit falls when the holder’s status ends (the family may stay after the holder’s death, and has a 180-day grace period); and an unsourced ten-year cost comparison, which we removed.
What we will and will not do
We will check every relative against the published Golden rule before you pay, tell you in writing which channel fits, prepare and attest the kinship documents, file each person and track each file to issue, and tell you plainly when a single spouse or child file is simple enough to do yourself on the GDRFA or ICP app.
We will not promise an approval that only GDRFA, DLD, ICP or MOHRE can give, suggest ways around the attestation, insurance or kinship rules, submit a document we know to be inaccurate, or change our fee after you have paid.
Related guides
- Golden visa eligibility 2026: every category and threshold
- Golden visa cost Dubai: every fee line, with family totals
- Golden visa salary requirement
- Golden visa property requirement
- Golden visa vs Green visa
- Son visa age limit UAE: the rule for other residents
- Family visa salary requirement UAE
- Family visa renewal documents checklist
- Work permit types UAE: the family-sponsored permit
- UAE visa types: every residence route
Golden visa family sponsorship: frequently asked questions
Who can I sponsor on a Golden visa?
Your spouse, your children regardless of age, and your parents, each for a renewable ten years, under Article 3 of the Annex to Cabinet Resolution 65/2022 and ICP’s Golden guide. You may also recruit domestic workers in line with your financial means. Parents-in-law and siblings are not listed, and stepchildren go through GDRFA’s humanitarian route in Dubai.
Can a Golden visa holder sponsor a son over 25?
Yes. The Annex and ICP both say “children, regardless of age”. The limit of 25 in Article 54 applies to other residents. A son of any age can be on the Golden visa holder’s file for up to ten years. If the Golden residence later ends, he cannot move onto a standard family file, so he will need his own residence.
How long is the golden visa spouse permit valid?
The Annex gives family members ten years, renewable. A dependant’s permit cannot end after the sponsor’s, so a spouse added part-way through your residence will usually get a permit ending when yours does. If your own permit shows five years, which u.ae’s table still mentions for some categories, your family’s cannot be longer.
Is there a minimum salary to sponsor family on a Golden visa?
No separate figure is published for Golden visa holders. ICP’s general family card prints AED 4,000 a month, or AED 3,000 plus housing, and GDRFA requires Golden visa holders to support their family without government help. Salaried Golden visa holders already earn AED 30,000, so the question matters mainly for categories with no income test.
Can I sponsor my parents on a Golden visa?
Yes. Parents are named in the Annex and ICP’s guide and receive ten-year permits, compared with one year at a time for other residents. Expect to provide a consulate dependency certificate, your own attested birth certificate, a medical test and health insurance. Insurance for older parents is often the largest cost, so price it first.
How many domestic workers can a Golden visa holder sponsor?
No number is published. The Annex allows domestic workers “in accordance with his financial solvency”. MOHRE’s card asks any employer with more than five domestic workers for a written explanation, and gives Golden visa holders a one- or two-year permit. MOHRE’s AED 25,000 income line and ICP’s AED 5,000 guarantee may apply; ask before filing.
What happens to my family if I die?
Your family may remain in the UAE for the validity of their own residence permits. This is in Annex Article 3(4) and ICP’s guide. Their permits are not cancelled because of your death. Before those permits expire, each family member will need a new basis for residence, such as their own employment, their own Golden residence or the widow’s extension.
What happens to golden visa dependants if my Golden residence is cancelled?
Their permits depend on yours, so they must be cancelled first or moved to a new sponsor. ICP gives Golden visa holders and their family members a 180-day grace period after cancellation. If you cancel yourself without cancelling the family, ICP’s card lists an AED 5,000 guarantee. Plan older children’s routes before any change.
Can my wife or children work on my Golden visa sponsorship?
Yes, with a MOHRE family-sponsored work permit issued to a mainland employer. It is valid for two years and costs AED 50 plus AED 250, and the employer needs no quota. The Golden visa holder work permit does not fit, because it requires the worker to hold a Golden visa. Free zone employers use their own permits.
Can my family stay outside the UAE for more than six months?
The Golden visa holder can. ICP’s and GDRFA’s texts give the exemption to “Golden, Green, and Blue Residence holders” and do not mention family members. Until an authority confirms otherwise for your file, plan for dependants to return within 180 days, or apply for a return permit. Students abroad may fall within a separate exception.
Do I need to attest marriage and birth certificates?
Yes. ICP asks for an attested marriage contract and birth certificates, and DLD asks for certified ones. Documents issued abroad go through the issuing country and the UAE embassy, then the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs, unless the UAE accepts an apostille for that country. Start attestation early; it is the slowest step.
How do I add a newborn to my Golden visa?
Register the birth, get the baby’s passport and then apply for residence and Emirates ID on your file within 120 days of birth, the deadline on u.ae. u.ae’s newborn page mentions AED 100 a day after that, while ICP’s general overstay rate is AED 50 a day. The baby can stay on your file at any age.
Can MIRDXB PRO handle my Golden visa family sponsorship?
Yes. We check each relative against the rule, choose the GDRFA, DLD or ICP channel, prepare and attest documents, bring family in from abroad, book medicals and biometrics, and track every file to issue. Government fees are passed on at cost with receipts, and our own fee is quoted in writing before we start.
How much does MIRDXB PRO charge to sponsor family on a Golden visa?
Our fee depends on the number of family members, the channel, where each person is and whether documents need attestation. We quote it in writing before we start, separately from government fees, which we pass on at cost. Our standard packages are on our fees page. Send us your family list on WhatsApp for a quote.
Handling a family file from attestation to Emirates ID, across GDRFA, DLD and ICP, is what our PRO services in Dubai team handles.
- Annex to Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022 (Golden residence, Article 3)
- Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022, Executive Regulation of Federal Decree-Law No. 29 of 2021 (Articles 54, 59, 60)
- ICP: UAE Golden Residency guide
- ICP: Issuing Residency Permit
- ICP: Cancellation of residency permits
- ICP: Permit to Stay Outside the Country for More Than 6 Months
- ICP: New identity card issuance
- ICP: Frequently asked questions
- GDRFA Dubai: Issuing a golden residence permit (investors)
- GDRFA Dubai: Issuance of a residence permit for foreigner family members
- GDRFA Dubai: Issuing an entry visa for residence without work (Family)
- GDRFA Dubai: Issuance of a residence permit for humanitarian cases
- GDRFA Dubai: Frequently asked questions
- Dubai Land Department: Request for Golden Visa (Investor)
- MOHRE: Issuance of a New Work Permit – Domestic Workers
- MOHRE: Work Permits for Dependents Sponsored by Family Members
- MOHRE: Work Permits of Golden Visa Holders
- u.ae: Golden visa
- u.ae: Sponsorship requirements
- u.ae: General provisions for the residence visa
- u.ae: Birth certificate and residence visa for newborn expatriates
- u.ae: Visa rule for divorced women, widows and their children
- u.ae: Getting a health insurance
- Dubai Health: medical fitness screening packages (price list)
Please note. The rules, documents and fees in this guide are taken from Cabinet Resolution No. 65 of 2022 and its Annex, the ICP, GDRFA Dubai, Dubai Land Department and MOHRE service pages, and u.ae, verified 23 September 2026. Where official pages differ or are silent (five or ten years, the family income test, married children, dependants’ time abroad, domestic worker income and guarantee lines, the newborn penalty), both positions or the gap are shown; the decision of the authority when you apply is final. Housing, custody and insurance advice is practical guidance, not published rules. The cases are built from common situations and are illustrative. This guide is general information and not legal advice, and MIRDXB PRO cannot guarantee any approval.




